We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!! Great Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Saraland Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Saraland
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected!! Great Surprise!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I typically stay in a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express, but, I was traveling for business and thought I'd try and be frugal when I saw prices for the area. I chose the Best Western and crossed my fingers... This could be a regrettable choice, however, when we pulled up and walked in---- Wow!! Was I surprised, it was well done and modern, clean and front desk employees were extremely helpful in helping us decided dinner and outing for later that evening,

Rooms were clean and well appointed. Flat screen tv and soft duvet, the AC worked overtime and we should have asked for another blanket, otherwise it was perfect and that was our own fault for turning down AC so low! Enjoy... Also, another plus is The Oyster House right nearby and the fact that this was right off interstate,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pescado96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    76
    33
    13
    13
See reviews for
93
60
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night in March 2012. Pleasant clerks at check-in and check-out. The room was large and spotless with a flat screen tv. Did hear footsteps of someone above me when I first got to the room but never heard anything else at all the entire stay. The hotel is convenient to Wintzell's Oyster House which is great for lunch or dinner. There appeared to
be just one small elevator for the entire four stories but the hotel was not very full so no problem. The hot breakfast was good with scrambled egg patties, sausage, waffles etc. The $63 a night rate was very good for what you got. There was an very small indoor pool but I did not use it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. The rooms were very large and clean, nice decor. A few small problems though. We were on the first floor and the noise from the room above us was unacceptable. I had to call the front desk twice because what sounded like a herd of elephants wrestling above us was some small children running through their room. It was louder than our tv. The running was a parent issue not the hotels, but the fact the noise carried so loudly was a hotel issue. Small childrens feet should not sound like furniture being dropped on the floor. The breakfast was ok but was being tended to by the front desk girl so if something needed refilling it took a while as she was often checking guests out. The workout room ac did not work and was unbearable. Based on another review from February this is an ongoing or unaddressed problem at this hotel. Also key cards would not open the pool door and the front desk admitted this happens "all the time". The price was the real draw for this hotel--$50 cheaper a night than the Holiday Inn Express across the street. Not a terrible stay by far but some customer service improvements would go a long way to make this more on par with the HIE.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western in Sarland on our way to Texas. The hotel was very well maintained, clean and modern. It's close to the highway but not as close as the Holiday Inn nor Hampton (don't stay at the Hampton!!!). We were very comfortable here and the hotel served its purpose. It's inexpensive and you get a lot for you money. The breakfast was OK and complimentary. Good place to stay for passing through Mobile.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The price was good. Comfortable beds. Awful smell in hall. Room smelled ok and was clean. Fitness room a/c was broken but equipment worked. Quiet area. 2 vending machines took my money. Not a 3 star hotel but I would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinglady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, SC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in December, 2011. First, the good: the hotel was clean, the front desk clerk was courteous, the area was just off the interstate with quite a few restaurants close by. The room was a king and it was larger than usual, based on other comparable hotels we've stayed in. The breakfast was typical, consisting of do-it-yourself waffles, eggs, sausage, bagels, biscuits, fruit, cereal, etc. We purchased the room at a deep discount so all in all we were pleased.

Now, the bad: not to be picky, but the hotel was advertised as a 3-star property, and having used the same discount hotel website on many occasions, we did not feel that this hotel was equal to most other 3 star hotels at which we've stayed. As a matter of fact, we've stayed at nicer 2.5 star hotels, so it was a bit overrated. Also, our room was at the end of a long hall on the second floor, and after searching all over the floor for vending/ice I finally went to the front desk, only to be told that vending/ice was on odd floors. I proceeded to the vending/ice machine on the first floor, which did not work, then climbed the stairs to the third floor, where the vending machine was accepting correct change only, which I did not have. I finally had to leave the hotel to get a couple of sodas.

All in all we were neither underwhelmed nor overwhelmed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an odd floor, near the front/close to the elevator unless you like climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limozine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Our stay at this hotel was a pleasant experience. The room and linens were clean and there were no odors, still looks brand new with appealing design.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynng343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saraland
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Saraland/North Mobile
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saraland
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mobile/Saraland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile Saraland
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile Satsuma / Saraland
8.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Saraland Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Saraland Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Saraland Hotel & Suites
Address: 1118 Shelton Beach Rd, Saraland, AL 36571-3016 (Formerly Best Western Motorsports Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Saraland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Saraland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Saraland Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Saraland Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing