We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Saraland Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saraland
Mauldin, SC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in December, 2011. First, the good: the hotel was clean, the front desk clerk was courteous, the area was just off the interstate with quite a few restaurants close by. The room was a king and it was larger than usual, based on other comparable hotels we've stayed in. The breakfast was typical, consisting of do-it-yourself waffles, eggs, sausage, bagels, biscuits, fruit, cereal, etc. We purchased the room at a deep discount so all in all we were pleased.

Now, the bad: not to be picky, but the hotel was advertised as a 3-star property, and having used the same discount hotel website on many occasions, we did not feel that this hotel was equal to most other 3 star hotels at which we've stayed. As a matter of fact, we've stayed at nicer 2.5 star hotels, so it was a bit overrated. Also, our room was at the end of a long hall on the second floor, and after searching all over the floor for vending/ice I finally went to the front desk, only to be told that vending/ice was on odd floors. I proceeded to the vending/ice machine on the first floor, which did not work, then climbed the stairs to the third floor, where the vending machine was accepting correct change only, which I did not have. I finally had to leave the hotel to get a couple of sodas.

All in all we were neither underwhelmed nor overwhelmed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an odd floor, near the front/close to the elevator unless you like climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limozine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    69
    30
    10
    10
See reviews for
82
55
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Our stay at this hotel was a pleasant experience. The room and linens were clean and there were no odors, still looks brand new with appealing design.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel served as a one night stay-over on our trip home from Myrtle Beach. The room was surprisingly large and very comfortable. It was decorated beautifully. The bathroom was fairly clean, but the bath tub still had some dirt around the drain. Having the refrigerator and microwave in the room was great and the t.v. was a very large 42"HDTV. Good free high speed internet.

We didn't try out the indoor swimming pool, but it looked very nice. The free breakfast was adequate, but nothing to get excited about. The hotel staff were very helpful. The location is a somewhat industrial area, it appears, but decent and safe with several other surrounding hotels. Once built in 2012, there will be a motorsports park nearby, I was told.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised by our accomodations at this Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We went in April 2011. The room we had was a King size bedroom nice really nice. The problem I had was the room above us all night all we heard was someone walking jumping moving around water running etc etc,,,, If you get a room with someone above you good luck on getting any sleep. Top floor will be your best out.(Np pne above you. Indoor pool nice over all the hotel was nice, just alot of noise from above. If you like seafood eat a Winzells Oyster House near the hotel great food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vionner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington ky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

10 hour drive, can't wait to check-in.Very nice clean room.Although it looked booked( alot of cars in lot) very quiet.I like to swim in the hotel pool , was not disappointed. Clean water was warm. Have stayed at more expensive hotels with indoor pools with cloudy, cold water, don"t advertise it if you don't take care of it.Hotel staff very pleasant. Good breakfast bar, eggs,cereal, fruit.juices. I would certainly stay again. Close to good restaurants too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spatz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Ga.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here for one night as we were passing thru to the Gulf Coast. My husband went in an explained to the frlnt desk that we needed a room close to the door and elevator. It was getting late but the lady put us in a room around back that you just walked thru the door and put the key in. This hotel is brand new. The room was larger than some rooms I have stayed in. But the beds were so high off the floor I could not get on it. Once my husband help me, I was scared to get up during the night to go to the bathroom and they were HARD!! I have to say, it was quiet. We heard no one the entire night. Would probably not stop here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christmas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The hotel was new and the room was great! We were leaving for a cruise out of Mobile the next morning and the hotel is about 10- 15 minutes away. They even include breakfast. The hotel has a small indoor pool but no one seemed to be using it. We didn't have time to try it out. We were going to leave our car there and take a cab ($30 each way) but opted for the security and convenience of parking at the terminal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun_in_the_Sun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saraland
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Saraland/North Mobile
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saraland
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mobile/Saraland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mobile
8.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Saraland Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Saraland Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Saraland Hotel & Suites
Address: 1118 Shelton Beach Road, Saraland, AL 36571-3016 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Motorsports Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Saraland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saraland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Saraland Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Saraland Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing