We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Every Kind Of Recreation Or Ultimate Relaxation”

Joe Wheeler State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Joe Wheeler State Park, located on Wheeler Lake, offers something for everyone; a resort lodge, a restaurant, cabins, camping, fishing, golf, tennis, swimming, convention/banquet facilities, transient slips and a marina. Whether you're looking for a place to spend the weekend or a place to have the perfect wedding, Joe Wheeler State Park can be your dream destination. From small church groups to large conventions, our experienced staff can make your special occasion organized and stress free.
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
471 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nearly Every Kind Of Recreation Or Ultimate Relaxation”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is an enormous place with various opportunities to spend the night and enough things to do to spend a week. Offered are camp sites, RV parking, motel (lodge) rooms, cabins and cottages. Lots of water to boat or fish plus a golf course, tennis courts, beach area, swimming pool (lodge), basketball court, hiking trails, nature trail picnic areas and more. Rental boats and shelters are available. There's also a full service restaurant at the lodge. This is a beautiful & clean park with lots of wooded areas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    52
    10
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panacea, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Confirming Clean Rooms, friendly staff and and good food. Scenary is excellent.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were on our way back to Florida from Iowa visiting our son and daughter-in-law. They both work for John Deere. So just the two of us. It was dark by the time we arrived. Make sure you realize it is 25 miles MOL to the turn-off at the Chevron Station. There should be a lit Marquis sign that is scrolling, It was off the night we arrived. So we called the office(signal was good) and got return directions. The sign was lit coming from the west. When the roads are curvy, distance seems to double. The 4 miles seemed much longer. I thought the rates were very reasonable for what you get. What attracted me was the lake view from the room. Once inside we noticed a coffee maker, soap, shampoo and skin conditioners. The a/c was already on and a small entry light was burning. We did not make reservations but checked ahead and told them we were coming. If you are later than 10pm make sure you call the front desk to be put on the list for the gated guard shack. It was turning cold so I turned on the heat. Following morning it was too cold and windy to enjoy the balcony. There is coffee at the lobby around 6:30am. Breakfast opens at 7am. The Chef really knows how to prepare eggs to order. My bacon was crisp and the grits were perfect. Only note was that we thought the biscuits were from a can. We saw a deer on the way out and since we had to go back home in a hurry our only regret was our short stay. My wife wants to come back and so do I.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Locklear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Restful”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were in a 31' RV in the C section and could not have asked for a better place. The view was great, the weather was beautiful. We could watch the herons looking for a meal or the barges go by in the distance. Our campsite was huge! Everyone was very friendly. We were there Sept. 15-22. It was very quiet because school has started. I suspect it gets noisier on the weekends when the families come to enjoy the water. We saw a few folks take kayaks (or something like that) to the water, and paddle away. One guy told me he saw a bald eagle on his little trip on the water. The campsites are regularly patrolled by park rangers and volunteer camp hosts. The campsite was very clean and had a huge fire ring and a concrete picnic table. The pad was also concrete. We will definitely go back. Our site was C-8.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolWeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite Serene by the river”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

sep. Days in the 80's nights in the 60's, time to set and enjoy the river, and sun sets that are awesome. Stores close by, Wheeler Dam close. price for camp site were good, wyfi, some tv no cable, sewer, 30 and 50 amp. Most 50 amp not by lake. great place to fish, and walk, or just sit and enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank weeks416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marine Police camped spying on lodge”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

September 6, 2013 7.30pm till- late (i went to sleep)marine police was camped across river lurking on visitors(with binoculars) standing on the balcony, in hopes of someone smoking and billing thier credit card $100.

vacation and being creeped on. who's the criminal here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank rick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Wheeler State Park also viewed

 

Been to Joe Wheeler State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing