We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Park”

Joe Wheeler State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Joe Wheeler State Park, located on Wheeler Lake, offers something for everyone; a resort lodge, a restaurant, cabins, camping, fishing, golf, tennis, swimming, convention/banquet facilities, transient slips and a marina. Whether you're looking for a place to spend the weekend or a place to have the perfect wedding, Joe Wheeler State Park can be your dream destination. From small church groups to large conventions, our experienced staff can make your special occasion organized and stress free.
HOOVER
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretty Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband hasn't fished since he was a child, so we took his old fishing pole and sat on the dock (I had a book recording I sat at listened to) and we just enjoyed the peacefulness of the water here at the park. There is no entrance fee, which is the opposite of our area's parks, and we were pleasantly surprised by this. We enjoyed our few hours visiting this scenic park.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jkristen426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    52
    10
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a good time at the State Park. First time ever there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 728JessicaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tishomingo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“NICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times over the past 10 years. We always go there towards the end of July and stay 3-4 nights. We love getting a junior suite with a kitchen. It is great to have with kids. We always go there and meet my parents there. We love the pool, hiking, and fishing. The people here are so nice. We also enjoy eating in the resturant.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank clairestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great place to relax, fish, rent boat. Tons of wildlife. Cabins are almost brand new. Lodge has been partially redone.
Camp ground is nice but can not use pool even for a fee?
Tennis courts are run down but usable.

Helpful?
2 Thank travl-w-kids-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, AL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the Camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Went camping here in 2008 and I really liked our spot. The only drawback was there is no alcohol allowed. My husband and I would have liked to enjoy a beer sitting around the campfire at night.

Helpful?
3 Thank shellito101270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Wheeler State Park also viewed

 

Been to Joe Wheeler State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing