We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things are changing at Prattville Hampton Inn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Prattville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Howard Johnson Prattville
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Prattville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Things are changing at Prattville Hampton Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have stayed at this same Hampton Inn in Prattville for alot of years. BUT looks like things are changing and not for the good. Looking run down, and not as clean. The breakfast was bad, the breakfast hostess was not keeping the breakfast bowls refilled. The eggs and sausage were a little strange looking. Tried to have a waffle but the batter was empty. The fruit bowls were empty. So good thing the new Hampton in going up across the street. I am assuming this one will be torn down or a name change will take place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    80
    35
    20
    13
See reviews for
103
51
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
503 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This isn’t the worst Hampton we’ve been in but it is close. The carpets are dirty the paint job, if you can call it that, is a joke. My four year grandson could do that well.

The carpets are spotted and need to be cleaned. There are dirty marks on the walls. The room is one of the smaller rooms we have ever been in a Hampton. The bathroom door is coming apart from water damage. The sheetrock around the shower is disintegrating.

This place needs some help TLC probably isn’t enough. On second thought maybe it is the worst Hampton Inn we’ve been in.

All of the above shouldn’t be a problem for too much longer. There is a new Hampton Inn being constructed across the street. Good deal.

I'd like to echo the reviewer that said the best thing going for this place is the view of the new Hampton being built across the street!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelertoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

When you first arrive the vacant gas station with garbage strewn about should be your first indicator that something might be a little off. This "hotel" has a motel feel that for the money doesn't quite add up, outside doors, strange entry points and small rooms for the same price as other nicer Hamptons. When getting to the room the tv didn't work we had to move ti another room to discover that the tv didn't work in that room as well. After switching yet again and moving to a different floor to find a tv that actually worked I noticed an HBO guide in the room but after flipping through the channels and looking on the channel guide provided the channel doesn't exist. Then went to the front desk to ask about this and got the answer that yes there is HBO but she had no idea what channel it is and that maybe she should find out because guests ask about it all the time. Yes maybe you should.

Now let's talk about the cleanliness. The room has a dingy feel about it. Dust laying on most surfaces, and the bathtub has a black ring around it where once upon a time a bath mat night have been.

To wrap up this experience I would tell people to move on up the road and try to find something a little more modern and nicer for the same price. Overlook this place all together you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDarkTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

This stay was just fine. It was clean and no real gripes. My only thoughts could be the TV was small and most of the local channels were not in HD and had snow through the screen. Other than that it was reasonably priced and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GonadBarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The bed was comfortable, lots of TV channels, quiet room. I was very impressed with the breakfast. There was even a large pot of oatmeal with nuts to add. This was in addition to the HUGE amount of choices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tampadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville< KY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Creepy place that seems more like the Bates motel than a Hampton. Part of hotel has outside halls, lobby is a disaster and I am now in the lobby on wireless drinking coffee while all the employees getting off from third shift are having breakfast and lamenting their long night. I would be asleep and avoiding this train wreck if the ac unit in the room hadn't been so loud.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the outside hallway side if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LiveWellDineWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni1769, General Manager at Howard Johnson Prattville, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. Please accept my sincere apology that we did not meet your expectations or fulfill your needs. We strive to maintain clean rooms, comfortable surroundings and friendly service for every guest; and I truly regret that we disappointed you.

We opened as Hampton Inn #455 in March of 1995. That is considered old in hotel years, and standards have changed considerably in that time. There are now almost 2,000 Hampton hotels and the vast majority do not have the exterior entrance guestrooms. The good news is we are building a brand new Hampton Inn & Suites directly across the street which is scheduled to open in December of 2012.

Your comments are extremely important to us as we continue daily to learn, grow and improve our hotel and our service. If you could please email me directly with more details about your stay and experience, I would be ever grateful and would love the opportunity to take care of you. I do understand the value of your time, and I promise it will not be wasted.

Again, thank you for your patronage and for sharing your concerns with us.

Respectfully,

Toni Colqutt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Ok, so i have very high standards. I recently spent $1000 for two nights at Ritz Key Biscayne in Florida, and in a few days I'm spending time in Thailand in nice resorts (reviews to follow). So why Hampton Inn Prattville??? For work (in Montgomery). My third stay with Hampton Inn Prattville in 6 months, and I have yet to be disappointed. Yes, it's in Prattville. Yes, a Hampton Inn. Yes, it is a small unpretentious hotel, but that doesn't mean anything.

First, the bad: Hotel sits on a lot adjacent to a gas station near a highway. A McD's is also in lot. They're about to move to a new building across the street in a few months though. That's it!

The good: For a small hotel in Prattville, a Hampton Inn, well, it rocks! I never had a bad experience there (again, I like $500 a night hotels in the US and around the world). Rooms are clean and spacious, staff is outstanding and eager to please and accommodate, free hot dinner most nights in lobby (and pretty good too), free breakfast (and not the muffin in a sealed wrapper variety-make your own fresh waffles, pastries, jams, fruit, omelets...not bad at all), and 30 yards away in the back is a Bass Pro shop with a nice restaurant (had Alligator there, and they have a really nice and huge tropical aquarium in bar area).

I wouldn't go to Prattville on vacation, so I would have never stayed at this hotel if it wasn't for work. It's not the Ritz, but it is a surprisingly nice hotel that is easy to overlook. If you're in the area, I would definitely recommend it! I'm glad I found it :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titibalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni1769, General Manager at Howard Johnson Prattville, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us! We appreciate the opportunity to serve your lodging needs and are so grateful that you took the time to share your thoughts with us and others. Our guests' feedback is so important. We take the good, the bad and the ugly and try to learn, grow and improve as we strive to satisfy every guest every stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prattville
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Prattville-Montgomery
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Prattville
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Prattville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prattville
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prattville South
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Prattville Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Prattville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Prattville

Property: Howard Johnson Prattville
Address: 2585 Cobb Hill Pl, Prattville, AL 36066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Prattville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Prattville
#6 Business Hotel in Prattville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Prattville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Howard Johnson Prattville hotel. Our convenient location on I-65 North just ten miles from Montgomery, Alabama. Convenient to Maxwell AFB, Gunter AFB, Hyundai and International Paper. Nicknamed The Fountain City due to the many artesian wells in the area, Prattville is a great location for a visit, whether you wish to play the famous Robert Trent Jones Golf Course or to visit historic sites such as the First White House of the Confederacy. Begin your day with complimentary hot breakfast while checking your email using free Wi-Fi. Once you have returned from exploring Prattville, cool off in our outdoor pool or catch up on work using our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Prattville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Prattville Hotel Prattville
Prattville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing