We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Love this Place!”

Islamorada Fish Co.
Ranked #17 of 120 Restaurants in Prattville
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lanett, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Love this Place!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Food and service is always very good! The atmosphere is great with the large aquarium, fireplace and all kinds of huge fish and sea animals hanging from the very tall ceilings. When in this area I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“No more BIG burgers but EXCELLENT gumbo!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We first visited this restaurant a few years ago and my husband had one of the best & biggest (we think it was 10 oz) home made burgers he's ever had. We went back this past June when we were visiting family in town just so he could have that burger again and were disappointed to find it was no longer on the menu. On the plus side, we both ordered a small cup of the crab & shrimp gumbo with our lunch and it was DELICIOUS! Loaded with lots of shrimp and real crab, we both wished we'd ordered the bigger bowl and made a meal out it with the complimentary fresh bread that was served.

Enjoyed watching the fish in the HUGE saltwater tank while we were waiting for our food, our waitress was friendly and fast, good service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trailernomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
229 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“surprising!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Inside the Bass Pro Shop, I would never expect a restaurant to be higher class like it was. But I WOULD expect a fish place. Most of the menu does indeed feature fish. It's a pretty broad menu, with everything from salads to sandwiches to typical seafood dinners. Prices are moderate to high. (I believe a hamburger was $9 or $10).

The highlight for us was our waitress, Mary. She was a gem. She kept bringing us bread. It's a small loaf of warm, freshly baked bread, sprinkled with sugar on top. She was so attentive, and had the best spirit, treating us like friends instead of just people who happened to go there.

I had the Islamorada Salad, which was perfectly delicious, with glazed pecans and feta cheese on top of fresh greens. But of course, the star of the restaurant was the fish in all its varied forms. One in our party had popcorn shrimp (I think about $13 or so). Her plate was so loaded that she had to take some home. Two could easily split it if they added side salads with it---tons and tons of small shrimp.

The menu says the Fish and Chips is their signature dish. It was nice, just the right amount of fish.

Two people got the Coconut Shrimp. I have to say that I've had better, but it was good. It didn't come with a lot of shrimp, but it seemed to be enough for them to split and still end up full.

The restaurant had a special of the day, as well as a soup of the day.

The atmosphere of this restaurant is also quite a treat. Relaxing, marine colors, aquariums. The ceiling is way high, contributing to the open-air feel.They have outdoor (covered) seating, and tables aren't crammed into the dining area. End result is that you feel you have plenty of room to talk and linger for a visit after eating without bothering other people and being bothered.

The Bass Pro Shop (and of course the restaurant in it) is a little hard to find. Highly visible from I-65, but when you get off on Exit 179, you'll want to look for Bass Pro Boulevard and turn north. Then, (here's the tricky part), don't turn in the first street that looks like it goes directly to the front door of Bass Pro Shop. Instead, pass that street and go to the first light ( the next street). Turn right, then it will wind you around quite a bit and take you to the parking lot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwinMomAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food - Hidden gem!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have gone to Islamorado inside Bass Pro several times. The unfortunate thing about it is, we always forget about it. The food is good, bread is delicious and service is always a pleasure. The fish tanks keep the kids entertained so that the adults can conversate, which is always a plus. The food is fresh and a good variety. I wish they had better signage or something so that we could remember to come more often.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALtraveler334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been there 4 times and have in idea why I keep going back, usually it's because that is where friends want to go. The menu never changes . The broccoli is frozen and then steamed. Same old rice dish comes with everything. Not worth the money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dmn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islamorada Fish Co. also viewed

 

Been to Islamorada Fish Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing