We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farewell Family Vacay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Clear
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Short family vacation before son leaves for the Navy. Beautiful resort, so much to see and do, staff was INCREDIBLE throughout the hotel EXCEPT for the Spa employees. They were not friendly, nor helpful. My entire family felt they were quite rude. Vicki Lazzari, the Front Office Supervisor, could not have been better! There was a problem with my reservations and took care of everything!! There should be more Vicki's at the resort!! Our rooms were beautiful and comfortable! It is on the expensive side, but totally worth the price!!

Room Tip: Corner room had extra space in the Marina House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We are thrilled to have provided such a special family get-a-way before your sons departure. We certainly thank you for recognizing the outstanding team members that provided the incredible experience. On behalf of the Grand Family thank you and we look forward to welcoming both you and your son back to The Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We haven't been to the Grand Hotel in 15 years... but our return trip was fantastic. We reserved a king in the Spa building at a AAA rate and it was beautiful, clean and ready at check in. All the things that make a hotel room nice...tub and separate shower, plenty of towels, hot water on demand, balcony view of the bay, excellent A/C, golf cart service around the property, beautifully maintained gardens, nice bar on the property, etc... We did not eat at the Dining Room, but chose instead to visit the restaurants in Fairhope. The staff members were always helpful and smiling even with a packed hotel. We did pay the extra charge to use the Lakewood Country Club across the way where I was able to swim laps in the adult pool, but it was only $10. If you love Southern old world charm, go to the Grand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kingcake50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for recently visiting and sharing your comments while our guest here at the Grand Hotel Marriott. We are very happy you enjoyed your accommodations, grounds and the service here at The Resort. We certainly hope it isn't another 15 years before your travels bring you back to Point Clear and on behalf of the Grand family thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Attended a conference at the Grand and stayed for 3 nights. The resort is located a little over an hour from the Mobile airport. The people who work at The Grand are some of the nicest people I have meet at a resort in the U.S. From the moment you arrive the staff is nice and engaging. The room I had was not the best as it was not a balcony room and had a view of the parking lot, the room itself felt old, but this is a historic hotel so its expected. Also the 2nd floor of the building I was in did not have an elevator, so be aware of that. The restaurants in the hotel are both great, we ate at the grill and steak house. Be aware that there are no close restaurants outside the resort. The property is situated on gorgeous grounds with breathtaking views of the gulf coast. Do your self a favor and take a walk down the path away from the hotel by the water, there are some beautiful homes worth the walk. Overall staff is very nice and knowledgeable, hotel is historic and a little dated but would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank californiatraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for recently visiting the Grand Hotel Marriott. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our dining outlets and grounds during this visit. We are also thrilled to learn the staff of The Resort provided such an exceptional level of service while our guest. On behalf of the Grand Team thank you and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've been here for conferences for the past four or so years. It's a great place for a conference, a family getaway or a romantic getaway. The staff are well trained, courteous and helpful, the room was wonderfully furnished and quiet. Children of all ages will love the giant pool (which was some time ago the largest in the country), not to even mention the tennis and golf facilities and the City of Fairhope. There's not enough space to list it all.

Room Tip: Live Oaks in front of some rooms are beatiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent visit to The Grand Hotel Marriott, we are very fortunate to have you with us over the past several years. We are thrilled to earn you enjoy your trips to The Grand and that the many activities keep everyone happy. On behalf of the Grand associates thank you, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Took my wife to Grand Hotel July 9-11 for birthday, which included for her Spa, massage, facial,
and so forth. She advised that these were the best she had ever had! Also included: lunch for two days, & glass of wine or champagne.Room was very good, although you could hear guests in
next room; view was not of yacht basin but of part of golf course, and no wake up call was
received next morning. Otherwise, service was excellent; you called for golf cart pick up to go
too dinner or elsewhere on property; was able to catch nice speckled trout from dock & had it
broiled for appetizer. Restaurant was good; service good, but Kobe beef filet not as good as we thought it should have been.

Room Tip: ASk for room facing the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank enochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for recently visiting and sharing your experience while our guest here at The Grand Hotel Marriott. We are very happy to have provided an enjoyable visit including Spa, fishing and dining. We thank you for entrusting us with this special birthday visit and we hope to see you again in Point Clear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I will start off on a positive....Point Clear and the town of Fairhope are utterly charming and lovely and worth a trip. Oaks with dripping Spanish moss, stately old homes, and lovely views of the sunset over Mobile Bay. One feels like you've stepped back into a simpler, happy time.
The bad part--unless you are lucky enough to have a friend who owns one of the above stately homes or you come across the rare rental, you're pretty much stuck with the Grand Hotel, which stinks, both literally and figuratively.
My husband and I had heard of the Grand Hotel since moving to Alabama a few years ago. My mother-in-law went there as a child on family trips; we had friends here who raved about the pool and the family-friendly nature of the place; so we booked a long weekend over the 4th to go and check it out.
Even driving in, I was a little surprised. Elegant, it is not---a hulking, ungainly brick building. The reception area and lobby are dated, to say the least-dark, with cheap looking antiques and rugs, and god-awful art and large multi-media collages on the wall (some for sale for a whopping $22,000) that look like something a high school art student threw together. Now, I GET that the original building dates to 1847, and I have nothing against antiques and understand that they aren't trying to be the W Hotel, but the decor is just cheap, y'all. We went up to our room (1209 in the old "main" part of the building, and opened the door and were a little speechless. Even my 9yo son said, "umm, is this really our room??". My 7 yo daughter said, " I thought this places was supposed to be "grand"? It smelled like many decades of damp and mold; the upholstery on the pull-out in the tiny sitting room may have dated to 1958, and some of the wooden panelling (which is all over the main building) was actually warping-- I wish I'd taken a picture. The vibe was rural motor lodge chic, and not in a cool, retro way. Did I mention the smell? The bathroom was so small that our toiletries kept falling into the toilet, and the main bed was nothing to rave about. Please keep in mind that we were paying a whopping $450 a night. The room wasn't even clean-there was a streak of sticky stuff on the wall in the bathroom above the trashcan. On top of that, the rest of the resort seems tired as well. The grounds aren't being kept up as they should, the bikes we borrowed were in horrible shape, and we were charged $40 to use the second pool down the street owned by the Grand.
If the room had been $150, I might have known what I was getting myself into, but for that kind of money, I cannot stress more that you should avoid this place.

Other great family destinations that we've been to in the southeast that are similarly priced are Reynolds Plantation outside Atlanta, The Grove Park Hotel in Asheville, NC, and Palmetto Bluff in South Carolina. All classy, with gorgeous grounds and activities, elegant dining spaces, and comfortable, clean rooms. Blackberry Farm is clearly in another league, but if you really want to splurge, that's great for families too.

We had a great trip because we had friends down in Pt. Clear, but we will not be returning. Ever. Such a shame for an old institution to fall into such a state. I don't know whether to blame Marriott (who manages it) or the owners.

Room Tip: I heard the spa building has the cleanest, most modern rooms, though I never saw one. Avoid the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suz1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for recently visiting The Grand Hotel and sharing your perceptions. We are obviously sorry to learn this Resort didn't provide the experience you were expecting. Thank you on behalf of the team and all our best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was the 5th time that I stayed at this hotel. My children and I love it, it has many activities and truly is home away from home. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the staff was nice and friendly. I work at a school so every year we come here and I enjoy the discount that working at a school affords me. I don't have any complaints, the only thing that I would have to say was the days I stayed. Usually we stay during spring break, but this year there were no discount days available. If I had to change one thing, I would have to say more availability for the RSA discounts. Overall the trip was wonderful, the rooms were great as usual, many activities as I stated and they also offered appetizers in the evening. Also the afternoon tea was a joy to attend. I can't wait for my next trip, we came home a couple of days ago, and I already miss the hotel .

Room Tip: If you have children the double beds are good to have , as well as a roll away bed, my children love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to The Grand Hotel Marriott. We are thrilled to know the entire family enjoyed their visit and the many activities offered. We are very happy to see all of our RSA guests enjoying a Summer visit with us and hope to see you again for your 6th visit soon. On behalf of The Grand family thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Clear
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
3.7 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
150 reviews
11.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile-East Bay-Daphne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
19.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Address: Grand Blvd, P.O. Box 639, Point Clear, AL 36564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Point Clear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Clear
Price Range: $228 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a stunning AAA Four Diamond beach resort in Point Clear, Alabama, the exquisite Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, one of the most stunning hotels the Gulf Coast has to offer. This resort boasts two challenging golf courses as part of the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, a luxurious 20,000-square-foot European-style spa, 10 tennis courts, a fabulous array of exceptional dining options, and a sizeable marina for sailboats, yachts and fishing boats. Overlooking scenic Mobile Bay, we are a proud member of Historic Hotels of America and boast 37,000 square feet of elegant meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club Point Clear
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marriott Point Clear
Point Clear Marriott
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Point Clear, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing