We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Gorham's Bluff
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites(Scottsboro)(Great Value!)
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Quality Inn Scottsboro(Scottsboro)(Great Value!)
$51
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberty Inn(Scottsboro)
$40
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Red Roof Inn & Suites Scottsboro(Scottsboro)(Great Value!)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Scottsboro)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
American Inn(Stevenson)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
77
19
12
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
19
12
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennessee riverback porchrocking chairsfrench doorsgreat weekendlocal attractionsgorham's bluffgreek revivalamerican planfireplaceretreataccommodationsflorida
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 122 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I spent our 16th Anniversary here for 2 nights. This is a very lovely Lodge, the views were spectacular, on Gorham's Bluff overlooking the beautiful Tennessee river. It was very relaxing and the rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. We had a king size bed in the Satterfield room. The balcony overlooking the river was great with rocking chairs. Coffee service was brought upstairs each morning at 7:00 a.m.. Drinking coffee on the balcony was fantastic. Dawn and her staff were extremely friendly and provided wonderful efficient service. Chef Rene prepared fantastic dishes. Our restaurant servers were Olivia, and Dillon. They were great. The pool facilities were nice. They let us borrow bicycles free that was fun, brought back the old days. Dry county, but you can bring all your wine and no cork fees. Free ice cream bars, chocolate bars, soda and bottled water. This was 1st Class all the way. Way to go Dawn and staff. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose Satterfield room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Please read the whole review! Dawn was VERY nice to deal with setting up our res. She is part of the ownership there and knows alot about the area. The place itself is very nice, we stayed in a cottage not the Inn. The food was "EXCELLENT", if you go eat there! The service was also very good. After staying there i would choose the cottages over the Inn, just our opinion. We did not use the pool however it looked very nice. The biggest downfall with this B&B is it is out in the middle of nowhwere, sets high atop a bluff with great veiws. If this sounds like your kind of place you must go, pack your GPS. The closer you get to the property the more you will say where are we going but upon enetering you will see a rewarding end to your drive!!!

Room Tip: The INN rooms dont have T.V.s in the rooms. The cottages all have muliple T.V.s
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelindj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First, I have to say that if you are looking for a place to relax, get away from the craziness of everyday life, and come away feeling rejuvenated, this is the place for you. Don't come here expecting to be running at the pace you left behind or you will be disappointed. We spent the weekend relaxing, walking, and reading...and eating. The food is excellent. Each meal is freshly prepared, served beautifully, and plentiful. Dinners are especially delightful. Our boxed lunch was tasty and ready and waiting for us to take it back to our cottage. Breakfasts are so good here and are such a nice way to start your day. Now, we did not stay in the lodge, but opted for a cottage a short walk away. We loved the privacy and the simple, yet tastefully appointed cottage. The bed was super comfortable and there were plenty of places to sit and read, or just chat. However, the first night we were there there was quite a storm. The door on the back porch was broken and slammed in the wind all night. The ceiling in the bathroom leaked because of the rain, and the gas fireplace in the living room didn't work. There was a general air of lack of maintenance about the cottage. We did let the manager know when we checked out and she was very apologetic. If we go again, we would probably stay in the lodge. So I give it a 4...3 for the cottage, 5 for the food...and priceless for the relaxation that comes from being away from it all!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BisoninLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The lodge sits on a 900 foot bluff overlooking the Tennessee River. Our room had a remote control fireplace and a large whirlpool tub overlooking the river. The food was divine. We
enjoyed fabulous meat and fish dishes. The 18 acre grounds offer expansive views,hiking,
and biking. The pool and cabana area are large, nice, and well maintained.

The Bluff offers many treats,snacks, and amenities which make this getaway feel special. It is a great place for weddings and honeymoons. There is a rental program with 20 houses available for
Rent for large parties or conferences. The prices are reasonable. The staff is friendly

Room Tip: Choose one of the whirlpool equipped rooms on the top floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Gorham's Bluff Easter weekend, 2013. This was one of 11 b&b's/inns we stayed in on a long road trip and, overall, it rivals anywhere we stayed. Our room (the Parton) was, in fact, my favorite of all 11 b&b's along the trip! It was beautifully furnished, had bedside reading lamps on both sides that could also be turned off without getting out of bed (it's surprising how many b&b's don't seem to think that's important!), a gas fireplace that could be turned on with the click of a remote, plenty of room in the bathroom to sit toiletries, etc. (again, something often lacking in b&b's) and french doors opening to a big balcony with rocking chairs and an AMAZING view of the Tennessee River Valley and a lake below. It was the only lodging we chose on this trip that also had its own restaurant. We were surprised and amazed at the exceptional food (due to this being a relatively small and remote lodge) and charming, cozy dining room with fireplace. We also enjoyed the Friday night "mixer" with homeowners, and sitting by the fire after dinner in the common area talking with another guest couple. Last, but not least, ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere. The location is secluded, yet only about 30 minutes off of I-59 and less than an hour from Chattanooga, TN. It is a great place to spend a quiet couple of days, especially in good weather where you can enjoy the beautiful property and views. We also enjoyed a challenging hike at nearby Buck's Pocket State to a rock outcropping with a great canyon-like view. Unfortunately, the park was pretty torn up by recent tornadoes; so it involved some navigating off the trail around some pretty sizable downed trees. Apparently there are several other nearby state parks and waterfalls nearby if you enjoy the outdoors. Great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyMountainDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews