We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Phenix City
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just a nice place to stay convenient to Columbus, GA. This hotel is right off the major expressways, but its a short drive across the bridge to downtown Columbus and the Riverwalk area. If you want to stay somewhere that you can walk to places of interest, this would not be the location for you. But if you like comfort, good service and a nice complimentary breakfast, than this is your place.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanintia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    99
    28
    9
    12
See reviews for
237
66
32
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was a nice place to stay. Not as close to Fort Benning as I would have liked but it worked. The customer service was nice but I do agree with another guest who called it lip service-customer service. They advertise, it’s all about the guest but I had a few minor requests that were blown off. I called and asked if the hotel had a wine opener that I could use and they said yes. When I went down to pick it up the front desk receptionist said, “I hope you didn’t think I was going to delivery this to you.” Wow! I surely didn’t think she was going to bring it up to my room but thanks for letting me know that wasn’t an option. Secondly, Im a big gym buff but the gym is setup a little strange. The treadmill is facing the wall-No TV, mirror or window-a direct wall. I asked if they could just turn the treadmill around to face the mirror and the TV. The front desk agreed and said it could be done. I stayed there a week and the treadmill never was turned around. Seemed like a simple request at the time… Overall, the hotel is very modern and trendy. HAPPY HOURS is the best and its free… I would recommend staying there but don’t believe the customer service hype.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALICIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merdianville al
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

we stayed at hampton inn this past weekend for two nights. The hotel was very,very clean. the beds were wonderful!! the staff was excellent! we would for sure stay there again in the future!

Room Tip: we were on 3rd floor, no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Very impressed with the staff, helpful, friendly and willing to help with any questions. We stayed 4 nights, and it was close to the National Infantry Museum, Naval Civil War Museum, and Fort Benning. Great rates included the free wi-fi and a continental breakfast with a variety of hot and cold foods, not just the frozen muffins and cold cereal. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely stay here again. The only down side was that it was too cold to use the pool, so there was nothing for the kids to do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyca41458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Very clean, well decorated, comfortable hotel with large and spacious rooms. Very pleasant and polite staff throughout. Breakfast started early, and the selection and quality were good.
But.
At check-in the full on customer service training was on display, complete with "if you have any complaints please contact my manager immediately".... but unfortunately the reality was a little different when we actually asked for something.
We were in town for a soccer tournament, and lucky us we had 8am starts both Saturday and Sunday across town (through 36 stop lights actually!).... so Saturday night we requested a late check-out at 2pm Sunday so we could get up, go to the games, then return pack and check-out before heading home. We were told the duty person could only give us a late check out to12 noon, and the "Director of Housekeeping" was the only one who could approve a 2pm check-out and she wouldn't be in until 8am. The next morning we went to the first game (36 stop lights), and then drove back in the hour gap we had before the next one (36 stop lights) to find out the D of HK wasn't in yet and noon was still our limit. It was nearly 10am and she was expected "soon". We hurried to the room and started to pack, and the front desk called. The D of HK was finally in, and the answer was "it's noon, or you can stay later by paying extra". We finished packing and left for our 11am game (36 stop lights)....
So, it's the Director of Housekeeping at this hotel that you need to fear. She shows up for work when she feels like it, and then sets occupancy and pricing policy.
So as long as you don't need a little understanding and help, this is a great hotel to rest and prepare yourself for driving across one of the most stoplight infested places in the country :) Great soccer tournament though - well done Red Star!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPH32561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This Hampton Inn was great! Big, clean rooms, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, and close to Ft. Benning and area restaurants! There were some noisy guests one evening of our stay, but they moved our room right away the next morning with no issues at all.Noise ceased quickly after mentioning it to the front desk during the night. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We got one of the bigger "suite" rooms, 2 double beds and a pull out couch with a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

You are probably the same way I am as far as being leary when you go away and have to choose a hotel in an area you've never been before. Well, let me tell you, this hotel was wonderful! It was clean, affordable, comfortable, and the staff was amazing!!! My husband and I spent 3 nights here and was so happy to be welcomed as we were. They have a great breakfast every morning and a cocktail hour/ manager meet and great every night (Robert was the greatest guy) The pool was clean, the jacuzzi was wonderful after a day of site seeing. We were there for a Graduation ceremony for our Son. It was close to Fort Benning (10-15 minutes) I've never written a hotel review before, but I have to say I was inspired to do it this time because if you're in the area, this is the hotel for you!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooper3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phenix City
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
1.2 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#15 of 46 in Columbus
476 reviews
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
Address: 620 Martin Luther King Jr Pkwy, Phenix City, AL 36869-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Phenix City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Phenix City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Phenix City’s Premier hotel is located less than 1 mile from Columbus, Ga downtown, and 6 miles from Ft Benning, GA. This is the Closest Hilton hotel to Ft Benning. If you are making plans to attend your recruit’s graduation at Fort Benning, we are the perfect hotel for you. Graduation from the recruit’s US Army training is an exhilarating experience for both the recruit and their visitors. Our well trained and educated staff will provide you an overall view of graduation ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area Hotel Phenix City
Hampton Inn And Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing