We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun”

Oak Mountain State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Pelham
Certificate of Excellence
Al.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Senic views. Two fishing lakes. Cabins to rent or camp ground. Wild life everywhere. John boats for rent at lakes. Clean and well kept.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    96
    25
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great outdoor experience for the whole family”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent a 4-day weekend here and had a wonderful time. The park is well maintained with lots of friendly rangers. We attended a fall festival on Saturday with a bounce house, games, pony rides, face painting and a hay wagon ride that was a fundraiser for the park. Our small kids had a blast! There are several playgrounds with swings and a large slide (no fort or climbing structure). We went to the petting farm and enjoyed lots of animals. We also had fun with the paddleboats on the lake. Everything is very affordable and family-oriented. Highly recommend a trip to this great state park!

Helpful?
Thank Kelseyledare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Golf, hiking and boating!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love to play golf here. I used to picnic here a lot, and there are great trails for mountain biking. It is probably the best state park type place in the B'ham area, and there are lots of activities available here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank awyeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Plan for some long hikes if you like. There are plenty of trails for hiking and biking. Pretty twisty roads inside the park and the trails are a lot of fun.
You have to see the waterfall and be careful with that hike down and up. However, it's well worth it because its a neat area around the falls and also the trail along it.

Note, I drove to the back and saw a massive water puddle in the road which would have excluded cars and bikes from passing. (early October)

Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tones to Do”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Mountain biking, golf, trails etc. Very nice park and cost almost nothing. Take the back entrance to save time.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Mountain State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oak Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing