We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bbq from Texas to south Carolina....”
Review of Hawg N Dawgz - CLOSED

Hawg N Dawgz
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best bbq from Texas to south Carolina....”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have eating at many bbq joints from Texas to south Carolina and I have to say this place in Ozark Al is the the best I've ever had... Many people has told told me I am to picky and they are probably right . For one I really don't care for any bean but their bbq beans I could eat by their self. Their ribs are so tender the near falls right off the none no knife needed.. From the season to the sauce to the sweet tea it can't be beat. A dinner with one side and a drink is around 13.00 & it is well worth it......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shortfuse5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food with a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The ribs were fall off the bone, with a dry rub that had a little kick. Tried the fried green beans, very crisp and tasty. ( A new favororite to me now) Tried the fried mac and cheese bites, a great idea. Kids will really enjoy these. Customer service was the most impressive, very friendly clean environment. To me a must stop...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family enjoyed the food. The ribs were tender, the chicken was juicy and delicious and the peach/strawberry cobbler was amazing! Everyone left satisfied and singing the praises of a place that looks like a hole in the wall. I was pleased to see people out back by a big wood pile, smoking some yummy food. The staff was very friendly, even offering us umbrellas to get in the door. Don't let looks deceive you--try them!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Yummy little BBQ restaurant! It was hard to find with the address on here but I followed someone else's review that said it was accross the street from Larry's and I found it! They were waiting at the door with umbrellas and super friendly for our large party. Food was perfect from the ribs, pulled pork sammich, chicken wings and 1/2 chicken. I highly recommend the peach-strawberry cobbler! Go here

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremiahstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeteetse, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Everything on the menu is good! Really, really good southern BBQ. Excellent size portions. Great BBQ baked potato.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing