We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't ring my bell”
Review of Garfrerick's Cafe

Garfrerick's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Didn't ring my bell”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

In my opinion, Garfrerick's is nothing to write home about. The prices are high for what they serve you. I ordered a steak, which lacked flavor, was thin and not cooked how I asked (ordered med-rare, got med-well). Side was a quarter head of cabbage (????) and mashed potatoes.... me personally, I like a juicy, flavorful steak with some good hearty sides. Just wasn't my style really I guess.

Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    31
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
453 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants west of Atlanta”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I travel AL with my job and make it a point to spend the night at the Oxford exit so I can go eat at Garfrerick's. Great service and food, with a friendly staff and owner. Plus a good beer and wine selection.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billreedred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, AL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“34 miles and so worth the drive!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Were this closer to home, I would never cook. Creative menu, great bread, exceptional wait staff. Only thing I would change are the acoustics - a bit noisy due to the high ceilings. Truly a delight!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetHomeAL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best local food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The atmosphere is great. The restaurant has an open kitchen and a bar to sit at to watch the staff prepare your meal. Everything on the menu is fresh and mostly local. This is really the only place in the entire area that offers that. It's for sure a breath of fresh air in a town that offers mainly mainstream corporate junk food. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about all their menu items, which can change daily.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kasey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise to find the place in a small town”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Loved it! Recommended by the hotel. Great, upscale food and wine. Excellent service. Healthy and vegetarian options.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garfrerick's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing