We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I can only think the good reviews came from people who did not have an issue or did not report one. Our folio stated quiet room away from the elevator. After driving 10 hours, we checked in, unpacked, showered and were ready for bed, when a loud noise started. I called the front desk clerk who told me there was a live band playing and it was under us. We could move, but it would take us about 30 minutes to pack up and she assured us it would be okay for our second night. We were awake until the music stopped. At breakfast, we overheard there was to be another event. The clerk said we could move but not until noon. We put the DND sign on our door, only to return and the housekeeper had REMOVED it and cleaned our room as a stay over. Our rate was adjusted but not for the entire night because we did not pack up and move when the clerk said to. On an 8 day trip, all rooms at a Hilton property, this was by far the worst. Our second night was quiet but the reservation dept should never have put anyone directly over a live band.

Room Tip: Ask if there is an event and to be put at the opposite end of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakegirl5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngSmith, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We as a team are very disappointed that some of our staff members did not help correct the issues you experienced to meet you expectations. Our property and our team strive for perfection and that is the reason you mainly see positive reviews. We as a team have met to ensure that we will handle similar issue differently. Please contact me at 256-831-0083 to discuss our experience. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Angela Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 511 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast provided the following day with a coupon provided by one of the hotel employees. Food was very good and dining area was very clean. Our only problem was we were unaware the beds were self adjusting and there wasn't anything to tell us they were in the room we stayed in. Ours was set to very firm and it was not a very enjoyable night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngSmith, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

we love to get reviews that mentions our friendly staff and our excellent food. Every staff member strives hard to provide excellent customer service and quality food. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.

Angela Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Oxford Ala was worth every penny. We reccomend it highly and when we return again that is where we will stay. Food, service, staff appearance, the appearance of the Inn and the ammenities all make for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Geraldine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is very nice to look at, but the staff took it over the top. Their smiling faces while extending to help my family and me with our needs. It was not just a couple of the staff but everyone we encountered was very polite and cordial. My wife was able to use the technology center and prepare papers for her class room in California. Every thing seem to be perfect while experiencing the best hotel for a very unique visit to our family in Oxford Alabama. It was the best. My two children was able to have long fun play in the inside pool facility. The water was great and they enjoyed having such a nice pool indoors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Booker W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Loved this hotel. It was extremely clean the beds were comfortable. We didn't have a tub in our room but the shower was okay. Not great water pressure but it sufficed. Nice office center and work out room. The indoor pool was too cold to go into. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank CherylB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a perfect place to stay! Every staff member, especially Liz, Joy and the assist. general manager, Michelle made sure each of our wedding guest was very happy with their stay. Every time they saw me, each asked if everyone was happy and could they do anything else to assist us. The breakfast is delicious, especially the poached eggs. The breakfast staff was extremely efficient and attentive and went out of their way to make us all happy! Thank you to all at the Hilton Garden Inn for making our wedding guests happy and weekend wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngSmith, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Lisa,

Congratulations to you and your husband! Thank you for your outstanding review of our property! We enjoyed hosting your guests and it is our goal to have everyone enjoy their stay! In addition our sales team enjoyed working with you and we hope to have another opportunity in the future.

Angela Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice Hotel. Had In-room Whirlpool. Perfect way to unwind after long business day with a tub, ball game on a decent-sized flat screen, and a cold beverage from the minifridge. Microwave may come in handy next time. Good dining, plus other restaurants within a two-minute walk. Park the car and enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngSmith, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Hello David,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and its amenities. Our ownership supplies us with a wonderful product, guided by Hilton and we as a team give forth our best effort to provide a great hotel for our guests. Glad you had a game to watch to make it even a better experience.

Angela Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Oxford
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford-Anniston
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oxford - Anniston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anniston Oxford
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Anniston / Oxford
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Oxford
Comfort Suites Oxford
#7 of 18 in Oxford
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston

Address: 280 Colonial Drive, Oxford, AL 36203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $93 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Oxford/Anniston Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing