We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marginal at best-Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marginal at best-Overpriced”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just know what you are getting here. This is an older, dated hotel that's best feature is that it is directly on the beach. Hotel has an odor about it and rooms are small and dated and most don't face or have a view of the Gulf. Pools and spa are ok although not large but they do face the gulf. AC is loud and vent needed cleaning. Hotel was full so breakfast was crowded and ice machines couldn't keep up. Breakfast marginal and not worth much.

We won't be staying here again. Rooms are resort priced but this is no resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 407tomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid review about your recent stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We have addressed the issues with our line level staff and management staff as well. It is because of comments such as yours that tell us how we can improve our service to our guests. Again, I apologize that you did not have a great experience and I hope you give us another chance in the future to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    192
    97
    48
    30
See reviews for
265
214
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived on vacation one day early and called to see if there was a room available for the evening. Much to our delight, they had a room and gave us a discount! The room was roomy and clean. It included a couch, desk, nice TV, coffee maker with coffee, micro & fridge. The bed was ultra comfortable. It stayed nice and cool all through the night. A full breakfast was served the next AM. Best of all? It's right ON THE BEACH! There are shops, restaurants in walking distance. NOTE: There's also two pools and a gift shop. If we didn't like to cook while we stay in Florida, we would stay HERE all of the time.

Room Tip: You'll probably have to pay premium, but try to get a room on the Gulf Front! Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonBon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid review about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved our stay. The staff was very friendly. The pool area is awesome!
Two pools & a hot tub right on the beach. You can't get any closer to the beach than here.
Michael helped us find things to do in the area making sure we enjoyed every moment we spent here. He is an asset to this property. We WILL be sure to come back next year!

Room Tip: Book a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so happy that you had such a great time with us. It is also nice to hear that our staff was very helpful in answering all your questions. We can't wait to have you stay with us again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I had this hotel for 4 nights around July 4th weekend. We arrived at about 2:45 pm, hoping for an early check in to no avail. That's okay it was our risk, but being told that we are guaranteed check in by 4pm we dealt with it. Long story short, we didn't get the room until almost 4:30. That is the only complaint I have. The rest of the stay was excellent. The staff top to bottom were accommodating including mgt, front desk, beach dude, bar, housekeeping. I'm not fond of condos, so having my hotel on the beach is a major plus. Rooms were great as well. Weather was not good but there were other activities to do. If you go to the outlet mall I would recommend taking the toll road. it does cost $3.50 but the time savings can be up to an hour on rainy days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pal4vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday weekend with us and were able to also enjoy the surrounding area and attraction. We will defiantly make sure to pass the good word around to the staff. They work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy the time they are here with us and it is always good to hear that they did a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This property is located on the beach, and the short boardwalk makes it very convenient to go up and down between room and beach without many hassles have experienced at other properties. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Would stay at property again. Only two areas of improvement I see is that there was a line of people waiting at check in. And also the breakfast bar doesn't flow well and seemed to back up every morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoop1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our property and our convenient location to the beach. It is always good to hear that our guests love staying with us and will be back again. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

They lady that checked us in was hateful. When we got there at 3pm they didn't have a room ready. After the stay i could see why. The maids was more worried about being on their phones then doing their jobs. The rooms was small. I mean very small. They made you rent the chairs on the beach after making you pay a high price for your room. Oh and the elevators was so slow i almost took a nap in it. Also don't be in the elevator close to quitting time for the maids. That when they get in a hurry and shove all their carts in the elevator with you and squash you against the wall. They only thing good about the stay was the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
So sorry to hear that you had a negative stay with us. The issued that you had during your stay have been addressed to the proper management team. We thank you for your comments because they help be a better team and know what are guests expect from our team. We hope that this does not keep you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Almost 8 months later I am still so annoyed with this hotel I'm compelled to write a review! Hotel is beautiful more then I expected for a holiday inn and the price was good. Just one big problem the BED! The bed was so awful my husband attempted to sleep on the pull out and we even thought about leaving at 3 am to drive back home. This hotel would receive 4 stars if you didn't feel EVERY spring and the pillows didn't have rocks in them. Complained to management and by said they would comp us enough points for a free stay but I don't think we will ever stay at another holiday inn and the points are not enough to stay at another holiday inn even if we wanted to give them another chance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBunny126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. You issue will defiantly not be ignored and will be addressed to our management staff. We hope that this does not keep you from staying with us again in the future you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#15 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561-3064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Holiday Inn Express beachfront hotel in Orange Beach, Alabama, everything’s as pretty as a postcard. In our little corner of the world, the sand feels soft as sugar, and the water calls your name with every wave. Jumping into the Gulf of Mexico is like sipping a cool glass of lemonade, only sweeter. When you visit us, you’ll feel like you’ve found a long lost friend. Find out for yourself what the locals have already discovered … that every day can feel like paradise on the Gulf Coast of Alabama. Steps from our door, you’ll find as much or as little recreation as you desire. So whether you choose to lie in the sun or make a splash in our beachfront pool, our hotel is the perfect place to lose an afternoon (or five). We’re close to popular local attractions in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, Alabama, including the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville USA, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Our Southern hospitality will make you feel right at home. So come on down and see us, y’all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing