We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big letdown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Big letdown”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were attracted to this hotel due to it's location on the beach, of course.
Facility is oviously an older building that has had some updating done over the years. But some things can not be covered over with new tile and paint.
Note that only a few rooms over look the beach to the south. Rooms to the east face a much larger condo. Rooms to the west would have some beach view. Balconys are tiny with barely room for one person. Rooms on the first floor- these must be unbelivably noisy with traffic in the hallways.
Elevator is very slow. We were on the sixth floor and the hallways just plain smelled bad.
Room was fairly large but very dark since the only light is from the balcony door. Paint colors seem to have been picked from the institute of drab which seemed odd for a beach hotel. Furniture was very plain and minimal. Mattess was old and uncomfortable. Bathroom is "motel 6" which for this price is unacceptable. AC noisily switched between sweat shop and freezer mode which sucked when you're trying to sleep.
But we went for the beach and the pool.
Pool is decent size but can become very crowded. Beach access is good but if you don't want to rent a chair from the service you have to walk quite a ways down the beach to get to open space. Open space to the east is non existent due to condos that seem to stretch for miles.
Note that the hotel provides no towels. Bring your own.
For what they charge this hotel should be a LOT nicer.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere! I would drive a bit farther and go to FL- the beach is less crowded, cleaner, and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are so sorry that you had a negative experience in our hotel. Your experience at our property is very important to us. We want all of our guest to have a positive stay and a great experience of our area. Please email our General Manager Christinia Gale directly. cgale@innisfree.com or by phone at 251-974-1634. We appreciate you letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    199
    100
    50
    31
See reviews for
284
220
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I used 35K points to stay overnight on our way to Disney to give the kids an afternoon at the beach. the front desk person "ran through the motions" of check-in and didn't make eye contact or project like she cared at all about incoming guests. It was a lot of points to give up for one night stay, the hotel was OK, of course no gulf view. I felt like we were "stepping on their toes" because we used points. I didn't like the feel of the place. Breakfast was good. very busy... I will try another hotel next time. not enough carts at check in, so we made 4 trips from the car to the room. someone left their luggage on the cart until their room was ready - so that tied up a cart for who knows how long?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you had some issues with your checkin process at our hotel. We will definatly look in to the issuses that you have reported to us. We hope that you comeback again and give us another shot at making your view of our hotel better. Candid comments always help us do our job better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked two rooms at this beachfront hotel for a total of 70k rewards points for one night. Upon checkin, we realized our rooms were not even Gulffront! When I called to request a manager, I was told they would not be in until the next day (?). I left my cell number and requested a callback ASAP. That was 3 days ago, and I have yet to hear from anyone. We were previously at the Holiday Inn Resort in Pensacola with beautiful views, interactive mermaid and pirate shows, a dive in theater, and various other children's activities, and the rewards points cost was EXACTLY the same. Our rooms at this Orange Beach hotel were significantly dated, had a residual Lysol smell, and were barely better than a cheap motel. This was a complete waste of points for us, and a huge letdown by the IHG brand. To the desk clerk's credit, she did allow me to choose between two different rooms they had available, but the difference between them was only marginal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are so sorry that you had a negative experience in our hotel. Your experience during your stay sincerely matters to us. We would love to have the opportunity to address your concerns and ensure that you have a fun time with us and hopfully get a chance to change your mind about our property. Please email our General Manager Christinia Gale directly. , cgale@innisfree.com or by phone at 251-974-1634. We appreciate you letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here week of 6/11/13, Front desk folks nice, rooms clean,air worked great. Cleaning ladies on 5th floor were real nice when we needed extra towels. Plenty of parking, location is close to everything we wanted to do. Easy access to beach. Hotel has 2 pools and pool bar. There were 9 of us(6 teenagers) and didn't have any problems. Free breakfast had lots of choices hot and cold. Highly recommend this hotel for beach vacation.....We will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi5Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
It is great to hear tht you enjoyed your stay with us. Also happy to hear you enjoyed the location and local attractions. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Love the drinks at the bar and the breakfast is great but get up early to beat the rush. Rooms are clean and housekeeping is great. Great location and several restuarnts and stores close by. The pool was nice and the beach was clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
WOW! Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy all that we have to offer our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

he hotel has beautiful views on the Gulf front side. We were on the 5th floor and the views were spectacular. The staff was amazing, very helpful and pleasant. Better than most Holiday Inn properties that I have stayed at.

The swimming pool was great and my kids loved it. Also access to the beach was very easy and convenient.

The hotel lobby has beautiful fish tanks that my kids enjoyed while checking in and the breakfast was outstanding, although the dining area stayed very crowded.

The rooms were clean and typical Holiday Inn Express. The air conditioning is the best and most efficient of ANY hotel I have ever stayed. The rooms were spacious enough, although more dresser or table top room would have been nice as it is very limited and made it difficult to use the table when beach bags, toys, etc... were on it.

My only two complaints are the elevators take a long time and often you have to wait as they are full with people. Another elevator or two is really needed at this property. The other is the balcony on the Gulf front rooms. It is very small, not enough space to truly relax while looking at the gulf.

Overall the experience was great and I would definitely stay here again without hesitation!

Room Tip: Make sure to get Gulf Front, otherwise you will be looking an condos or a gift shop. Best A/C of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomstep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are so happy to hear that overall your stay was great at our hotel. Our staff takes a lot of pride in ensuring all of our guests feel at home and we love to hear great feedback such as yours regarding our staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel itself is fine. The staff was great, check in was super easy. The room was clean and average, what you would expect for a highly used hotel room on the beach. The elevators were a little slow, but the hotel was pretty full, so that would be expected. The pool area is fantastic... It's creatively lit, has an infinity edge over into a smaller pool. Very impressed. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We could see the beach from the west side, doesn't seem like you could from the east side becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelliMc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michljames, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you were able to come stay with us and enjoyed your stay. We are also glad to hear that you had so much fun on our pool deck enjoying the beautiful Orange Beach Weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 19 in Orange Beach
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561-3064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Holiday Inn Express beachfront hotel in Orange Beach, Alabama, everything’s as pretty as a postcard. In our little corner of the world, the sand feels soft as sugar, and the water calls your name with every wave. Jumping into the Gulf of Mexico is like sipping a cool glass of lemonade, only sweeter. When you visit us, you’ll feel like you’ve found a long lost friend. Find out for yourself what the locals have already discovered … that every day can feel like paradise on the Gulf Coast of Alabama. Steps from our door, you’ll find as much or as little recreation as you desire. So whether you choose to lie in the sun or make a splash in our beachfront pool, our hotel is the perfect place to lose an afternoon (or five). We’re close to popular local attractions in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, Alabama, including the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville USA, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Our Southern hospitality will make you feel right at home. So come on down and see us, y’all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing