We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this HIExpress as part of a "Road Scholars" (used to be called "Elderhostel") program. This is an older property, but it's been nicely refurbished. Rooms were quite clean; good internet connection; flat screen TV; good breakfast; nice staff. Directly on the beach and reasonably priced. There's lots to do in the area, and from the size and number of huge high rises, I gather that it's a very popular vacation spot. If we were ever in the area again, I'd really consider staying at this HIExpress. It was just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the ocean (otherwise you look at a high rise), even if it costs a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
What an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share you thoughts with us and other Tripadvisor members. I am so very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity to be of service again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    188
    97
    47
    30
See reviews for
261
212
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night, since it was near my parent's vacation condo. It is right on the beach and in a convenient location. Customer service: great. Very nice and helpful front desk person. Made reservations through Booking.com, and the price was somewhat reasonable for the area - around $149. Beware of Alabama's tourist tax of 11% - yikes!

The room: seemed really old and tired. Nice TV, microwave and fridge. The carpet seemed really old and frayed. The A/C unit had a constant high-pitched humming sound, and the maintenance guy had to come up, take the front grill off to unplug the unit to make it stop humming! The grill was grimey and dirty. The bathroom was dark with a low ceiling painted green. Dirty baseboards behind the door. When I arrived, the bath mat was damp! The bed was hard and uncomfortable, and the pillows lumpy.

Facilities: they had a business center, and the computer there was very fast and worked well. They had on-site pay washer and dryers, great for doing travel laundry. There was also a small fitness center and pools, which I did not use.

Breakfast buffet: not many healthy choices, but good food. Scrambled eggs, sausages, biscuits and gravy, cold cereals, rolls, a pancake-making machine. No yogurt or healthy items, if that's what you usually eat. Food was plentiful, and the right temperatures.

Overall, would not stay here again. The price seemed high for a worn out hotel. This would be a great place for young people on spring break. The rooms need updating and more thorough cleaning. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina g, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and letting us know how we can improve in the future. I apologize that you had a negative experience at our hotel. I have passed along your comments to our housekeeping and maintenance departments about the troubles you had with your room to ensure another guest does not have a negative experience as you have had. It is comments like yours that enables us to improve. Thank you again for your candid comments and I hope you give us another opportunity in the future to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

On a recent visit to the Gulf Coast, because of bad weather, we stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions. On the first visit Amanda was able to juggle reservations so that we could stay two nights instead of one. Amanda was wonderful and very professional as she made sure we were safe and comfortable during the storms. Because of her attention to customer care a few days later we returned to the Holiday Inn Express and enjoyed another two days. Our room was ocean front, spacious, clean and very enjoyable. Excellent value, beautiful views, and a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StormFan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much! We like Amanda too. She is definitely a keeper! We will share you kind words with Amanda and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Let us know when you are coming, we will be sure to have Amanda for your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Overall we were pleased with our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. You can't beat the location. We loved being right on the beach. We had one of the King rooms with a private balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The view was beautiful. The outdoor areas were nice with the pool and hot tub and it was well maintained. The lobby and breakfast area were nicely decorated. The breakfasts were what you usually get at a Holiday Inn Express - nothing special, but okay.The staff was great - all very friendly.
My only complaint would be that the guest rooms, well at least our guest room, was a little shabby and worn and could definitely stand a little updating and TLC, And the housekeeping could have been better. Our room wasn't extremely clean and I am pretty sure the floor wasn't vacuumed the entire 4 days we were there. Twice I had to ask for towels, because when they cleaned the room they took the dirty ones out but didn't replace them with fresh ones.
That being said, the price of the room was very reasonable for such a great location and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyNebraskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and apologize for any inconveniences you might have experienced while you were here. We will use your comments as an opportunity to learn and grow. We hope you come see us again soon. Thank you again and happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights just to relax and enjoy the Gulf... And that's what it was, relaxing! Even got a cheaper rate when we arrived! Clean hotel (most Holiday Inn Expresses are), free parking, continental breakfast... What more could ya ask for?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spartyharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you were able to relax while you were here with us. Hopefully you will return to place your toes in the sand with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IF YOU VALUE TRUTH IN ADVERTISING, HONESTY, & CUSTOMER SATISFACTION!!!!! When we booked this room we chose Gulf Front, Balcony, King room. See photo of our view from the balcony. This view is from the third room we were offered when we complained about the first and second rooms. The first room we were assigned offered a beautiful view of the back bumper of our parked car. The balcony/patio in the second room was flooded so it was not an option to keep that room since the forecast was for thunderstorms for our entire stay (not in the forecast when the reservation was made), we were originally so comfortable with the Holiday Inn reputation, we didn't give a second thought to the storms thinking we would be secure on our Beach front balcony room, nice and dry with a great view. Even though we reserved the room well in advance, specific about what we wanted, this is what we received. We were told this is the best they could do since the other rooms (matching our request) were full. When we called IHG (International Hotel Group who owns Holiday Inn) Rewards Customer Service they said it was our error in making the reservation and nothing could be done. (We make approximately 120 reservations per year so we know what we are doing when booking a room online! We made NO error. In fact, the front desk described the room as a Gulf Front Room when we confirmed the room assignment before we went to the first room). They were not interested in providing additional rewards points or comping our room, much less giving us a discount - how's that customer service? So... here we are after driving six hours (one hour beyond our destinatinon since we thought we would have a beach front room), spending significant money in gas and boarding our dog (since Holiday Inn does not allow pets), very unhappy. In the future, we will never stay in a Holiday Inn or any hotel affiliated with this hotel group for all our business or pleasure trips. After a decade of being an IHG priority (gold) rewards member, we are switching everything to MARRIOTT and HILTON!!! Here we are, on the balcony, typing this review and discussing how we were looking forward to arriving and relaxing with no stress. Instead, all we have encountered is STRESS since our arrival three hours ago.

Reserved specific room, paid for it, did not received it, no one cares.

Room Tip: With so many wonderful choices to spend the night, don't choose this hotel unless you want a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear D T,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have received over the room assignment. Kindly be assured that your comments are being reviewed by the management and actions will be taken accordingly. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangebeach,al
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel was perfect,right on the beach,close to shopping,food ,attractions,reasonable rates. Most was in walking distance,really no need to drive anywhere on your first night.There is a couple of restaurants across the rode,sovinor shop right next door.lol ,pool and hot tub right down stairs with the gate to the beach. We will diff. come to to hotel again in the future Joren and charlotte plapp

Room Tip: get the room facing the gulf ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so very happy you enjoyed your Valentines get-a-way with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#16 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561-3064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Holiday Inn Express beachfront hotel in Orange Beach, Alabama, everything’s as pretty as a postcard. In our little corner of the world, the sand feels soft as sugar, and the water calls your name with every wave. Jumping into the Gulf of Mexico is like sipping a cool glass of lemonade, only sweeter. When you visit us, you’ll feel like you’ve found a long lost friend. Find out for yourself what the locals have already discovered … that every day can feel like paradise on the Gulf Coast of Alabama. Steps from our door, you’ll find as much or as little recreation as you desire. So whether you choose to lie in the sun or make a splash in our beachfront pool, our hotel is the perfect place to lose an afternoon (or five). We’re close to popular local attractions in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, Alabama, including the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville USA, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Our Southern hospitality will make you feel right at home. So come on down and see us, y’all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing