We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it. Had a great time. First time to orange beach and will do it again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth it. Had a great time. First time to orange beach and will do it again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel. Good view. Good service. Pool area is clean and rockin. Kid friendly. Room wasn't as quiet as I would like but, I was beach front rm 618 above the pool. What should I expect? Beach is clean. This place is way nicer than the Hilton I just stayed in in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsjones331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Awesome! Thank you so much for the kind words. We look forward to the opportunity to be of service again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    164
    87
    42
    25
See reviews for
236
179
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel, but ended up checking out a day early, even though we had paid in advance for the full stay and got no refund!
The hotel is old and not kept clean
The room, an Ocean View room, was tiny. So small. The view could only be seen if one physically stood out on the TINY balcony. The mattress was really , really soft: not good for back problems!!
The room smelled musty when we walked in. Surprise, surprise there was a portable fan squeezed next to the bed! We wondered what it was doing there. Then wow........... we realised why!! The dirty stained carpet was SOAKED. Wet , wet, wet.
The bathroom was NOT clean.
The front desk staff , that we dealt with, had no customer service skills.
When we told them of the wet carpet and that we would check out early the front desk man, gave no eye contact. Just looked at hios computer and said, you get no refund, as you pre paid the stay.
There was never any suggestion that thet would change our room; offer a discount; worse of all, there was no apology!
We will never return to this nasty, little dirty , tiny room , filthy and soaking wet carpet, with staff who have no right to be dealing with the public! It's a 1 Star hotel at its best
Be warned, do not stay here
Oh by the way, another woman behind the desk told me that our room had had flooding from the recent Hurricane!
She said that whenever it rains heavily, storm or no storm several rooms get soaked
How dare the hotel expect people to pay for hotel rooms in this type of condition
It's a health risk also.
Watch if you have any lung/ breathing problems.
It's a terrible risk to ones health alone
Would NEVER go back

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovingdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Ovingdean,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

For a Holiday Inn, I was thoroughly pleased with the effort to make my stay comfortable and pleasant. Cheerful beach decor and an updated interior help the overall impression. No smelly elevators here.The staff is patient, courteous and takes their job to heart. The hot free breakfast isn't best around but the hot coffee, juice and toasted items will suffice if you are in hurry or not a first meal of the day person. The beach is beautiful, the pool area is attractive and well maintained by staff. Not many beach towels available so bring your own. The room was clean and outfitted with microwave and small refrigerator. The shower was above average for a Holiday Inn, this a nice plus. Location and convienence to all beach activities, restaurants and shopping is best attribute; the worst is parking, it is limited when hotel is full. I give you 4 star rating only becuase you are not the Ritz......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAPx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
4 Stars! Amazing! Thank you so much for the review. With reviews like yours we are able to notice areas where we exceed and areas where we may need improvement. Please come visit us again very soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My friend, her sister and niece and I stayed here for four nights and three days. We had a beach side room on the sixth floor which included a balcony view of the beach and gulf itself. From the time we arrived until we checked out we were treated great! All the staff we very pleasant and warm to all of us. They chatted with us when they were on the elevators and even called the first full day here to see if everything was okay for us. Room was very clean and comfortable. Hotel was very clean and floors were always well vaccumed of scrubbed/ It was a marvel at how they kept up with a full house of guests running in and out and up and down with wet swimsuits, but they did. This is our favorite stay while at Gulf Shores,

Room Tip: Would suggest you try an upper floor and may be the beach side. All rooms are a good rate. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad to hear you and your travel buddies enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to the opportunity to be of service again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The beach is great to play in. The beach and pool are as warm as bath water. I spent hours in the water. The breakfast was satisfying. It was clean. It had free beach towels so you didn't need to bring your own. The staff are friendlly and helpful. A great place to relax. We stayed 4 nights and 3 days.

Room Tip: The 6th floor beach side provided a good view of the gulf. It is quiet. Room is a good size for 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks! We love the beach too, we put it there just for you. We have lots of other great things to do while visiting in Orange Beach. Look me via email or by phone, mboler@innisfree.com / 251.974.1634, up the next time you are in town for great suggestions for dining and fun things to do. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights and it was overall a great place. We had a few issues with the room however the staff worked hard to resolve them the best they could. When we first checked in and went to our room there was a weird (yuk) smell. The maid came in right behind us and apologized and said she wasn't sure what it was but she smelled it when cleaning and came back to Febreeze the room. The next morning someone from the front desk called to see if it was any better we told them "not really". They sent a maintenance man up who end up putting a dehumidifier in our room. He apologized for the noise that it makes but we didn't mind the humming it made just made us sleep even better. Thankfully, the dehumidifier did help with the odor. The refrig wasn't cooling well. I called down to let them know and within a few minutes
someone was at the door to check it. The front desk also followed up with a call to make sure it was taken care of as well. There were a couple of issues with the room however they really tried hard to fix them and they followed up to make sure we were pleased, that goes a long way.
The hotel has lots of positives! The room was clean! The breakfast was good! The pool was clean and had lots of chairs, even a couple of hammocks. The poolside bar was great and the staff was friendly. Easy walk down to the beach!
The hotel is in a good location, Publix, Dollar General etc...very close and some restaurants. Overall we had a great stay and would return.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides of the hotel are facing other condos. The left side is facing very closely to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank all about t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Reviews like this allow us to improve in areas where needed and congratulate our staff on a job well done. Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity to be of service again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 5 days. It had several pros and cons in my opinion.

Pros:

1. Gulf Front - Unobstructed View

2. Pool - was nice and clean

3. Breakfast - was ok and there was several options to choose from

4. Parking - I never had a problem finding parking at any time


Cons:

1. Price - the gulf front room was very expensive

2. No sunrise/sunset views - each side of the balcony had a view of another hotel

3. Mildew - found on the ceiling

4. Sheets - stain on one of the pillows

5. Tub - had a rusted out crack in the floor

6. Noise - The flyer about the pool said pool hours are 9 am - 10 pm but a sign at the pool said open 24 hrs? Kids were yelling and screaming until 11:30 pm several nights. They need to either correct the flyer or the pool area sign.

7. Vending - My room was outside of the vending area in the hall (I did not know this when I booked my room) and I got to hear the ice machine being used literally all hours of the night.

8. Housekeeping - I was in my room one day and heard one of the house keepers loudly talking in the hall on her cell phone about her personal domestic issues.

I realize this is not the Ritz-Carlton but for the price I paid for a room I expected a little bit more. I'm sure if I had went during off season it may have been a different experience but I could not due to job circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTraveler55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistianneB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your candid review. We value the opinions of our guests greatly. We apologize for any inconveniences exerienced during your stay. Should you choose to visit with us again, please look me up. My name is Mistianne Boler, Director of Sales here at the Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach. I will personally see to it that you have a fabulous vacation here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Beach
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
#4 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#8 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Holiday Inn Express beachfront hotel in Orange Beach, Alabama, everything’s as pretty as a postcard. In our little corner of the world, the sand feels soft as sugar, and the water calls your name with every wave. Jumping into the Gulf of Mexico is like sipping a cool glass of lemonade, only sweeter. When you visit us, you’ll feel like you’ve found a long lost friend. Find out for yourself what the locals have already discovered … that every day can feel like paradise on the Gulf Coast of Alabama. Steps from our door, you’ll find as much or as little recreation as you desire. So whether you choose to lie in the sun or make a splash in our beachfront pool, our hotel is the perfect place to lose an afternoon (or five). We’re close to popular local attractions in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, Alabama, including the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville USA, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Our Southern hospitality will make you feel right at home. So come on down and see us, y’all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing