We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this property which is located directly on the gorgeous, pristine beach. This was a beautiful place, nicely appointed rooms and well maintained. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming as were all of the staff including the housekeepers. The breakfast was great - lots to choose from and kept well stocked. The outside pool and surrounding area was clean and very nice. We were a little concerned about the beach situation after the oil spill last year, but shouldn't have worried: the beach was spectacular!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LoveMyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    192
    97
    48
    30
See reviews for
265
215
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toledo Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and loved it. We stayed on the 5th floor ocean front room and it was nice. Room was smaller than we imagined but it did the job. The room was great other than being a little small. Our view off the balcony was awesome! The staff were all very nice and the breakfast every morning was good. The pool was not crowded even in the afternoon. Bring a lounge chair for the beach because the lounge chairs that are set up already cost $25 per day. We sat on them and then the representative came and tried to get us to purchase them for the day haha. We went to the local Walmart (10 mins away) and bought a chair for $17.00. We ate at Moes BBQ and it was average. Also ate at The Hangout and it was decent.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view!! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Surprised that the pool area and beach were not cleaned up from the night before. Trash and beer cans left by pool and whirlpool

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room great for price and location

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaseybayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
179 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed here while attending an Elderhostel (now called Road Scholar) Golf Program. On the positive side, this facility is located right on the beach with a great pool looking out over the beach and the Gulf. A boardwalk from the property leads directly onto a great beach. We did not not have a beach view room which would have obviously provided great views. The front desk staff was friendly. The rooms, a bit small, are well maintained. The breakfast offerings are ample whether you're eating light or desire a full breakfast. The hotel's location is near a number of quality restaurants along the main drive in front of the hotel.
Now, for the negative. Unfortunately for our last two nights stay, we shared the floor we were on with a number of young people who were there during their spring break. Evidently they felt they had the right to run up-and-down the halls making noise, knocking on doors, going from room-to-room, etc. I got up the first night and addressed some of the group in the halls requesting they discontinue their actions. It seemed to work for awhile but did not eliminate the noise entirely. The next morning, I registered a complaint with the young man at the front desk on duty for the night. I discovered the group was staying for another night. I suggested that a hotel authority talk to the group in hopes of assuring them their behavior was not appropriate and there had better not be a replay of the previous night for the next night. He understood my concerns. Unfortunately, the next evening was a replay of the first night the group was there plus also included a fire alarm going off at 3:00AM due to one or some of the group smoking in a room. I had called the front desk when the alarm went off to discover what had happened. After a sleepless night, I again visited with the same front desk attendant and requested to speak with the manager. I did speak with the Sales Manager, a very nice young lady, who empathized with my complaints about basically two sleep interrupted nights. She indicated she would work with the sponsoring Road Scholar Program people to arrive at some compensation for the problems encountered. I think the problem could have been prevented by not putting this group on the same floor as people like ourselves who are there for other purposes or simply suggesting they find another hotel for their second night's stay. Were it not for the bad nights we experienced due to the unacceptable actions of the "spring breakers," I'd have to give this hotel much higher rating.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Wonderful location - a great experience to walk out of the hotel and be on a beautiful white sand , well-maintained beach! When we arrived, we were assigned a room that was above a large vent or A/C unit of some kind. In the room on a table by the window was a portable air purifier. This made us a bit uneasy and we asked for a room change. Second room was completely satisfactory. However, the hotel was not full, we were early checking in, and we had the feeling they were trying to pass off a poor room on us and save the good ones for later arrivals. Beds were very comfortable and linens and towels were good quality. The breakfast area was dark and out of the way, but the variety of the breakfast items more than made up for that. All in all, a good deal!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The room was clean and the front desk staff were very freindly! The breakfast was great! The whirlpool was warm but bubbler was broken :-( they were waitng on parts

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxamilliona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystras, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

A smaller Holiday Inn in a fabulous location with an incredible view of the Gulf of Mexico.

I was upgraded to a top floor sea view room with a balcony which was a small room but very clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing and out of the five hotels I stayed in on this trip (pre a business meeting in Atlanta) this was not the most luxurious but easily the best. The hotel offers basic amenities but enough to keep me happy with a couple of fabulous bar/restaurants directly over the road (Bubbas and Jakes)

A walk through the hotels outdoor pool takes you onto the beach which is immaculately clean. If you have not stayed here please try it soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusureitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#15 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Address: 24700 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561-3064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Holiday Inn Express beachfront hotel in Orange Beach, Alabama, everything’s as pretty as a postcard. In our little corner of the world, the sand feels soft as sugar, and the water calls your name with every wave. Jumping into the Gulf of Mexico is like sipping a cool glass of lemonade, only sweeter. When you visit us, you’ll feel like you’ve found a long lost friend. Find out for yourself what the locals have already discovered … that every day can feel like paradise on the Gulf Coast of Alabama. Steps from our door, you’ll find as much or as little recreation as you desire. So whether you choose to lie in the sun or make a splash in our beachfront pool, our hotel is the perfect place to lose an afternoon (or five). We’re close to popular local attractions in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, Alabama, including the Amphitheater at the Wharf, Waterville USA, Gulf State Park and the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Our Southern hospitality will make you feel right at home. So come on down and see us, y’all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach-On The Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Holiday Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing