We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We never made it to New Orleans after discovering Orange Beach during our roadtrip from Birmingham. What started as a quick detour to shop the outlet mall, quickly turned into a three-day escape. We stayed in a oceanview suite and had a fantasic time at this hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and told us the best places to each.

The property is right on the beach. The water is warm and the waves were high, definitely good enough if you have a little boogy board or something like that. The hotel seemed to be in a lot better shape then the other ones we stepped into and also way more affordable. It's also off the beaten path a little making it a quiet stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsettinjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Jets ettinjen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team members were able to give you great advice about places to go.

Being a beachfront property definitely has it's advantages such as the amazing view from our balconies and the smell of the ocean being at our backdoor. We are also in a prime location to get to Orange Beach or Gulf Shores very quickly.

Thanks again for the kind words and we hope to see you next time you are in the Gulf Shores or Orange Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    308
    203
    104
    70
See reviews for
490
449
38
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The room was spacious, price reasonable, and hotel employees very nice, I encourage them to beef up the cleaning crew. A q-tip and ball of hair were found in my room and the second day after housekeeping had been there, the q-tip was still in the corner of my room. I wonder what was there that I could not see.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjorieb225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Marjorie,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I have addressed this with our Executive Housekeeper, Ms. Rosemary, and she is coaching her staff as we speak. Plase note that this is not our standard of cleanliness and will not be tolerated. Please feel free to call me at 251-974-1600 or e-mail me at gharris@innisfree.com to discuss this further. We would like to invite you back and show you how we shine. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We really enjyed our time here, but for the rudeness of the front desk women, Elizabeth. We had the temerity to turn up with a coupon ( why put them in the magazine if you dont want them used?) and ask if they would give us that rate. That made us sub human, and we were treated that way.

After that all was great, the room was very nice, the view was great and orange beach is worth visiti

So great hotel, just treat people with dignity, please..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Janet W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am sorry you ran into someone who proved to be unhelpful at our front desk. I can assure you that is not the standard at our hotel. I will personally address this with Elizabeth and coach her on our service standards.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please call me at 251-974-1600 or e-mail me at gharris@innisfree.com. Please let us know if you are ever in the area again. We would appreciate the opportunity to "wow" you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline CT
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is on a prime piece of real estate, the owner need to put some cash back in for renovations. Staff is very nice! New Hampton by Hilton just down the road will cut into this hotel's bottom line it seems (the Hampton was full or I would have stayed there)...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy20071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thanks so much for your honest review of our Hotel. We are actually owned by the same company which owns the new Hampton. We are not the "new kid on the block", but we do strive to provide the best and most personal customer service to all of our guests. We are also pleased to announce that we are cuurenly resurfacing our pool decks and have installed new flat screen televisions and cabinets in each guest room. A new lobby concept is also in the works. We have a passion for Hospitality and service that will shine above the rest. We would love to welcome you back the next time you are in the area and personally give you the "wow" experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The entire staff at this property is well-trained and very courteous. The location is superb, directly on the beach. Our room was spacious, well-stocked and very clean. The TV was not a flat-screen but functioned very well. The a/c was an upgraded system and worked nicely from a wall thermostat. The gulf view is beautiful. Beds were adjustable for firmness. The breakfast buffet costs $10 and was worth the money. We thought the off-season daily rate was high, but this could be from lack of competition in Orange Beach. There are very few motels, and most rentals are the condo-type long-term rentals. I thought it was odd that the breakfast server did not bring a credit card receipt back to me, but that could have been due to him being a new hire. When I requested a receipt, he brought it to me immediately.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruiser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Cruiser 100,

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our service and hospitality. We have just finished installing brand new flat screen televisions and cabinets in every guest room.

Ms. Lynn Pahl, our cafe Manager, offers an excellent all you can eat cooked to order breakfast buffet every day. We believe it is such a value, at $10.00, to get all you can eat items such as omelets, pancakes, and waffles plus it includes your beverages.

Please visit us again should you need to get your toes in the sand. We love to welcome back our past guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed here with 2 other friends. We were driving from Chicago to Ft Myers, FL and it was a great stopping place. Enjoyed our walk on the beach before we departed in the morning

Room Tip: We had a beach view room and it was wonderful. We could sit out on our balcony and see the beach per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzie11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Ozzie 11_11,

Thanks so much for your kind review and compliments of our Hotel. Each of our rooms feature a private balcony and many times you can see the dolphins playing in the Gulf. We hope you find time to visit us again in the future and maybe bring us a Chicago Dog on your way through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

There was nothing wrong with this hotel other than the slow small elevators. We visited on a very busy fall long weekend and the elevators are just way too small for people hauling all their beach stuff (chairs, coolers, etc.) Also, there is NO view from the balcony if you don't have a gulf side room.

Room Tip: I would find a condo or hotel with balcony that had a good view of gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janaroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Janaroo22,

Thank you for offering your review of our Hotel. I know readers take cues from guests like you. So sorry you had an unpleasant experience with our elevators. This is probably our biggest complaint, but since we are located directly on the beach, guests love to "move out" to the beach. I have had our elevator maintenance company out to check the elevators, just to be sure everything is operating correctly.

Please e-mail me at gharris@hilton.com about your room view. We have beachfront rooms, pool view rooms (which also have a view of the Gulf), and sideview Kings. We have since moved some of our sideview King rooms to our pool view section. I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to our property and show our hospitality. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
460 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.1 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Address: 23092 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you walk into our lush lobby – decorated in shades of green, with breezy curtains and paper lanterns that look as if they could float into the sunny summer sky, you’ll discover why our guests return to Orange Beach again and again. Our focus is on your family, and giving you everything you need to create unforgettable memories, from our convenient setting to our luxurious pools and hot tubs, comfortable rooms and hospitable service 24 hours a day. We’re committed to making your Orange Beach vacation one to remember, so be sure to introduce yourself and ask for anything you need to make your stay better. Our spectacular views and convenient location near Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, Alabama, also make our beachfront hotel a perfect place to host weddings, reunions or corporate events. We offer equipment rentals and complimentary amenities to maximize your meeting. With hot, made-to-order breakfast and limited lunch from our Garden Grille Cafe, a lobby bar and poolside tiki bar, free Wi-Fi and 24-hour business and fitness centers – not to mention that view – there’s really no reason to leave our Orange Beach Alabama hotel. But if you decide to get out, we’re centrally located near dining, entertainment, shopping and watersports. You can try anything from parasailing to paddle boarding just outside our doors. We want to help you get to know Orange Beach and fall in love with this remarkable destination for business and leisure travel. So tell us what you like to do, and we’ll tell you where to find it. We’re located near major local attractions in Gulf Shores, Alabama and Orange Beach, Alabama including Tanger Outlet Mall, The Wharf at Orange Beach, Waterville USA, Gulf State Park and Gulf Islands National Seashore. A garden’s path can take you anywhere. Start here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach Beachfront Hotel Orange Beach
Hilton Orange Beach
Hilton Garden Beachfront Inn Orange Beach
Orange Beach Hotels
Orange Beach Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing