We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Little Place On The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
starchild101
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Decent Little Place On The Beach”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the last leg of our vacation. Overall the place is decent, with a few minor flaws.

The room is on the smaller side but is very modern. Bed was comfey (minus the pillows-see below on that), and the spacepod shower was pretty cool. Sevice was good, and breakfast was average fair but a little on the caotic side. Our room was an ocean view on the second floor, the view was decent, but lacked privacy, everyone walking up from the beach could look right into the room. THUS here is my tip, the oceanview IS worth it, BUT ask for a room on the third floor or higher for more privacy.

On the negative, the pool area is lame, very small and the pool chairs need replaced. The beach was just fine with us, and that is where we spent our time. One additional negative was the pillows. What is up with hotels using these tiny square pillows!! They suck!! PLEASE STOP WITH THE TINY SQUARE PILLOWS!!

Overall a decent place to stay, and the value is very good for the peak season in Gulf Shores.

Room Tip: If you book an ocean view ask for third floor or higher for more privacy and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starchild101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    171
    100
    48
    40
See reviews for
175
160
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was needing a few days at the beach and decided to stay here since most condos require a longer stay. The staff was more than nice in every way possible...friendly, prompt, attentive. Extremely courteous and accomadating. We had a couple problems in the room with the phone and the air, but the repairman met me in the hall and worked until the repairs were complete. The hotel has a beautiful view of the ocean just steps away with lovely sea oats blowing in the wind. The furnishings are updated with nice colors and attention to detail. The only reason I can not give this hotel 5 stars is because of the age of the hotel which lends itself to some issues. The rooms are quite small with very low ceilings. In the bathroom I could touch the ceiling with my hand and I am only 5' 4." The bathroom has a shower and a commode with a sliding pocket door. The vanity is in the room where the bed is. The door to the hallway had a huge crack under it so noise from the hall sounded as if it was in the room. We were a few doors down from the ice machine and every time some got ice it sounded like a crash. In addition, the hotel is located just feet away from a condo with very loud children romping and yelling. I was sitting on my 1st floor balcony which was quite spacious in the afternoon when these young teen boys, yelled "hey, lady, Mam, etc" for what seemed like an hour. If I looked up they ran where I couldn't see them as well. There were some other ladies in lounge chairs outside my balcony reading, they were so distrubed they left.
If all you need is a nice view of the beach and plan to be out of the room most of the time, this is an economical way to go, but if you want rest and relaxation, chose another place.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the ice machine, stairs, and outside doors. It's too noisy and the 1st f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slm1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

You pay for what you get, and if you want to stay on the Gulf but do not want to pay over $200 a night, this is the type of hotel you will probably want to book. The rooms are small and they only have a shower. We had an issue with maid service. We got back from the water park and had not yet had our room serviced. I went out into the hall and asked the maid if she could take our trash and give us fresh towels (we were going to be in for a few hours and knew they would pass by our room). She refused to give me any fresh towels. We had to call down to the front desk. They sent some up about forty minutes later. In contrast, the people working downstairs to keep the halls clean were very nice and friendly. If you are only staying a night or two, this is not a bad choice. I would not want to stay there for a week, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The only good part about this hotel is the view. Had to beg for towels, rooms are SUPER small, and rooms are dirty. Overall building is in disrepair, example cracked drywall. Pool is dirty, sand never washed off pool deck or boardwalk leading to beach. There is at least three inches of sand on boardwalk. Trash on pool deck for three days. It was never picked up. Way too expensive for what you get. Will NEVER stay there again!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shandidan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orange Beach hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

It's simple and average. Nothing is disappointing though. It's comfortable. I think the breakfast is cute. The location is fantastic. There's no bar. So no worries about drunks. The hall ways are noisy with kids though. I have 2 so it doesn't bother me.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn on June 10 - 12, 2013. We enjoyed our stay, and the beach was amazing. The hotel has a great view of the gulf even if you don't pay for a "gulf view". The balconys are very small, but just happy we had one, and we had a side view of the beach, and pool. We stayed in room 504, and it was very clean, but incredibly small. The rooms only have a shower which was a little difficult with small children, but we managed. The reason I didn't give the room 5 stars is bc of the fact there were no microwaves, or small refrigerator. The beds were two full size beds, and a little hard compared to my bed at home, but that is to be expected. We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threekids03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This as a very clean and courteous hotel especially for the price and not to mention wonderful location right on the beach! Lobby, halls and rooms were all very clean and staff was very helpful and nice. I would say the only complaints would be that there was not a fridge and/or microwave in the room (VERY INCONVENIENT especially when you are staying days with a family!!) they do have a microwave in the lobby, but it was a real pain going back and forth! The other complaint is the small room. We had a room with 2 double beds, but there was no space in between beds an one bed was very close to the bathroom...you could smell and hear everyone lol. and the bathroom had a sliding door that was kind've a pain!
The rooms were up to date and clean and the balcony was small, but served its purpose of just standing out there enjoying the ocean view. Not enough room for seats or anything but nice to stand. I think people expect way too much even when they pay so much less!! This hotel was very clean and friendly and for the price could not have had a better stay anywhere else! my family will without a doubt be back at least one more time this year and for years to come!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtmel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#16 of 20 in Orange Beach
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort

Property: Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Address: 25400 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Hotel Orange Beach
Sleep Inn Orange Beach Alabama
Orange Beach Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing