We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Barnard, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location for the price”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had beach front balcony rooms (because other rooms were sold out) and the view was incredible. Slept with the sliding door open to hear the waves. The staff was friendly and granted us a late check out (though we weren't lucky enough to get a early check in). Pool towels were plentiful and you didn't have to ask for them. The pool was nice and not too crowded. They had a nice shower/hose off area on the boardwalk between the hotel and the beach. They do have a breakfast buffet but it leaves a lot to be desired. For a family hotel I would expect more than cheerios and bran flakes for the cereal choices. They also had bread, muffins, pastries, yogurt, and sometimes oatmeal. It wasn't horrible but didn't have many choices. The rooms were clean and looked nice though small. We didn't have a bathtub just a large shower. There is a computer with internet access in the lobby. There is also a printer you can use (we printed some coupons!). Rooms have a small fridge thats great for leftovers but we had to use the microwave in the breakfast area (which a lot of people did!) We never had trouble finding parking. Though it is pricey, if we want a beachfront hotel we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for late checkout - They let us have it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gapulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    171
    101
    48
    40
See reviews for
176
160
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I read the negative reviews on TripAdvisor, but thought that the hotel must be at least average. Wrong!

Our shower would not work! The water actually trickled out and ran down the back of the wall. We had to collect water in cups to take a "shower," and there was no bathtub. Can you imagine staying at a beachfront hotel with 2 children and no way to really shower?

The hotel and our room was hot! Our room never got below 80 degrees, even at night. The filter was filthy, as was most of the property. The staff did provide a fan for us, but it only helped a certain amount.

There was a hole around the sprinkler in the bathroom. My wife was scared that a hidden camera might be lurking in the bathroom.

The toilet rocked from side to side.

I hope you don't want lights in or around the pool.

We were promised a beach view from the balcony. You almost need a scaffold to see around the building to get a tiny view of the beach.

Every complaint to staff was met with a canned response.

Please don't stay here! I didn't listen to the other reviews and my family paid the price. We are easy to please, but we demand a shower and an adequate A/C for nearly $200 a night.

Room Tip: Get a room on the East side of the building. It has much better beach views. Much Better since ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Traveler1million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orange Beach hotels

Biloxi, MS
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Spent 1 night and left. It is on the beach which is nice and management allowed us to use the facilities after we checked out at 11:00. But the room was tiny and so were the beds, you could feel the springs in the mattress, the drywall was peeling on the ceiling and the continental breakfast was minimal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vernon, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The staff when we arrived were very nice. The room was nice and it was clean. I cannot think of anything that was what I would call bad. I would definatley stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandT47265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in June and thought the hotel was very disappointing. It lacks basic amenities I didn't even check for before I booked because you would just expect a hotel to have them-- it doesn't even have a mini fridge or microwave. The hotel advertises that they offer free wifi, but it didn't work for us the entire time we stayed. It would disconnect after a couple of minutes, and when it did connect it was so slow you couldn't pull up a single page. In other words, there really was no wifi.

The king room was very small. There is no tub in the bathroom but there is a roomy shower. The bathroom has a sliding wood door that doesn't close all the way. The carpet throughout the hotel and especially in the room is absolutely filthy. We asked to be moved to another room, but there wasn't one available, so we had to buy Lysol and spray the carpet to kill the mildew smell. The air conditioning in the room barely cools. The balcony is a joke-- it's not even big enough to stand on. The privacy drapes have holes in them, there are brown stains on the mattress, the mattress isn't very comfortable, and the comforter on it stinks. The hotel is an older one and I think it needs a total remodel. We had to call maintenance to our room twice during a 4-day stay.

The elevators are slow and occasionally stop between floors; an old man got stuck in one during our stay. There are only 2 ice machines, which are always empty, and two soda machines in the whole building. The staff is made up of a bunch of rude people who look at you like you've grown an extra head if you ask anything of them. The housekeeping staff was good 3 of the 4 days, but the last day the woman didn't leave us fresh towels or even really clean the room. The pool is very small and crowded. The breakfast consists of coffee, cereal, bagels, muffins, and sweet pastries.

I have nothing really positive to say about this place other than it's cheap compared to other places on this strip, so if you're on a major budget but want to spend a weekend on the beach (and you don't mind putting up with some unpleasant qualities in your hotel) it might work for you. I wouldn't want to bring my kids here because the rooms are so small, the pool is small, and there's no tub. I would strongly recommend you look into one of the condos in the area for a longer family vacation.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AHMcWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Sleep Inn in Orange Beach, Al for our anniversary. We had a beachfront room on the second floor with a king sized bed. The room had a small balcony that we sat on in the evening to look out on the gulf. The room was exceptionally clean compared to other gulf beach front hotels we have stayed at in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, AL. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room, it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Hobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South U.S.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I've stayed here five times. It's definitely a "get what you pay for" hotel.It's on the beach, and rooms start at just over $100. You can't beat the price.

When I go down to the Gulf, I don't really stay in the hotel a lot, so I am not that picky. This hotel has always fitted our needs perfectly - easy beach access, free parking and wi-fi, free breakfast (and it's good, too), and a friendly staff. It isn't a palace, but it's clean enough - they could do a little better on cleaning the lobby/entrance area and the swimming pool. It's an older, no-frills hotel, but it does the job, especially for two people for just a weekend.

There is a shopping center and grocery store right across the street that is an easy walk - just watch for cars along the strip. There is also Hazel's Seafood Restaurant, also right across the street.

I've stayed throughout the spring and summer months, and never had any issues with parking at all. The balconies in the standard rooms are not sit-able and there isn't much of a view, but the ones on the ocean-side are sit-able and do have a gulf front view.

I'd recommend this for a weekend getaway, and to anyone who isn't picky and just wants a quick, fun trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetGirl505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#16 of 20 in Orange Beach
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort

Property: Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Address: 25400 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Hotel Orange Beach
Sleep Inn Orange Beach Alabama
Orange Beach Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing