We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, quiet weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We picked Island House for a weekend stay, mainly to avoid extra fees associated with condos since it was just the two of us. We were expecting to have the average hotel experience, but this one is a definite "will be back."

The hotel staff were very friendly. While we didn't have much interaction with the staff other than at check-in and check-out time, they were all very pleasant and seemed more than willing to help with any needs.

The on-site cafe had breakfast buffet on Sunday, with your standard fare. While we didn't try any of the room-service offerings, the prices looked very reasonable - even lower than we expected for a hotel of similar quality. To us, that is a value that will bring customers back.

There were a number of teenagers and parents in for the weekend for a soccer tournament, but they were never a distraction. The hotel was always quiet and clean. The pool was equally clean and quiet. If there was a hot-tub/spa on-site, we missed it. It would have been a nice extra, but its absence didn't affect us negatively.

We'll return to Island House again, and we'll certainly tell friends who are looking for a nice, quiet place to get away!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwhitfield71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 621 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

My wife and I spent 5 super days on the Gulf. Not much oil and the BEACH great. Crowds way off. Please GO and support the nice people on the gulf. The rates are very good and you will really enjoy the PEOPLE. The hotel was very nice and we really liked the Island House Grill. The staff was so GOOD and the was super. WE HAD A FUN TIME.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oakwoodmoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

A grand total of $220 was spent for 1 night in this place!! They really need to lower their summer rates about $120!!! It's not worth spending that much for an average hotel....especially when there is mold growing on the shower curtain!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keri1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

This hotel was very clean. The staff was pleasant. It is right on the beach so worth every penny. The view was excellent. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We spent the night here after driving all day to spend an evening at the Florabama. We were surprised at the lack of hotels in the area and really only had 4 to choose from . The other had awful reviews and then we found the Island House. It is twice the price of the other hotels, but the rooms are clean, large, and have a comfortable bed with nice linen. There were only a few cars in the parking lot and we never saw another guest, so it was nice and quiet and the sound of the gulf was refreshing. We would have loved to have slept in but we were denied a late check-out. If you do not mind the expense of a basic room then this is perfect and no worries like the other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I just spent 3 days and nights there celebrating his birthday. Our room was very spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the balcony facing the beach.
The food in the cafe was above par; we really enjoyed the Sunday brunch for $7. We will for sure be heading back down there in a few months and stay at The Island House again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Codys_mom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My 8 year old daughter and I took an impromptu trip to the beach the week before school started. We headed out on a Wednesday, with no lodging booked because everything on the beach was $300+. I told her that we'd find somewhere to stay. I hadn't been in Orange Beach in years, and hit all the chain hotels on the beach...rooms were higher than a condo there, and we didn't want to stay in a condo since it was the 2 of us. What a blessing to run across The Island House Hotel. I walked in and was immediately given a $149.00 quote, even without AAA. There was a "Chief of Police" event going on, so the parking lot was full of cruisers...making us feel very safe since we were travelling alone. The staff was friendly and helpful from beginning to end. They even have bellman to help with luggage. The hotel is a little old, but you can only tell by the coloration of the switchplates and bathtub. ALL the furnishings are brand spanking new. Beds and pillows were comfy, fee wi-fi. ALL rooms have a balcony overlooking the beach. The pool was fantastic and the beach was uncrowded in front of the Hotel. The ones to either side of it were packed because of the huge condos and their numerous guests. Next time, I am going to bring the whole family and book a penhouse corner suite with 2 bathrooms & a kitchenette, which is only slightly higher than the regular room. Great restaurants are just across the street at Zeke's Landing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheekMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#12 of 19 in Orange Beach
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: $113 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing