We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2010

This hotel was very clean. The staff was pleasant. It is right on the beach so worth every penny. The view was excellent. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 525 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

We spent the night here after driving all day to spend an evening at the Florabama. We were surprised at the lack of hotels in the area and really only had 4 to choose from . The other had awful reviews and then we found the Island House. It is twice the price of the other hotels, but the rooms are clean, large, and have a comfortable bed with nice linen. There were only a few cars in the parking lot and we never saw another guest, so it was nice and quiet and the sound of the gulf was refreshing. We would have loved to have slept in but we were denied a late check-out. If you do not mind the expense of a basic room then this is perfect and no worries like the other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I just spent 3 days and nights there celebrating his birthday. Our room was very spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the balcony facing the beach.
The food in the cafe was above par; we really enjoyed the Sunday brunch for $7. We will for sure be heading back down there in a few months and stay at The Island House again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Codys_mom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My 8 year old daughter and I took an impromptu trip to the beach the week before school started. We headed out on a Wednesday, with no lodging booked because everything on the beach was $300+. I told her that we'd find somewhere to stay. I hadn't been in Orange Beach in years, and hit all the chain hotels on the beach...rooms were higher than a condo there, and we didn't want to stay in a condo since it was the 2 of us. What a blessing to run across The Island House Hotel. I walked in and was immediately given a $149.00 quote, even without AAA. There was a "Chief of Police" event going on, so the parking lot was full of cruisers...making us feel very safe since we were travelling alone. The staff was friendly and helpful from beginning to end. They even have bellman to help with luggage. The hotel is a little old, but you can only tell by the coloration of the switchplates and bathtub. ALL the furnishings are brand spanking new. Beds and pillows were comfy, fee wi-fi. ALL rooms have a balcony overlooking the beach. The pool was fantastic and the beach was uncrowded in front of the Hotel. The ones to either side of it were packed because of the huge condos and their numerous guests. Next time, I am going to bring the whole family and book a penhouse corner suite with 2 bathrooms & a kitchenette, which is only slightly higher than the regular room. Great restaurants are just across the street at Zeke's Landing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheekMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at the Island house last weekend (7/24- 7/26/09). It was wonderful! I must admit I was disappointed in some of the previous negative reviews I read before we arrived but the hotel and it's staff proved them all totally wrong.
The pros:
our room was very comfortable and clean (we stayed in one of their penthouses, room 913), the food in the hotel cafe was actually really good (especially the breakfast- YUM!), housekeeping is way on top of their game (we never called once for towels, soap, etc), we really enjoyed hanging out with the bartender and her daughter (my side still hurts from laughing), the entire building is non-smoking (even on balconies), and the list goes on and on...
The cons:
We had to go home :(

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imma504gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We went to orange beach for a laid back and low key quick trip and that's just what we got. Orange beach is definetly lower key and less commercial than other places like Panama city beach....and that was fine by us. Although the hotel is an older establishment inside is newly renovated. We stayed in room 501 the executive suite . The carpet , furnishings, linens and paint were brand new. The hotel is very clean.. which is great because with this hotel being right on the beach andthe pool being right outside theback door, you would expect sand and water tracked everywhere through the lobby but that just wasn't the case. They kept everything spotless. The wait staff was friendly..especially in the on site resturant. Speaking of the resturant... the breakfast was good for the price. The coffee is Barnies which is a welcome change from the ususal royal cup brand that most resturants seem to serve. This hotel is right on the beach which is exactly what we were looking for. We had an awesome view of the pool and beach. The only downside is that for those with breathing issues, it's about 300 yard walk from the back of the hotel to the beach ... but other than that the beach was beautiful and well kept. There are beach chairs and umbrella's that you can rent at a daily hrly or multiday price. Austin the beach umbrella guy was awesome. He set the chairs and umbrellas up at 8am on the dot! He was so friendly and asked several times if I needed my umbrella moved to keep me shaded from the sun.

About the area...I think that the orange beach area is coming out of damaged from katrina. So a lot of thehotels and condos are newly renovated... surprisingly thought the are no chain resturants that we saw for miles in either direction...other than Waffle House. No Starbucks!! YIKES not even a McDonalds! I also didn't see any night life so for those looking to party...beware. A decent amont of local resturants to choose from but most of them are in Gulf Shore which is about 5 miles up the street. Not many places for breakfast. There is a nice new publix where you can get subs for lunch. Over all though the area is nice and a welcome change from hustle and bustle of PCB. The hotel was great...I would stay there again. The beach was beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shooz458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

The room was moldy and wet, but they refused to move us because they were overbooked. At 2:30AM we woke to the toilet overflowing uncontrollably and our room and suitcases were soaked. We asked to be moved and they told us it was not their responsibility that WE flooded their room. The security guard lied, claiming we were all "passed out" in the room. Well, at 2:30 AM, we were fast asleep after boating all day with our nieces and parents (who were celebrating a 50 yr anniversary). They did not move us to a sanitary room and blamed US for the plumbing mishap. It was incredible how abusive and rude the staff were. A terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadmoviemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 19 in Orange Beach
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: $102 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing