We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relaxing vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Island House Hotel to your Saves list
The Island House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26650 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Davenport
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is an older hotel but has been well maintained. Our room was large and very comfortable. The carpet needs to be stretched again in the rooms as our room (and others based on comments in the bar) have ripples in the carpet. The carpet is in good condition and does not need to be replaced. The hotel employees are very, very pleasant to deal with and very knowledgeable about stores and restaurants in the area. Their on sight restaurant was handy for breakfast, but it would be nicer if they had service for an outdoor seating area. The bar was nice, but wasn't opened the hours advertised. The sign said 11, but didn't actually open until 5. If it was opened earlier they could actually have outdoor service. Will return to this hotel as it was very nice and employees were very friendly. The best part of the hotel is the location. It is on the beach and all rooms overlook the gulf. It was in the restful area and it was very relaxing.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have balconies overlooking the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind review of our property! It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us! I am glad that you found our staff warm and welcoming and that you enjoyed our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    122
    46
    26
    17
See reviews for
97
100
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, very welcoming lobby, spacious, clean, comfy room with a great view of the Gulf!! This was our first stay and we loved the peaceful, tranquil atmosphere. We will definitely be back again to stay at the Island House when in Orange Beach.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kcneyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The staff was friendly, the view was outstanding, and the beach was great, but the room...not so much. This hotel is just one of many on the Orange Beach strip, and the lobby was attractive, but the hallway and room had an odor, the carpet felt wet, and despite the wonderful view and access to the beach, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher floors have an exceptional view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Park, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Everyone from the hotel staff are just great. We are warmly welcomed and made to feel valued as a guest. The restaurant serves delicious meals. If you have the extra money, opt for an executive room. It's well worth it. We look forward to our annual trek here each year.

Room Tip: Every room is non smoking so you won't have to deal with any lingering smells. All rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here this past weekend for an event weekend. The staff is quite hospitable. The facilities are nice and clean. All of the rooms have a nice view of the beach and are nicely furnished. Nice beachfront.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blue72jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We usually prefer Condo's when we go to the Beach. Our friends booked the Island House Hotel for us since they were staying there. As far as Hotels versus Condo's go...we were very pleased. Very large room with Mini Fridge and a Gulf View Balcony. Front desk clerks were very kind and helpful as to events in the area. We would stay there in the Off Season again. Prices for the rooms in Prime Season were as much as the Condo we usually stay at and would prefer the other location.

Room Tip: We had a room called Executive Suite. It was at the end of the hall with views from 3 sides of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTK1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

No amenities, breakfast extra, needed a "porter" to assist you with luggage cart to your room as they wouldn't let cart out of their sight. No micro-wave or refrigerator. In room coffee (none in lobby) was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank triman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Beach
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#8 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
#4 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.8 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#11 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Property: The Island House Hotel
Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing