We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was convenient for our overnight stay.. There was no fridge or microwave in the room. Buffet breakfast was rather pricey. Bedding was very clean and bed comfortable. Bathroom clean as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlainjaneAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    150
    58
    32
    19
See reviews for
137
141
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here for my son's baseball tournament. The hotel was in a good location but my family and I will not be staying here ever again. The first turn off was how the hotel immediately charged me for my room. I feel like their service lacks because they have already collected their money. The second problem i had was my television remote batteries were out and they sent security to replace them, which would not have been a bad thing had he not come completely in the room and I was already dressed for bed. The third thing was how housekeeping did not thoroughly clean the rooms. The bathtub was full of sand everyday. The worst part of our stay was the day we left. We realized my son's $200 headphones were missing. He did not use the headphones the entire trip and they never left the hotel room. We called the hotel to report the missing item and it took them three days to contact me back. They swore no one took them but housekeeping were the only ones who had access to my room and our things. I asked to speak to a manager and I am still waiting on the call. Stealing must happen regularly at this hotel because they felt the need to put up a sign on the back of the door saying they are not responsible for lost or stolen items. If you visit this hotel please keep your valuables in the safe!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dgilbert20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at The Island House. They have a great front desk staff and rooms are always nice and overlook the ocean, however, this time there was a huge stain on our bedcovers - not quite sure what it was...The hotel is within walking distance to a few restaurants and Zeke's Marina and the beach is never too crowded since the hotel is not extremely large. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay on one of the upper floors so you view of the ocean will not be obstructed by the palm trees lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanukvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd time back! I love it there. It makes me feel like I'm at the beach. I'm extremely cautious with hotels! I always read a review, and that's why I'm giving this place a 5! Thank you to the nice Bell Hop, he even offered to fill out cooler up with ice! We checked out and went to the beach our last day, and that's when he offered to take our cooler inside for us for ice! He was so nice. We love the beach area because unlike the Condo's it is not overcrowded. Everyone had space! We had our own sand chair so we were right in the edge if the water. The Island House is walking distance from The Shrimp Basket. We went there 3 out of 4 nights. We love it there and hope to go back before Winter!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonardHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Island House Hotel in July and had an awesome vacation. Front desk staff, bell hop, housekeeping, restuarant staff, absolutely everyone, was super friendly and helpful in every way. Holly, a waitress in the restuarant, even took the time to remember our grandkids names and made them feel special every time we saw her. The hotel, and our room, was clean and we were even offered extra towels by housekeeping one rainy afternoon. Even our balcony was clean! Our beds and pillows were super comfortable and the hotel has in-room safes. This is a family friendly hotel but also good for couples. The bartender makes some wonderfully delicious adult fruity drinks which are great for sipping by the pool. We loved this place and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagshaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been going to the Island House for at least 15 years! It is a great size(not too big - not too small) with every room having an ocean front view! It is very family oriented but also romantic for couples.The staff is amazing! And don't forget to have breakfast in the lovely restaurant! We wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else on the Alabama Coast!

Room Tip: If you can get an upper floor, the view is simply amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Island House is a great hotel for the price. Located directly on the beach, it has the lowest price of any surrounding hotels. All of the rooms have an ocean view. We stayed on an upper view and had a beautiful unobstructed view. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The bed could have been a bit more comfortable, but I have slept on much worse. The hotel employees are very friendly and very helpful. I would happily stay here again. My only wish is that the on-site restaurant would stay open longer. It closes at 4pm and it would be very nice if it was open for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#16 of 20 in Orange Beach
112 reviews
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing