We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just returned from our beach vacation June 21, 2013! I picked the Island House because the rate was better than the hotels I had stayed at before. Last year the Hampton was $169 and this year it was $289, too much. The Island House had $199 for two queen beds! The hotels rooms all face the beach and beach front is important to my family. We like to be able to see the ocean and be able to walk down to the beach from our hotel and having a pool and a bathroom that is not public. This hotel is older but still is in good shape and being maintain very well. The staff was very nice and we did use the porter for our luggage and he was so nice and very accommodating! Our room was clean and that is important to my family! I did have an issue with the toliet on one day but the maintenance came and fixed it quickly! We ate breakfast in the hotel cafe three mornings, because the buffet was very reasonably priced and the wait staff was so friendly and by the third day, remembered my family and what we preferred to order!! We enjoyed the beach and the pool each day! All was so nice and not crowded! We had no issues at all and we will return to this hotel again!! Thanks for a happy, stress free vacation!!

Room Tip: We were on 6th floor and our room seemed to have new carpet! Our room was clean and beds were comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 597 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We first stayed at the Island House in 1998. It seemed more luxurious and definitely more reasonably priced back then. We returned in August 2012, now with children. It's pricier and starting to show a little age but it's still nice. We love that there's a great view from all rooms. We love the beaches of Orange Beach and the location of the Hotel. Everything is clean and in order. The hotel has sentimental value to us so we will keep returning:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doodledew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I are just now finishing a 3 night stay at this hotel and sadly we will not be coming back. At first glance this looks to be a very nice beach front hotel. Mind you my husband and I are not real particular as we stay in budget hotels all of the time. We realize that you get what you pay for. At Island House Hotel you pay high dollar but what you get is much less than expected. If you are planning a stay at this hotel I will offer you the following to consider:

1) Luggage carts are not available unless you call their "porter" therby making you feel obliged to tip for something your quite willing to do yourself. Most hotels and condos provide luggage carts for their guest to use.

2) All room air conditioners vent onto the balcony. These are the old noisy type and blow out hot air. If you want to sit on the balcony and enjoy the sound of the surf without hot air blasting in your face, then you will have to turn the room air conditioner off. Then your room gets hot and your spouse is not a happy camper.

2a)If you decide to listen to the surf and turn the air conditioner off, slump way down in your chair so you can see an unobstructed view, don't be surprise if karaoke singers start singing down at the pool, right under your balcony. And yes they are provided with high powered microphones that blast everywhere. So good luck with the balcony.

3)The view from the balcony is quite sweeping and beautiful...as long as you are standing up. If you sit down then there is a quite wide balcony rail that obstructs the view.

4)You will get real room keys. If you lose your key or misplace it they will charge you $5.00.

5)There are no microwaves in any of the rooms with the exception of penthouse suites. There are refrigerators. This seems to be some cheesy attempt to get folks to eat in their restaurant. Most hotels offer microwaves in the rooms.

6)Sheets do not fit the bed. We had queen beds with double bed sheets.

7)Hallways are not air conditioned.

8)There are sickly sweet flowers kept at the front desk at all times (this is petty I know but I get migraines)

9)Ice machine on our floor (7th) was out the entire stay.

10)Front dest tonight could not guarantee a late check out request as morning staff would have to decide due to room cleaning schedules. It is noted that the parking lot has been empty for the past 3 days. I have never had a hotel decline my request for a late checkout (and we have stayed at many the past 50 years) including a overrun Days Inn.

So if you don't mind any of these issues and you have a spare $250.00 a night, this might be just the place for you to stay.

Room Tip: The best rooms are located at other properties where air conditioners do not vent onto the balconys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NightOwl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hope this answers some of your questions and concerns about the hotel.

Question or concern #1 Porter Carts- We offer porter service to all of our guest. It is an amenity of the hotel. Our guest are not obligated to tip. Since we have only a few carts and 161 Rooms it would be hard for us to give all carts out and then they are not returned in a timely fashion. So we offer porter services to all guest.

Question or Concern # 2 Balcony and Karoke Singers- We are in the process of replacing all air conditioners and balcony doors. The Karoke Singers were part of a group that has been staying with us at the hotel. We did not provide speakers or the karoke machine. We did tell them they had to finish by 9pm the nights that they were singing.

Question or Concern #3 Balcony Railing- Due to rules and regulations by the State of Alabama, the balcony railings must be at a specific height. These are not our regulations.

Question or Concern #4 Room Key- We do have room keys. IF you lost the key, it costs us about $35 to replace the entire recore of the room. We only charge our guest $5 per key if they lose the key.

Question or Concern #5 Microwaves and Refrigerators- By no means are we trying to lure guests into the cafe. When the hotel was built the owners decided not to have microwaves or refrigerators in the room to avoid possible food odors.

Question or Concern #6 All of our sheets fit the bed either King or Queen . Maybe this one was just overlooked by the housekeeping department. The room has been checked and the sheets do fit the bed.

Question or Concern #7 Air Conditon Hallways- Our hallways are air-conditioned. The week that this guest was staying, we were experiencing very high temperatures.

Question or Concern #8 Flowers- We believe that these add a nice touch to our Hotel. We have new flowers delivered each week to the hotel. This is a personal opinion.

Question or Concern #9 Ice Machine- No one brought the ice machine to our attention the entire time of their stay. Since receiving this review we have checked the machine and it is working.

Question or Concern #10 Late Checkout- lat Checkouts are granted based on occupancy. We were sold out of all rooms the night that they wanted to checkout late. We do have to have all rooms cleaned and available by 3pm.

Rate

Our rate is very competitive with all hotels in the area and we keep the same rate all season. Except for 4th of July and Memorial Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

All rooms have a great view. We tried to go in February but had a death in our family and had to cancel in route. We were not charged. Big rooms, comfortable beds And right on the beach! Perfect place for a couple to getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Beach front location perfect. Reception staff extremely friendly. Huge room. Two sinks and the thing that always makes a hotel for me is . . . . . . . a shower cap! Bath robes too. Couldn't really fault it but smokers beware - no smoking on the balcony - just a small downside for me.

Room Tip: Ask for an end one as they appear to have a side view of the beach too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

We are extremely happy that you had a great time on your stay at The Island House. We can not wait to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Although its not the newest, the service has been spectacular. We wanted a quiet weekend away and this fit the bill. The atmosphere was very calm with no loud parties etc. even on Memorial Day Weekend. I've been there, done that and glad to be passed it :). Lots of families. Very clean and the bedding is great with lots of pillows.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKirby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Service is outstanding! Staff is one of the best I've seen. Great views from every room. Now the bad. Noise in the hall sounds like it is in your room. When the adjacent room's shower drains, it sounds like the water is pouring into your room. Air conditioning is old and noisy. I was booked with a business group, so the rate was good or I would have checked out after night 1.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffg6136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#12 of 19 in Orange Beach
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: $108 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing