We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
$266
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$251
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach(Orange Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$225
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$212
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf(Orange Beach)(Great Value!)
$186
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach(Orange Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pelican Pointe(Orange Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveler rating
341
204
74
39
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
341
204
74
39
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms facethe penthouseshrimp basketmini fridgegreat viewprivate balconyvery nice hotelnice poolbreakfast buffetocean viewcoffee makergulf of mexicogreat place to stayoff seasonflora bamaspring breakbeach
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 689 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Currently staying at the hotel and I must say I am not that impressed! Nice location, nice beach, nice friendly staff BUT room was dirty (wear socks or house shoes because floor is greasy feeling and just nasty), can tell this place is older, watch out because you can lock yourself out of the room on the balcony very easy, NO refrigerator, NO microwave, NO nothing just a place to sleep. For the price I guess I just expected alittle more than this, will not be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mprdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is an older establishment yet has many amenities like newer ones. All rooms face the gulf. There is a small cafe on the ground floor that serves breakfast and lunch. We had breakfast there one day and received a hearty amount of food for a good price. They also have a buffet on weekends and a bar on the premises.

Most rooms are the same in regards to style and space. This trip we opted for a penthouse suite on the tenth floor. They have a lot more space with 2 seperate rooms and 2 bathrooms. All the suites on the 10th floor cost more yet I believe are well worth it when compared to other hotels that may offer penthouse suites.

There is a nice size pool and ample lounger space around the pool as well. The white sand beach is the best around and offers countless hours to enjoy the sun and water.

The staff is always helpful with info about the surrounding areas including restaurants and pubs / bars. Its location is close to many good restaurants and Gulf Shores as well.

Room Tip: The top floor has all penthouse suites with large rooms and 2 bathrooms. All rooms face the gulf.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sea4metoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived at hotel today. Very friendly staff so far but the horror as begun while unpacking my room. I have found mildew and hair on both bed linens! Old cigarette butt on floor! Dirt on tile! The door to the balcony is rusted out at the bottom allowing a nice hole from inside to outside! I did not expect much but I definitely expected clean. We've been staying in orange beach for years but only in condos. Pretty sure we won't make this mistake again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heatherNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived in Orange Beach on the last Saturday in July and had reservations at the Sleep Inn on the beach. It turned out to be a dump so we were referred to the Island House Hotel by someone at the Hampton where we tried to move. We drove on to Island House and the two guys working the desk were extremely accommodating! We got a room here for barely any more than the rate would have been at the awful place. Our room was dead center on the 8th floor and was awesome! My first impression as we entered the room was wow, it looked like an old-world Caribbean resort. Absolutely beautiful furniture and very clean. Every room faces the Gulf and has a balcony. Blackout drapes and a great a/c. Our room happened to be an accessible room so the bathroom was large, but the sink area was small with not much counter space (my only complaint). It was great to walk across the boardwalk to the private beach--never crowded. Beach loungers with umbrellas are available for rental and the guys were always helpful and ready to rearrange the umbrella as the sunlight shifted. Close to restaurants and stores but away from the crowded areas. Oh, and did I mention that they have porters to help with your bags? What a wonderful service! When we come back to Orange Beach, this is definitely where we will be staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a great view!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bondgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The Island House more than met our expectations, location, room, friendly and welcoming staff, live island music on Saturday, great food and reasonably priced! The weather was beautify, not always Guarenteed this time of year the pool and the beach very nice. As with any property there are very minor maintenance opportunities around the pool area. The beach is always the place to be, and Orange Beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews