We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived in Orange Beach on the last Saturday in July and had reservations at the Sleep Inn on the beach. It turned out to be a dump so we were referred to the Island House Hotel by someone at the Hampton where we tried to move. We drove on to Island House and the two guys working the desk were extremely accommodating! We got a room here for barely any more than the rate would have been at the awful place. Our room was dead center on the 8th floor and was awesome! My first impression as we entered the room was wow, it looked like an old-world Caribbean resort. Absolutely beautiful furniture and very clean. Every room faces the Gulf and has a balcony. Blackout drapes and a great a/c. Our room happened to be an accessible room so the bathroom was large, but the sink area was small with not much counter space (my only complaint). It was great to walk across the boardwalk to the private beach--never crowded. Beach loungers with umbrellas are available for rental and the guys were always helpful and ready to rearrange the umbrella as the sunlight shifted. Close to restaurants and stores but away from the crowded areas. Oh, and did I mention that they have porters to help with your bags? What a wonderful service! When we come back to Orange Beach, this is definitely where we will be staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bondgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 583 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The Island House more than met our expectations, location, room, friendly and welcoming staff, live island music on Saturday, great food and reasonably priced! The weather was beautify, not always Guarenteed this time of year the pool and the beach very nice. As with any property there are very minor maintenance opportunities around the pool area. The beach is always the place to be, and Orange Beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here near the end of June. We only stayed 3 days and wish we had time to stay longer. Beautiful views, comfortable beds, miles and miles of great white sand beach how can you go wrong. Oh and reasonbly priced for being right on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweaker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just got home from staying five nights at the Island House so the details are fresh in my mind. When we first arrived we had no problems checking in and the price we were to pay was the price that we were quoted. The room was very clean and nothing was out of place or needed attention. We arrived late at night so we dropped our bags and crawled into bed.

The next morning while my wife and child went to the pool I got up and took a shower and noticed a high pitch noise coming from the shower head so I informed the front desk of the noise and it was taken care of before lunch.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant downstairs almost every morning because they have a breakfast buffet and my daughter loved it. The staff in the restaurant were always very friendly and found out one of the waitresses actually has a condo in our home town.

My family and I were very pleased with the facilities and will be staying here again in the future.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank pittpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a week long trip in Orange Beach. The condo we wanted wasn't available for the first night of our trip so we stayed here since it was the closest hotel to the condo. We had a standard King room on the third floor near the eastern end. Booking over the phone was quick and easy and the person with whom I spoke was friendly. Check in was also quick and painless and the two front desk staff were nice. The room was spacious and had the king bed with nightstands on either side, a small writing desk with chair, an occaisional chair, and a coffee station stand. The bathroom showed signs of aging, but I liked that there were two sections of it; one with tub/shower, toilet, and sink, then another sink area separated by a door. The tub drained ridiculously slow. I showered that night and after waiting probably 10 minutes or more, my husband decided to wait til the morning to take his as the tub was still full of water. The bed and bedding were comfortable. Every room does have a balcony but they are pretty narrow so as one reviewer mentioned, you can't sit and see over the railing since you're so close to it. But the view when standing is exceptional. Since we only stayed one night I really didn't notice any serious issues. If this hotel were located anywhere else that didn't sit directly on the beach, I would consider it around a $99-$139/night hotel; nice, but nothing to write home about. But ON the beach that price doesn't really exist so $199 isn't so bad.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LSUstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel was nice, especially for the price...and being on the beach! You can't beat it! 5 girls, one room - Staff was very friendly. Pool was clean - it was full! There wasn't any sand in the hotel - They kept the floors & mats clean! There was a band that played on Saturday night out by the pool. Checking in & out was a breeze. Hotel was on the strip. The Florida line was less than 5 miles away (we took a short trip to pensacola, while Orange Beach was getting a little rain) We didn't use the spa, gym or the restaurant at the hotel. The rooms were pretty clean. The bathroom had some work that needed to be done(under the sink & behind the toilet), but it didn't bother us. The balcony's faced the water (which was really nice!)
5 women & no complaints from us - you have to admit, it's rare, so take our advice & stay here - it's worth it!

Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AprilR937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Thank you so much for making our 5 anniversary a wonderful trip. Your hotel is a jewel. We can not wait to bring our children back next summer for an entire week. The staff greets you as soon as you walk in the door and referred to us by name the entire trip. I will be sending all of my friends your way. Once again thanks for making our trip relaxing and enjoyable! See you soon!

Room Tip: Try and get the executive a little bit larger room and it has view from all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celeste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#12 of 19 in Orange Beach
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: $103 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing