We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place - can't wait to return”
Review of Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caribe Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed in a private 3bed/3bath unit in far east building, facing the gulf. It was a family gathering of 6 adults and 1 child. The units are huge, roomy and comfortable and very nicely decorated with stainless appliances and granite counters. The balcony runs the width of the unit, and ours overlooked the gulf and the lazy river. The resort, made up of 3-14 story buildings, has and indoor & outdoor pool for each building with plenty of slides, etc. The 1000 ft. Lazy river was awesome! The exercise rooms looked large and well outfitted, even though we didn't use them, and there are 9 hot tubs around the property. We used the common outdoor grills and the Bocce Ball court. The only drawback is getting to the beach, across the highway. You need to drive over or take the shuttle. The beach is beautiful and pristine, with the most amazing shell hunting! We're already planning a trip back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJandDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 298 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

My husband & I recently spent a couple of nights here with friends. This resort has it all. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious. The pools, hot tubs, workout room, saunas were very nice. I would highly recommend The Caribe Resort as a place to spend a week, a month, forever! Seriously, it was everything you could possibly want and then some!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed at the Caribe for 8 nights.

We use to stay at Saphire Beach, but Ivan took it out, we have RV'd in the area for the last several years but due to fuel prices, we wanted to try the caribe.

We stayed in unit C915, a ninth floor unit with three bedrooms and a media room that can sleep two additional people with fold out chairs.

Upon arrival after a 14 hour drive, we arrived at 8:30pm and found our 3 keys did not open the unit door. Guest services was closed so we had to have security let us in with their master key.

Kind of a bad start... Went to guest services the next morning and they recoded the keys. Still found the locks hit and miss, kind of a frustrating thing !

The unit was partially cleaned, floors were dirty, counters not wiped. Called the Spectrum vacations office and she promptly handled the issue.

The fridge had no working lights either.

The unit was furnished well, had most things you needed, but lacked things like paper/pencil, large skillet/griddle, tiny TV's in the 2 of three bedrooms, Master and living room and media room had nice 42in LCd's though.

The unit itself was very nice and what you would expect from a million dollar condo, but it looked like they skimped to save a few dollars here and there on the furnishings.

I am not trying to be picky, but at $2600 for 8 nights, the things mentioned above were annoying.

The media room chairs were about useless for teens sleeping, very thin matress on them, we had brought a blow up bed and they used that.

Beach access: If you want to walk out the door and hop on the beach, this place is not the place to stay !!!!!

A shuttle runs on demand until 5pm, it drives under the bridge and drops you off at a state park board walk. Be prepared for some major walking from there, especially if you want chairs, cooler, etc. A real PITA.

We found it much faster to drive under the bridge, take the outer road back up to the main road and turn right and go 100 yards and park at the other state park entrance.

A lot less walking, but still work dragging coolers, chairs, etc.

Now, after all this complaining, I still give this place top honors.. The resort itself and the view from our unit was totally awesome as it faced the gulf and you could see the inland waterways from the balcony. The master bedroom, 2nd bedroom and living room had spectacilar views as well as the balcony. We watched dolphin play in the gulf each morning !

The grounds were super clean as well as the buildings, multiple pools/water slides/hottubs !!

Minus the few nagging issues, if you don't mind some effort getting on the beach, this place deserves a look... We would stay here again for sure.

Also, they resort offers a game room. What they don't tell you is they want $10 a day per kid to use it.

Let's see, 10 days, 6 kids, that would have been $600 for our stay ! Are they crazy ? They should look at maybe issuing an arm band and maybe paying $10 per kids per stay or something !!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 5campers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

This resort is by far one of the BEST we have stayed at!!
The condos are great they are very clean and the property is very well maintained!! we always saw people cleaning and taking care of things the staff was excellent and very helpful!
The property is across the street from the beach but they do have a trolley service that will take you there!
Our kids didnt care they loved playing in the pools and going down the slides at the pools and better yet we loved the lazy river it was great and very relaxing! We cant wait to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bullx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at Caribe the week following July 4th and LOVED IT!
We have nothing negative to say about the resort. Everything was just perfect. We stayed in D0509 and it was wonderful... we hated to leave it. My two children (ages 4 and 9) loved the pools and waterslides and the lazy river was so relaxing. Once it got dark out we moved to the heated indoor pool. I didn't know how we would like not being directly on the beach but it was not a problem. When we got ready to go to the beach we called the trolly and it meet us in the parking garage. When we got ready to go back to the resort we waited for the trolly to come back around (which only took a few minutes). Caribe is the only place we will be staying on our beach vacations from now on!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cap1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

My husband, 11 month old, and in-laws all stayed at Caribe June 2007 and loved it! We booked online with [--]. Our condo was 2 bedroom, 2 bath, which was almost cheap being split between 2 families. Especially for such a nice place. It was a great deal.

The decorating in the condo was great. The kitchen had granite countertops and high end stainless steel appliances. The rooms were comfortable and we had a great view of the bay.

Although we prefer to stay on the beach, we chose Caribe because we knew we'd be cooped up in the condo during nap time. After staying there though, we'll never go anywhere else in Gulf Shores. The pools and slides are great. Our 11 month old loved the wading pool on the upper level. We brought his float and he loved the lazy river too.

Great, great place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Great views, great security and away from all the commotion. I have stayed here several times and I am always impressed with the rooms. They all have a great view of the bay, ocean or Perdido pass. There is a great pool. Rates are usually reasonable and you don't have to worry about out of control parties that keep you awake. You also have access to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShutUpandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Resort

Address: 28103 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Price Range: $169 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribe Resort vacation rentals in Orange Beach, Alabama are truly unlike any other. Located on over 30 pristine acres of a peninsula, Caribe Resort features the most amenities of any lodging on the island. Among Caribe Resort's luxury accommodations you will find an incredible array of pool space, along with stunning vistas of beach front sunsets. Our comforts are designed with fun in mind: over 40,000 sq. feet of pools, lazy river, tennis courts, saunas and steam rooms, game room, private beach cart service, five star restaurant, and much more. If you are looking for a unique vacation idea, our condo rentals provide a ticket to the most relaxing, picturesque, amenities-packed resort Gulf Shores and Orange Beach have to offer. Serving as both a family friendly hotel and honeymoon spot, Caribe Resort will provide an unforgettable vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Resort Orange Beach
Caribe Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing