We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things to consider”
Review of Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caribe Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Caribe Resort. Over all, it is a wonderful place to stay, but there are some considerations. We stayed on the third floor overlooking the bay and pools. We had a gorgeous corner unit, with the most wonderful long balcony ever! We had a four bedroom condo and there were ten of us. The "con" about the condo itself was that one of the bedrooms had no bathroom OR even a closet. The other three bedrooms each had a private bathroom. The bathroom for this room was located right next to this room but was only a half bath. Therefore, the occupants of this "bedroom" had to shower in someone else's bathroom. This was very poor planning and extremely inconvenient. Don't know if this is the situation in all the units but was in ours.. We loved the pools, but the lazy river was somewhat disappointing, and this feature was one of the main reasons we chose the Caribe. The "current" was almost non-existent, and it was shallow.
The walk to the beach is excessively long, even after being dropped off by the shuttle. It was easier to take our car to the public beach, where the walk from car to sand was short.
Having no lifeguards was a bit unsettling. One night there were grown young men using the slides. (They were too old and large to be using the slides) They formed a chain, which was clearly stated NOT to do, and when they went down the slides, the whole structure shook. That was scary, and I would not let my grandchildren continue using it, until they were gone. A lifeguard would not have let this continue.
Over all it was a pleasant experience, and if easy beach access is not important, then I would certainly recommend the Caribe. Our condo was beautifully and elegantly decorated, and it was spacious, other than the fourth very small bedroom with no bath. Our children enjoyed the wonderful pools, which are beautiful and fun. It was easy to grill right below our rooms. The elevators were fast and worked well. How to get where is a little confusing when you first get there, but soon is learned. It was be nice if, when you arrive, there was a map of the property telling you how to get around and also what all the features are and where located.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny and the views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelBug562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 298 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros-
Absolutely gorgeous property and rooms. We stayed in b616 with great view of bay and distant view of beach. room was spotless(perfectly spotless), beautiful kitchen, lots of space throughout , large jetted tub and walkin shower, plenty of storage areas.Great pools and slides! Large balcony. Very kid-friendly with all resort has on property.

Cons-property is very large..little help with advising all that is offered, which is why i give service a low rating. We didn't even use beach shuttle..once they drop you off it is a LONG walk to actual beach(wasn't a problem for my teen, but my 5 yr old struggled..had to carry her plus our stuff which was a pain) we just drove over and used the public parking area.(which is still same walking distance to beach)Lazy river is very shallow with very little current. Lobby closes early..then you can't get anything needed for outdoor activities(ping pong, clubs, etc). if they were available, we were not aware. Pools are at different buildings, and it's a good stroll from one to the other. Again, not a problem if you have older kids..just a lot of work for the smaller ones. Also, our room was right above pool, which wasn't a problem for noise if we were inside(couldn't hear a thing)..but if on balcony all we could hear was pool area.

Just too far from beach with little ones..if beach access was easier we would stay here again..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicameaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 4 bedroom unit and it was very clean and super nice and also HUGE, plenty of room for 12 people to stay in, bigger than a lot if 4 bedroom houses, we loved the swimming pools they have , only reason I didn't give it all great ratings is because it is across the street from beach but the do offer a team ride to the beach

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a beautiful resort with multiple pools, water slides, lazy river and we had a beautiful view of the bay from C1202. We had a three bedroom unit (plus media room) for our family of 10. Driving a short distance to the beach was no problem as our four preschool age travelers wanted to spend the majority of the time at the wonderful pools at Caribe. The resort offers a shuttle to the beach but driving is the better choice.

This was by far the nicest condo we've stayed in which left me surprised about several things. There are three buildings at Caribe with the front desk being located in the first building. Check in was very quick and we were given a map with our designated parking place highlighted but given no explanation. We spent probably 30 minutes trying to locate our space (parking is under the buildings and nos. are hard to find in many cases) before returning to ask for help. They seemed very surprised that we found parking confusing but you will find other people here that said the same. We were also surprised that we were not given more information about the availability of amenities and resources we might seek out during our stay. Most surprising of all was that we could only access assistance during business hours from the front desk in the first building. Once, I got locked out of my condo by accident and was unable to even find a phone in any of the hallways of the building we were staying in. Fortunately the building was well maintained and we did not need maintenance while we were staying there. However, having no support in our building and none at all for anyone after 5:00 p.m. would be a consideration for future potential stays at Caribe.

Upon checking in we found a very spacious condo with high quality appliances, furnishings, and a beautiful view of the bay. The unit was clean with the exception of the need for some dusting that had been missed. Oddly enough, none of the mattress pads and sheets fit the beds properly and were constantly popping off the corners of the beds. Apparently the wrong sizes had been purchased and the problem never corrected. The kitchen had the minimal set of cookware but was sufficient. There were only two teaspoons in the kitchen which was a challenge considering we had four preschoolers who eat everything with teaspoons. There also was only two dish towels and a single pot holder. The dishes and glassware were sufficient. There is only enough dishwasher and laundry detergent for one load and one roll of toilet paper in each bathroom which is fairly normal in other condos we've stayed in.

Overall this was an amazing resort and fit our purposes quite well. Be sure you are aware that you will not be directly on the beach but the beach is easily accessible either by shuttle or driving a very short distance. The large variety of pools and water activities are wonderful for children and the buildings are well maintained. Be sure to take adequate supplies and do some research regarding what is available there as there is minimal information provided.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking to be in an upper floor with a bay view. You'll avoid any pool noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spike09_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This would be a wonderful place if they would pay attention to detail. My family of 5 stayed in a penthouse condo for 1 week. The 2 br condo was very nice and beautifully decorated. It has a great amount of space, too. Here are the details that the Caribe misses: dirty bathroom rugs, dirty blanket on bed, toilet in master bath is very hard to flush, matress pad and sheets entirely too small for king bed, so everytime you sit on the bed the sheets come off, no broom in condo, no facial tissues provided, slippery floors ( would be anxious for my aging parents to walk on b/c all 3 of my kids fell near the elevators in the parking deck), both saunas "out of order", large puddles of dirty/standing water outside of all pools, indoor pools smell so chlorinated that it took my breath away, no lifeguards or any staff regularly rounding at pools so you have to put up with a lot of unnecessary behavior from kids and a lot of "visitors" at pools (there is not proof of paying guests at pool). The assigned parking space for this condo is so small that once our car was in the space we weren't able to open our door ( brick wall on either side ). My husband had to crawl over from the passenger side to enter car. The highlight of the condo was the view (bay and Gulf). At times the view was hard to enjoy due to noise from pools. It sounded like we were at an amusement park. My kids did enjoy the pools, slides and lazy river.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from pools if you want to enjoy a quiet view. I would imagine most room have a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikedandsheilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This rental was perfect. We took our daughter and 4 other children. It was clean and accessible to all of the hotel amenities. It had everything you would need for a home away from home. The linens were great and the view was immaculate. Ignore the reviews saying the hotel was loud. It was not. They are doing construction, but this is my number one choice if traveling with children. We had access to multiple pools, jacuzzi tubs, slides, lazy pools, restaurants and it was conveniently located less than 5 minutes from Wal-mart and other restaurants. I will definitely stay here again if we bring children to Orange Beach.

I only had 2 problems, there was an older gentlemen at the front desk that needed to be retrained. He was rude to me and other guests. Secondly, this hotel is not business friendly. As a businessman, my business doesn't stop even on vacation. I went to print some docs at the hotel and I had to send my documents to frontdesk@caribe.com for them to print. If my documents were highly sensitive, then everyone who has access to that email would be able to view it. Keep this in mind for all those traveling on business and need a business center.

The only thing it was missing was a check out check list.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodericklrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family and I stayed in a three bedroom overall ok found the guest rooms small and beds uncomfortably also don't let them say it is close to beach because it is not the do have a shuttle service but once they drop you off you have to walk a long ways to the gulf if you want true beach access found resort very clean and well maintained .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Resort

Address: 28103 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Price Range: $175 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribe Resort vacation rentals in Orange Beach, Alabama are truly unlike any other. Located on over 30 pristine acres of a peninsula, Caribe Resort features the most amenities of any lodging on the island. Among Caribe Resort's luxury accommodations you will find an incredible array of pool space, along with stunning vistas of beach front sunsets. Our comforts are designed with fun in mind: over 40,000 sq. feet of pools, lazy river, tennis courts, saunas and steam rooms, game room, private beach cart service, five star restaurant, and much more. If you are looking for a unique vacation idea, our condo rentals provide a ticket to the most relaxing, picturesque, amenities-packed resort Gulf Shores and Orange Beach have to offer. Serving as both a family friendly hotel and honeymoon spot, Caribe Resort will provide an unforgettable vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Resort Orange Beach
Caribe Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing