We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort has really degraded”
Review of Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Resort has really degraded”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have gone to the Caribe several times over the past few years and unfortunately each year we have noticed a decline in the maintenance of the facility. This past time was the worst. The pools were so dirty, I would not let my children swim in a couple of them. The lazy river was just nasty and had debris floating everywhere. Several of the common areas also had a bizarre odor. This was our last trip there. For the price of this facility, you would expect it would be better taken care of. We actually spoke with management (something we usually would not do) and they were very complacent about the issues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wyatt12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeCares, Manager at Caribe Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
It is the goal of Caribe Resort to fulfill the high expectations of every guests, but at times situations arise which cannot be averted. Unfortunately I feel this is one of those cases.

I don't know who you spoke with as "manager" but I can assure you that EVERY guests comment is reviewed in a serious manner and we exhaust every measure feasible to satisfy our guests. We politely dispute the review you have submitted and hope that you will contact our General Manager about your concerns.

Caribe Resort has won several guests award this past year for customer service and we would like the opportunity to show you how we earned those compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    61
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
191
14
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We always stay at Caribe when traveling to the Gulf. The pools are amazing! Fun for kids of all ages. The kids didn't want to go to the beach, they wanted to stay at the many pools at Caribe. My favorite is the 1-3 foot pool for my 3 year old. My 11 year old loves the slides. The room was top notch! Very clean and decorative. Definitely felt like home away from home. Can't wait to go back. Great location too!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsReviewQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Check I was great! We were so surprise how large the two bedroom condo is and up to date appliances and decor! We are here for a cod. So the rate is awesome for what we have. There is a lazy river to float down and lots of pools. Love staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandys49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Caribe was originally designed for boat owners with a huge dock. Due to structural problems/passing inspections most of the docks have never been opened.This changed approx. two years ago.So whats the problem? Well, only one dock is open, and if you go through FRBO their is a over $72.00 per NIGHT fee.My boat is only a 25ft. center console at that. This is absurd most nicer resorts in this area charge no fees.I will say our condo was very nice,and the grounds are well kept. If you are a boater beware!

P.S. If you rent through the Caribe it's still over $50.00 per night CRAZY!

Room Tip: Bay side views way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just came back from the Caribe resort. The grounds crew keep the resort very clean. Our toddler had a great time in several of the pools and water slides. The equipment in the workout rooms was well maintained and had enough to get in a complete workout.

Only disadvantage as others have said is the location from the beach. Our toddler was not interested in the beach so this was not an issue for us. However, I would recommend driving to the beach as opposed to going from the shuttle. It is a long walk and the beach is close to the inlet and not as nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N0work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I are in the middle of a 5-night stay at the Caribe in Orange Beach. We are so pleased with this choice. We are so comfortable, and the owners did a good job of planning our unit. A little more cookware might be nice, though. We're in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath penthouse condo with views of both the Gulf and the intracoastal waterway. So far, we've enjoyed an indoor pool, a hot tub, and an amazing outdoor pool, and this is just Day One! We're considering bringing our grandchildren back in the future. There is so much for families with children to enjoy. It's quiet. The parking is adequate. There are so many amenities, we could LIVE here for weeks and weeks. I highly recommend the Caribe, especially if you have children who prefer the pool to the actual sand and surf.

Room Tip: I would request Buildings C or D for families with children because of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This place is almost perfect. It's not on the beach. The trolley did not seem to have a set schedule or pick up location, and once you get dropped off, you still have a far walk to the beach. This may keep me from coming back with my young children. The restaurant can be a bit of a walk if you are in building D.
With that being said, this place is great. Gorgeous condos, buildings, pools, and common areas. Great views either of the Gulf or the sound. This place is a condominium complex. Some people seem to be confused by the word "resort" in the name. Be prepared and bring a few necessities.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metropop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Turquoise Place
Turquoise Place
#1 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Resort

Property: Caribe Resort
Address: 28103 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribe Resort vacation rentals in Orange Beach, Alabama are truly unlike any other. Located on over 30 pristine acres of a peninsula, Caribe Resort features the most amenities of any lodging on the island. Among Caribe Resort's luxury accommodations you will find an incredible array of pool space, along with stunning vistas of beach front sunsets. Our comforts are designed with fun in mind: over 40,000 sq. feet of pools, lazy river, tennis courts, saunas and steam rooms, game room, private beach cart service, five star restaurant, and much more. If you are looking for a unique vacation idea, our condo rentals provide a ticket to the most relaxing, picturesque, amenities-packed resort Gulf Shores and Orange Beach have to offer. Serving as both a family friendly hotel and honeymoon spot, Caribe Resort will provide an unforgettable vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Vacatia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Resort Orange Beach
Caribe Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing