We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families!”
Review of Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caribe Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The resort is in very good shape. 2 Very large outdoor pools with waterslides. A simple but fun lazy river, a large sun deck style pool, and several indoor pools with small slides.
If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere with children...this is the place. We stayed in Room 710C. Great views and very clean!
However...If you are a MUST STAY ON THE BEACH PERSON...This is not for you! You take a trolley (runs very frequently) to a beach area about 300 yds away. The closest beach is under the bridge and actually is on the Bay. If you want to be on the beach on the Gulf..expect to get off the trolley and then walk another 100 + yards to that beach. Do NOT bring a lot of stuff.....You will be tired!!! The beach is Beautiful.
I felt that my kids were safe at all times. Good Food Nearby!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LSULA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

Perfect place for the family to stay. they have a lazy river, several pools that are indoor and outdoor, 3 water slides, hot tubs, sauna's etc... We never had to leave the resort. Our kids really enjoyed the slides and pools.
The rooms were very spacious. It's a little expensive but if you can get another family to go with you, then the cost is affordable. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the C or D towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dad_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our extended family stayed at the Caribe Resort the last weekend in June 2011. The resort amenities were extremely well maintained. Our suite looked great and had room to spare. The kids loved the lazy river and twisty slides at the pools. Shuttle to the beach area is a plus. We also had brunch at the Cobal Restaurant. The buffet was good, but I think I will order off the menu next time. We defiantly would recommend this resort if you are thinking about a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was the second time we have stayed at the Caribe. We loved it the first time we were there so we decided after six years to go back. It was just as wonderful as we remember it. The first time we stayed we stayed in D but couldn't get a room there so we stayed in B. Our room overlooked the pool, gulf and bay. It was great. The room did show some wear but we didn't stay inside that much. All the pools were great!!! But for me I loved the pool outside the condo. It was just the right size and shaded part of the day so we didn't have to be in the sun all day. Of coarse, our daughter and friend loved wandering to all the pools. They had a blast. We also ate at the Cobalt. It had great food and service. We went early so we didn't have to wait. All in all this is a great place to stay. If you want to go to the beach, there is a shuttle. We didn't use it but we saw others using it. You really don't have to go anywhere else if you want to rest and sit by the pool. Our daughter and friend did not want to leave. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volleyballmom34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here in early June in a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo that we rented directly with the owner, thus saving the cost of the fees tacked on when you rent through a management company.

1) The condo - we were on the 10th floor facing the bay in Building C which is the middle building making it easier to get to the main pools. Excellent furnishings, clean, spacious, great balcony, great views. Only downside is one of the toilets had low water pressure so we chose not to use it.
2) We went to the beach twice, each time using the trolley that picked us up in front of the building and dropping us off at the beach. No need to pack the car, park the car, and dragging everything over to the boardwalk to get to the beach. We were pleasantly surprised that we were the only ones using the trolley. We didn't have to wait in line, we were the only ones on the trolley. Maybe people don't go to the beach because they're happy with the pools? Maybe they chose to drive themselves?
3) Because we rented the condo directly from the owners, we didn't have to go to the front desk to register. However, we didn't know our way around the resort (three buildings, numerous pools, numerous parking decks) and got lost getting to our condo. Would have been nice to have received a property map from the guard gate! We did get a map from the front desk, and there was a laminated map in the condo itself.
4) The pools and water slides were great! It wasn't crowded when we were there, or maybe it just didn't seem crowded because there were so many pools and hot tubs. In any case, we were able to find deck chairs and tables when we needed them. We had plenty of room to swim and play in the pools.
5) We cooked in and only ate out twice - at Lambert's Cafe on the way in, and Lulu's on the way out.

We really liked the Caribe resort. If you can rent directly from the owner, it will save you a lot of money. We found ours via VRBO.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Linh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our one yr old loved as much as our 8 yr old and mommy and daddy were pleased as well! Great pools, zero entry, slides, lazy river, putt putt! Trolley to beach was helpful! The price was affordable. The only thing that would make it better if it were directly on the beach!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya-n-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at the Caribe for our family vacation. We rented directly from an individual owner through VRBO. We got a three bedroom condo for the price of a two bedroom had we rented directly through the resort. The unit was lovely and very comfortable for a family of five. My kids had a great time at the three outdoor pools and lazy river. The pools were busy but never felt overly crowded. I really can't believe that previous reviewers were so put out that Caribe is not right on the beach. Considering that the resort is on Perdido Key there are water views from both sides - the bay and the gulf. We had a direct bay view which I think is the preferable view. The units have amazing water views and the beach is literally across the street. It couldn't have been more convenient to keep all our beach gear in the trunk and hop in the car any time we felt like going to the beach. Our unit was in building C (the middle building) on the tenth floor. A higher unit is preferable to ensure more privacy and avoid the noise from the pool. I will say that the Caribe Staff can be hard to find. The so called deli at the pool is a joke and very experience. I ordered a pizza and they pulled out a microwave pizza. Your better off to go eat in your unit. We never ate at the restaurant on site. Orange Beach was a nice town and the Florida border is only a five minute drive away. We enjoyed eating at the Sunset Grill in Perdido Key Florida and Calypso Jacks in Orange Beach. We also did a Dolphin Cruise with The Cold Mil Dolphin Cruise - an unforgettable experience! This is a great resort for families! We couldn't have asked for a better beach experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TulsaTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Turquoise Place
Turquoise Place
#1 of 18 in Orange Beach
299 reviews
1.4 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Resort

Address: 28103 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Price Range: $251 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribe Resort vacation rentals in Orange Beach, Alabama are truly unlike any other. Located on over 30 pristine acres of a peninsula, Caribe Resort features the most amenities of any lodging on the island. Among Caribe Resort's luxury accommodations you will find an incredible array of pool space, along with stunning vistas of beach front sunsets. Our comforts are designed with fun in mind: over 40,000 sq. feet of pools, lazy river, tennis courts, saunas and steam rooms, game room, private beach cart service, five star restaurant, and much more. If you are looking for a unique vacation idea, our condo rentals provide a ticket to the most relaxing, picturesque, amenities-packed resort Gulf Shores and Orange Beach have to offer. Serving as both a family friendly hotel and honeymoon spot, Caribe Resort will provide an unforgettable vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Resort Orange Beach
Caribe Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing