We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix on the Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenix on the Bay
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Six adults and an infant shared a 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit on the top floor of the east side of the complex. The unit was more than enough room for all of us. My only complaint about the unit was that the kitchen was completely disorganized. Parts to the blender were found in different cabinets, Utensils were scattered throughout the drawers, and a bottle of opened powerade were found in one cabinet. The view was wonderful! We enjoyed eating our meals out on the balcony, especially breakfast. The pools and lady river were nice, but a little overcrowded in the afternoon. We would stay here again and are recommending this resort for people who don't care to stay on the beach!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brit1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    47
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
155
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in a 3BR/3BA unit overlooking Terry Cove and the Lazy River. We booked through Brett Robinson Vacation Rentals. My family was very pleased with the on site amenities and the close proximity to everything else the area has to offer. The only way it could have been better is to have all of those amenities on the beach side. But for the money, that's not possible. We loved the seclusion. We will be back at POB next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameyroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in unit 1125 which is a private unit. It is a 2 bedroom, the layout was nice and roomy enough for the 6 people we had. The lazy river is the key attraction here. There is a decent gym and multiple pools. The biggest downfall is the lack of beach access, since this condo isn't on the beach. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been going to Phoenix on the Bay for many years now and enjoy it very much every time we go.. Always sad to leave. Great security, great view, quiet in the rooms. The staff keep the grounds very clean. Love the Lazy River, my daughter always loves the water slide and the security staff keeps a good eye on it. Also enjoy going out on the pier, even one morning we a had dolphin swim right by the pier! We book through Brett Robinson Vacations and it is always a pleasure and easy to reserve the unit. We love it and we will go back!!

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view of the lazy river area & bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cemlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fantastic place! Relaxed and friendly. Quiet neighbors. Very security conscious. Must pass by security to get in and out. The guards are friendly and helpful. Frigid air conditioning is nice in the Alabama summer heat.

We thought we would miss being on the gulf beach side of things but this wasn't the case for us. The pools and the lazy river have no sand- which we like. There is a private boat dock and ramp for those who bring their boats or jet skis and a place to park your trailers too.

Self Parking is in a high rise type garage and is covered.

During our stay their were no loud drunk party types. No loud teens in the wee hours.

Room Tip: We were in condo 1422 and rented through Brett/Robinson. I would recommend this condo. There were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Flyn2fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We love the lavzy river, have our jet ski here, can fish off of the pier,,,,,, what more can you want. The staff acts like you are family! Love it! Condo was beautiful! Staff Acted like family! we love them!

Room Tip: We love all of it! Nothing is Bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julienorris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The experience from calling to book our trip to checking out was very positive. We rented a one bedroom 1 1/2 bath - Unit 1121. We had young and old with us and all enjoyed. The lazy river and the slide were the selling points for us. My 78 year old mother even got in the lazy river and enjoyed every minute of it. This is a great spot for families because of the gated children's pool and splash pad. This was our first experience with renting a condo and with Brett/Robinson Vacations. It was such a positive one that we have already started looking at our calendars to plan our next getaway. When we asked my mother if she wanted to go to a different condo, she stated "NO - I loved exactly where we where!"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
1.9 mi away
Turquoise Place
Turquoise Place
#1 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Perdido Beach Resort
Perdido Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
4.8 mi away
Phoenix West II
Phoenix West II
#1 of 41 in Orange Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
4.2 mi away
Phoenix West
Phoenix West
#2 of 41 in Orange Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix on the Bay

Property: Phoenix on the Bay
Address: 27580 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-4067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix on the Bay is a hidden gem in the beautiful back-bay playground of Orange Beach. Many who book here come back year after year to enjoy the long, winding lazy river that takes nearly 6 minutes to float around. Spacious 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom units sleep 4, 6 and 8 people, respectfully, and up to 10 or 12 in some units. Each unit has floor-to-ceiling windows and a private balcony with bay views. A full-time, on-site staff is ready to assist Brett/Robinson renters. Other amenities include an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, a kiddie pool with slide, lighted tennis courts, hot tubs and a sauna, a fitness room, barbecue grills at the bay's edge, boat slips, a putting green, and on-site security. Alabama's sugar-white beaches and shopping destinations are easily within a 10-minute drive. Great restaurants are within biking distance. (Courtesy note: Parking is limited. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two- or three-bedroom unit will be issued a maximum of two car passes.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenix On The Bay Hotel Orange Beach
Phoenix Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing