We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at POB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix on the Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenix on the Bay
Save
You added Phoenix on the Bay to your Saves list
27580 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Hot Deals
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Another Great Stay at POB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed our fifth stay at POB this year;however, it was cut short three days due to Tropical Storm Isaac. Brett Robinson Vacations worked with us and gave us a refund for our remaining days. While we would have loved to stay our entire time, we enjoyed the four nights and five days we were there. The only negative I can give for POB is the weekend crowds make the lazy river really full. I don't mind that so much as their loud music. It's unfortunate that some people believe everyone wants to listen to their music which isn't always age appropriate for the little ones. By Sunday, they had left and we were back to the POB we love. We will continue to make this our annual vacation spot. It is our home away from home.

Room Tip: We love to stay on the Eastern side of the complex (units 23-31 on each floor). The view walking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    29
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
99
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just stayed 5 days at Phoenix on the Bay in August. We rented from Brett/Robinson Vacations and booking and check-in were easy. In fact check-in/out is done right on the property. Yes it is on the bay and not gulf front but is has plenty of fun stuff to do and driving to any attractions is not far. The lazy river, kiddie pool and water slide were a hit with the family. The river is pretty swift compared to others in the area I have stayed at and it was fun. There is also an indoor pool and fountains to make a wish at. You can fish off the docks and grill there too. We had a 2/2 unit on the 4th floor looking out onto the bay. You can see the bridge and just beyond the gulf. The rain kept the pool area closed at times but at least the security here wants to keep you safe. The unit was right next to the elevator but we never heard any noise in fact the place was pretty quiet except around the pool area. I will definitely be looking at this place again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crwchief6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

First time here. Loved it. Two children had a blast in lazy river, water slide, kiddie pool. Also fished off docks, indoor pool, grills. Location is excellent for eating out-close to several great seafood restaurants...Harbour grille-delicious, Flippers, Tacky jacks, diamond jims-great steaks. Beach close by. Room was not well cleaned, but very nice service came to reclean quickly. Helpful front desk. Thanks Brett Robinson for a great time!!!
Amy Snyder

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aasnyder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've been coming to Phoenix on the Bay with my family since it first opened many years ago. It was such a great place to bring the kids. This will sadly be our last year. For the past several years it has been taken over by rowdy, obnoxious, drinking-all-day-long, large groups of partyers. They hang in one spot on the lazy river usually with their music playing so loudly that you can hear it in the entire complex. It's hard to get around them while your trying to float in the lazy river and they throw their empties all in the bushes and side of the pool. Just a side note: I never see them get out to go to the bathrooms after all that drinking. YUK!! You cannot even enjoy sitting on your balcony to watch the view because their offensive and not family friendly music and yelling is so loud it's impossible. Security is a joke. They act scared of these people and refuse to do much of anything. It's just ridiculous that these types of people ruin vacations of others who paid the same to stay there and have a good time. I wanted a vacation to get away and relax, not to have a nonstop party atmostphere.

Another issue we encountered: last year when we brought our waverunners with us we were told by security that we should have made reservations for a parking spot for our trailer. So this year when we made reservations in advance I requested a reservation for parking a trailer. We were told on the phone that they don't accept reservations and that it's a "first come first served" parking situation. I was a little ticked about that but we decided that we would be there as soon as check out time for our arrival day was to ensure that we'd have a spot and be the first ones there. We did and were told there were no spots. For the next several days there were no spots and they could not tell us if there would be any openings. Didn't make sense that they wouldn't have a record of who was checking out with trailers. The truth finally came out that there were not going to be any openings because the owners had them all and renters were just out of luck. They don't advertise this bit of information for fear of losing money obviously. We would have definitely gone somewhere else had we known ahead of time. We also had our trailer hitch stolen in the parking garage during our stay.

This place has definitely gone down hill and it's a shame. We used to enjoy this place so much. Never again though will we stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SunnySarah287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family and I have gone to the beach EVERY Fourth of July since I was a kid. I visited a friend who owns a condo there and my kids fell in love. It iis perfect for my two small kids because of the small walk-in pool and the water slide. The boys love the lazy river and of course, Mom and Dad do too! We had a beautiful view and our condo was so comfortable. We are already making plans to go back before school starts. We found our new regular thing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My kids never said the famous words "I'm bored" during our stay at Phoenix on the Bay! There are so many things to do. Tennis, basketball, mini golf, hot tub, indoor pool, 3 outdoor pools, water slide, and a lazy river. We were very pleased with our stay. We enjoyed having a boat slip on site to park our boat during our stay. We would most definitely return to stay at Phoenix on the Bay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Cajunqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife, son, his buddy, and I just came home from this property where we spent Spring Break. Brett Robinson was gracious to let us extend our stay an extra day at a deeply discounted rate.
This is an upscale property, with lush landscaping, and tons of amenities. We rented a 2 bdr., 2 bath unit on the 5th floor. The unit was beautifully decorated and fully equipped kitchen. The beds were very comfortable, and there was plenty of room for the four of us. The boys, both 11, loved the pools, hot tubs, and the water slide. There is a marina on site, and one of our friends who was also there brought his boat and jet ski which he could tie up . There are grills down by the water by the marina, and a fish cleaning station is also on site. This is a great value for a very family-friendly resort conveniently located on Terry Cove in Orange Beach just off the Foley beach Express. We booked online, and it was a simple process. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms face the pools and bay. Parking is very convenient. I prefer being up a few floors to le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
#4 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#8 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Turquoise Place
Turquoise Place
#1 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix on the Bay

Property: Phoenix on the Bay
Address: 27580 Canal Rd, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix on the Bay is a hidden gem in the beautiful back-bay playground of Orange Beach. Many who book here come back year after year to enjoy the long, winding lazy river that takes nearly 6 minutes to float around. Spacious 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom units sleep 4, 6 and 8 people, respectfully, and up to 10 or 12 in some units. Each unit has floor-to-ceiling windows and a private balcony with bay views. A full-time, on-site staff is ready to assist Brett/Robinson renters. Other amenities include an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, a kiddie pool with slide, lighted tennis courts, hot tubs and a sauna, a fitness room, barbecue grills at the bay's edge, boat slips, a putting green, and on-site security. Alabama's sugar-white beaches and shopping destinations are easily within a 10-minute drive. Great restaurants are within biking distance. (Courtesy note: Parking is limited. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two- or three-bedroom unit will be issued a maximum of two car passes.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenix On The Bay Hotel Orange Beach
Phoenix Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing