We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and service!!”
Review of Captain Kendall's Gulf Gate - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Captain Kendall's Gulf Gate
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food and service!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There were 7 people in my party and everyone liked their meal. Meal choices included steak and seafood. Their fried crab claws were excellent even though I prefer sautéd. Their vegetables were fresh, not canned or frozen. Their bushwackers were great!! The atmosphere was casual laid back and they offer live music. It is a great restaurant that's well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarac1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food, Service, & Fun!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Don't let the simple exterior of this restaurant fool you. Gulf Gate is a fabulous restaurant with exceptional food, service, and value. We came with 67 of our friends (44 of them disabled) and the manager and staff treated us like royalty. Also, they have great live music and we all danced up a storm. If you are looking for a GREAT place to eat and party, this is it. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top Notch Steaks at a great price”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you love steak and sea food you will love Gulf Gate. They also provide a bread basket that is to die for. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They also have drink specials and yummy desserts, along with live music. Go, you will not regret the trip or the cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 9zoomzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ended up here on accident and I'm glad we did! Food was great. Service was friendly and prompt. Tried the gumbo, Mahi Mahi and shrimp. All wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EKM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

They have wonderful steaks! Great environment! The management was very nice and so was the servers. Gaybriel was our server!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vinobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Kendall's Gulf Gate also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing