We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second trip was just as great as the first!”
Review of The Gulf

The Gulf
Ranked #13 of 135 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
kentucky
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Second trip was just as great as the first!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We visited The Gulf on our second spring break trip last week.We had a Gulf Burger and the chicken salad sandwich and split an order of fries.The food is delicious and very fresh tasting.The restaurant is all outside and the scenery is wonderful with boats heading in and out of the pass.The weather was perfect,not to hot,not to cool.It is not a dollar menu kind of place and is a little expensive but it's a vacation spot so that can be expected.I would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbluefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    419
    141
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful views!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very pleasant place for a drink. The hamburgers were excellent. Very comfortable outdoor seating, you can sit and watch the boats.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Alabama
Level Contributor
208 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The restaurant is a great concept. The various types of seating is quite inviting and relaxing. Even though there were a lot of people, we never felt lke we were on top of others. The grouper sandwich was quite good. The only complaint is that the food and drinks are quite expensive, even considering we're at the beach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwb1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual Dining with Amazing View”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I will have to say this was my favorite eatery in Orange Beach. Atmosphere was amazing and the food was delish! All seating is outdoors so a jacket is a good idea depending on when you visit. This is a walk up and order your food establishment where then a server delivers. Blueberry mojito was amazing and they were accommodating in grilling my grouper instead of serving fried for my sandwich. Menu does change, but you can check out the varieties on their Facebook page.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jolie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It lived up to the reviews”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Did not know what to expect because what you see from the outside is not what you get inside. Very limited menu but very good food. The Hamburger was very good and the side salad lood like a small bush. Both were enough for my wife and I to split. If you have kids or grandkids this would be a great place for them because it has a great play area. The entire restaurant is outside and covers a large area so if you don't drink you could seat far away from the bar area. I was very impressed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey_slept_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing