We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired of Walking the Beach? Hit these Trails!”

Hugh S. Branyon Backcountry Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Tired of Walking the Beach? Hit these Trails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Well-suited for cycling and walking. Nicely maintained. A real public service to residents and visitors.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Galooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    62
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“What's a Trip to the Beach without Fresh Air & Exercise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pleasant walk amid woods, dunes and lakes. We walked but a good choice for bicyclists looking for a pleasant ride. We walked about 4 miles round trip. There are several trails so mix and match for variety and the optimal distance for you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Galooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent flat trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is our favorite place to walk. The beaches are beautiful, but if you want or need to walk on a flat surface, this is great. We try to walk almost every day. The distances are clearly marked in quarter mile incredments starting at Hwy 161. We haven't started at the other entrances though we know where they are. Parking is tight as there are only about 25 spaces, but the trail itself is perfect for us. Bathroom facilities are 1.5 miles along the trail.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best bicycle trails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We love to go here and never miss the trails when in the area. The common areas are always clean as well as inviting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Renea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best addition yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

These trails are wonderful for walking, bicycles and even for a picnic. The park service continues to add new trails for the perfect nature adventure. Birds, baby alligators, beautiful natural areas embraced by trees and wide asphalt trails.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Renea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugh S. Branyon Backcountry Trail also viewed

 

Been to Hugh S. Branyon Backcountry Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing