We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Reds”

Gulf Shores Steamer
Ranked #15 of 144 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Leeds, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Royal Reds”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

If you are looking for good Royal Reds, this is the place, they are cooked to perfection, a little messy, but that is just part of it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    189
    84
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Good Food at a Fair Price”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Don't go here for ambiance, but if you want a lot of good seafood at a great price it's definitely the place to go. Whether it's steamed shrimp, lobster tail, baked or raw oysters, the portions are large and the taste as good as you'll find on the Alabama coast. You can sit outside on large picnic tables and come in swimsuits. The service is great! I've been coming to the area for 40+ years and have tried them all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent food. Need larger servingfor price.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We ate lunch here while on vacation. The dining area is nice with an immediate access to the docking area for charter and personal watercraft. Ordered 1/2 pound of reds and 3 clusters of crab legs. The cost for 2 strawberry daiquiris, 1 pina colada, 1 coke and the aforementioned meal totalled $72 and some change plus tip. Not enough food for 2 adults and a small child.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnguitarguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
“Great Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Party of six. The food was great and the service was better. This was our first time and there is no doubt we will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayoublondie
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The BEST”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We always order a big platter to share. It's always perfect. Yes, the shrimp have heads. You get much more flavor that way. Yes, they are a little difficult to peal. The restaurant has no control over this. It's a sign of freshness. If you are a wuss, don't order them. They are most definitely worth the work! The crab and oysters are fantastic, as well. The tea is also wonderful. This is our favorite meal when we visit Gulf Shores. It's worth the drive to Orange Beach. The Steamer that is in Gulf Shores is not as good as this one. I highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bayoublondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Shores Steamer also viewed

 

Been to Gulf Shores Steamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing