We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love them legs!”

Gulf Shores Steamer
Ranked #14 of 144 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
gueydan, louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“love them legs!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

we always try to sit in the patio area if the weather permits when we visit the steamer. the inside seems a little dark for our liking, but that may be just us.................
the food is excellent; the crab and or fish dishes are very tasty, although being from cajun country, we found the gumbo lacking. the crab legs are the best anywhere we have tried in the area. the prices are comparable to the amount and quality. we have paid more at other places and gotten less in quality and quantity. the steamer is one of the things we look forward to year after year

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank debbieguidry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    190
    84
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly but overpriced and iffy quality.”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Chose to eat here based on trip advisor reviews. We were very disappointed in the portion sizes, the quality of the food and the slow service.

We ordered the kids grilled chicken fingers. When it arrived, it was some sort of baked breaded nuggets, not grilled according to waitress. The stuffed shrimp was seventeen dollars and came with only 6 medium sized shrimp over a bed of rice, half cob of corn and 2 med new potatoes. We did complain about the portion size and the manager brought us 4 much larger stiffed shrimp. The dish was a little salty and not all the shrimp were cleaned. The tuna sandwich was very good, but when I subbed new potatoes for chips, they gave 2 very small ones. On top of that, one of two was rotten. The manager again came and replaced them.

Overall, a poor experience. For nearly fifty dollars, I felt ripped off compared to tasty meals we enjoyed at Cosmos and Tacky Jacks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rockinagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed in one of our past favorite places”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Got two orders of steamed royal reds to go. I liked them my husband not so much. They did not give us anything but the shrimp no corn,slaw etc. Come on guys we want to like you but it's getting hard to.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dadeville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Healthy options”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The steamed seafood was great. However, the side dishes had no flavor at all. Service okay.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Martha Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Give the reds a break.!”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The service was good in the evening the blackened Grouper great but the Reds were disappointing. It was the same from 20 years ago. Expensive and so so. The service in the day time is a little slack. Reds were mushy, over done. Still serving half a cob with the meal. The original owner has passed. Sad, she was a real character. This was a real place.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gulf Shores Steamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing