We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, awful, gross”

Live Bait Food & Spirits
Ranked #42 of 142 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible, awful, gross”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

All adjectives to describe their food. When in Orange Beach, there are much better places to dine... Don't waste your money!

Helpful?
Thank mrsgriff51411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    110
    116
    40
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have eaten here before and always been OK, we had the lunch special prime rib, it was cooked the way we liked it and very good, our waiter was friendly and took good care of us. The salad was fresh and baked potato was mealy and not reheated as at some places. Will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 350Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Live Bait is a good option when in Orange Beach”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We didn't know it until we went inside but Live Bait just opened after being closed for 2 weeks. Everything was sparkling clean and the floors were freshly varnished. Our waiter was extremely friendly and the service was excellent. I've attached photos of some of the entrees that our group of four ordered. The raw oysters were larger than in other restaurants we had visited while on vacation in Perdido Key. The crab and shrimp platter was excellent. Our friends ordered the tuna and they like it rather raw (in case you are wondering about the photo :-). We were actually surprised about the quality of the food because we didn't expect it to be as good as it turned out to be. We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToriBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely STAY AWAY!!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We visited on Dec 30th with a party of five. We should have known something was wrong when there were only 15 or so cars there at 630pm for dinner . Once inside we found a hostess that was obviously bothered the we were there. Once we were finally seated (10mins with almost no one else in the restaurant we got the menus thrown at us and then our server came to the table. She was very nice and apologized for the wait (and the hostess). She told us they lost one if there best managers and most of the staff left with him. We decided to stay and try the food and what we found was very overpriced bar food. Almost 100.00 for the table of 5. Fried food tasted like they hadn't changed the fryer oil in weeks and the hamburger steak we ordered medium well came out almost burnt. I don't often leave critical reviews but I need to warn everyone on Trip Advisor if this place . There are plenty of other places you can visit down here that will give you the quality food and service that one would expect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rickinharbourtown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Fried Shrimp”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have eaten at Live Bait at least one time whenever we visit Orange Beach. Over the past 15+'years there have been many changes, most not for the better. The fish poboy has always been a favorite. However, yesterday's sandwich was a big disappointment. The size of the fish filet was minuscule compared to the huge hoagie bun and the bacon was not fresh. The shrimp poboy was still delicious. Our son had the fried shrimp platter, which was good, but no thought was put into the presentation of the food. Last of all, the server was ok, but she seemed preoccupied with something other than serving customers. I sure hope they make an effort to fix some of these problems or they won't be around next year when we visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Live Bait Food & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Live Bait Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing