We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Coastal Arts Center of Orange Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nestled among stately oaks on the shores of Wolf Bay, this campus features Alabama's only daily, open-access hot glass blowing facility where you can watch glass artists make beautiful hand blown works. Also available is The Clay Studio where you can work with our resident clay artist. Classes are also available in both studios. Our art gallery featuring gulf coast artists is currently housed in a small cottage, but our new waterfront gallery will be open in summer 2016. The bay front grounds are perfect for weddings and special events. The Art Center is also home for the highly regarded annual fine arts show "Festival of Art" of Orange Beach held the second weekend of March.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great fun! Adam was fantastic in showing my kids and me how to blow glass. Very interesting and informative. Highlight of our trip. Came home with some great blown glass souvenirs too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank amykwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Beach, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glass, Art, the View and so much more”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

All the Art, including the Glass and Clay studios are all one of a kind pieces. The art is all affordabe. The friendly staff greet you by telling you the history of the place. I just love the Orange Beach Art Center

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Art”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stopped in at the Art Center when visiting the Waterfront Park and enjoyed the arts on display. The Center is in an old house overlooking the bay. You can even make your own glass flowers if you choose. Very glad we stopped in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cda618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great outing for sixth graders!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Thanks to Adam - our Master Glass Blower who helped each of our 6th graders make their own glass piece and a special memory or two! Our kids each picked what they wanted to make (ornaments, glass flowers, or paperweights) and the options ranged in price from $20-35. The end results were priceless! Adam is a wonderful instructor for kids, patient and enthusiastic and super encouraging. And thanks to Abby who helped facilitate our session. We took a large group of 12 kids with parents in tow and everyone was entertained and intrigued by the beautiful art pieces our kiddos turned out! Orange Beach Art Center is a real gem which made our class trip to Gulf Shores even more special!

Happy Parent - Arlington, Texas

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJWmommyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful exhibits”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The new glass blowing building is a great way to watch the technique. Lots of interesting art displayed at a beautiful setting on th bay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Arts Center of Orange Beach also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Arts Center of Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing