We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escapes! to the Shores”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Escapes! to the Shores
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have had very pleasant experiences. Escapes! has excellent views with clean and roomy condos. It is like being at home. The grilling area and outdoor pool are very nice as well. I would love a room on the East side again.

Room Tip: Corner suites such as room 1201 have an amazing view with an unbelievable balcony. You will get many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stclabough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Many people will really like this condo. We have mixed feelings. This was our first time to the Alabama coast. The beach itself has beautiful white sugar sand. Condos are packed together far too tightly; but the beach is wide enough that it does not feel too crowded. But apart from some nice landscaping out front, there are no grounds to walk through. And you have to drive everywhere you want to go. The two-bedroom condos are really huge, but in a rather empty way, with large spaces devoted to a corridor (see photo). The second bedroom has no windows at all. Nice view of the ocean out front, but unfortunately, smoking is allowed on the balconies. Well-managed condo, good parking, nicely equipped. There was no Wi-Fi when we arrived. Three technicians and several hours later, service was restored, but it only worked well in one half of the condo. Good soundproofing for outside noise, but the master bedroom has plumbing noise: you hear every flush from above. And the air conditioning is very loud when it comes on. Two small pools. The outside pool is unheated.

Room Tip: If you stay here, try for a corner two-bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CalgaryMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were very pleased with everything Escapes had to offer on the grounds. The fitness center, pools (both indoor and outdoor), hot tub, grills and ocean access were all excellent. We were extremely disappointed, though, in our original room. We had rented a 1 bedroom apartment. After checking in, we realized that there were no outside windows in this small apartment. Very claustrophobic feeling. We spent one night in the room since the staff had already gone home. In the morning, we inquired about moving. The staff were not apologetic at all and told us to go look at another room. The 2 bedroom condo was incredible and we moved that morning. I feel that they have this problem a lot and need to advertise that there is no ocean or OUTSIDE windows at all in these small rooms. The rest of our stay was wonderful and would highly recommend this place, but you need to be willing to spend the money to stay in a larger room.

Room Tip: Rent a 2 bedroom condo. The 1 bedrooms are not worth it (no outside window).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JEC1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is excellent. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The view was impeccable. They had everything you needed in the suites.

The bedding was perfect and the towels are to die for. If you get a two bedroom suite you will be able to view the beach which is also to die for. Every time I come to Orange beach I must stay at the the Escapes. Book it now!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodericklrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Escapes! for 5 days, and let me say, we didn't want to leave! We stayed in a two bedroom condo and these condos are AMAZING! Pictures simply don't do them justice. We have stayed at many Phoneix Condos in the past, and they have nothing on these! We paid the same price for a two bedroom here, instead of Phoneix HOTEL Suites for our trip. This place is immaculate! Condo was spotless and well decorated. Bed was comfy and the shower! Ohhhh the shower is to die for! Rain shower head plus multiple jets! The bathroom towels were the softest we have ever had! We loved them so much we bought some online when we got home! Just everything about this condo is nice/better quality. The pools were nice, although finding a chair is sometimes hard. They have gas grills for free and will give you cooking utensils for them. It's just a short walk to the beach, unlike some condos in Orange Beach where it seems to take forever! All I can say is don't hesitate about booking here, as it is the nicest condo we have stayed at and you can't beat it for the price!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a two bedroom, as the one bedrooms do not come with a ocean front balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tigers04champs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We just returned from a long weekend in Orange Beach, Al, where we stayed at Escapes. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath with balcony facing the beach, and we loved it. It was a corner unit (#1501) and it was very large. Each bedroom has a king bed with its own bathroom, and there was a washer and dryer in the unit. The living room was very large and spacious looking out the sliding glass doors and windows to the balcony and gulf. When we were not on the balcony, we were sitting on the sofa with doors open listening to the waves. The bedrooms did not have views or doors opening to a balcony, but they were very nice rooms. The kitchen was well equipped for preparing meals even tho we only ate breakfast and lunch in the room.

The location was very convenient to grocery stores, shopping, and restaurants. In fact, it is directly across the street from Wintzell's Oyster House which has good food. There was an indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, children's wading pool, gazebo, grills around pool, steam and saunas, and very nice workout room. Great beach access with boardwalk from the pool area.

We were impressed with the level of housekeeping done at Escapes. When we arrived a little early for check-in, we were told which unit we would have but that the final inspection had not been done after the unit was clean. We were in no hurry, so we waited for the inspection to be done. In fact, we walked up to the unit to just peek in and they were making the inspection and final touches. The housekeeping ladies were so friendly and told us to let them know if anything at all was amiss and they would return to rectify. Really smooth check-in, great customer service, parking garage had enough spaces so you did not have to fight for a spot. They also provide luggage dollies from parking garage area to your room.

Cleanliness and quiet are high on my list of priorities, and this location was a 10 (scale of 1-10)
Earlier this year I stayed at an Escapes in Galveston, TX, and was equally pleased with my experience. I would definitely recommend Escapes! to the Shores at Orange Beach and other Escapes locations.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be a larger than the other rooms. The higher you are the better view you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CajunCountryBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This last trip in February was our third stay! We love the two bedrooms that give our son his own space and TV. The full kitchen is very nice for making delicious meals if you choose. Then you can enjoy them on the balcony listening to the waves come in. The master bath has a jetted tub and a jetted shower! We didn't want to come out. Second bath has a jetted tub as well.
This is a great place to stay on the beach!!
Only draw back..... the front bedroom needs black out shades!!

Room Tip: Only two and three bedrooms have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Beach
Palm Beach
#10 of 19 in Orange Beach
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.7 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escapes! to the Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escapes! to the Shores

Address: 24060 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Price Range: $87 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escapes! to the Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Escapes! to the Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Shores Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing