We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks Most Boxes But a Bit Bland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ticks Most Boxes But a Bit Bland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Difficult to choose the right hotel given all the same looking high rise clones along the Gulf Shores/Orange Beach coastline. So perfect time to log-on to Trip Advisor. And at the top of the pile - Hampton Inn and Suites. Problem solved. So we booked an oceanview king studio suite with balcony at $279 with breakfast – or rather $310 after city tax, county tax and state tax had been added in. Our initial view of the hotel’s outer appearance was not great given there was a covered 2 deck parking lot at the front which obscures the main entrance to the hotel. Anyway – inside it’s all bright and cheerful. We stayed in room 814 – and no doubting the great view we had over the white sandy beach and ocean. The room was bright, clean and, being a studio, we had a microwave and fridge. Other plus points – comfy beds, free wifi and free garage parking out front. Negatives – no safe in the room and, in the bathroom, there was a bath with shower unit rather than a walk-in shower. The hotel was bustling and I can see why it’s very popular for families with children – especially given the great pool area and the boardwalk straight down to the beach. However, not so sure for couples. Incidentally, the breakfast was not that great – for me – too many people crowding into a rather small area and not enough tables at busy times. Overall – a bit surprised by the #1 Trip Advisor rating – sure, it’s clean, great views from the oceanfront rooms, very practical for families but at over $300 (admittedly for a studio suite oceanfront) I would have expected more atmosphere, elegance and charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach, AL. We take pride in our hotel and love to hear the feedback from our guests. I am sorry that you were not pleased that we did not offer safes in the rooms, however we do offer safety deposit boxes here for you at the front desk. We do hope that you found your stay to be enjoyable enough that you come back and see us in the future.


Kindest Regards,

Lori M. Gordon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    362
    113
    48
    32
See reviews for
610
515
43
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Friendly, attentive staff, clean, and well maintained hotel. The only downside is the lack of a mini-fridge in my beachfront room-a pretty typical ammenity in most hotels in this class. One of the best values in orange beach

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate your review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach, AL. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while you were here with us. We do recognize that the mini fridges and microwaves makes traveling difficult, which is why we are diligently looking into getting these into all of our rooms. We do hope that when you get an opportunity to come back and see us this will be done for you.


Kindest Regards,


Lori M. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

the staff were wonderful the view was spectacular, the rooms clean new and the bedding was comfortable. I would stay in this particular hotel any time. It was a fantastic experience and the location was spot on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Located in Orange Beach ( just down the street from Gulf Shores ) which I thought had a better "feel" than Gulf Shores even though the beach all runs together. The hotel sits right on the beach which is nice. It is summer so there was a lot of young families with small children.
We enjoyed the beach most in the evening as it was very hot during the day. If you can, bring portable fold up chairs from home and enjoy the wonderful sunset while setting at the waters edge.
Staff was very good. The breakfast could use a few added items other than the typical "Hampton" spread.

Room Tip: The front facing the water are naturally the preferred but we were in a side corner and view was sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldweatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Mangager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach, AL. Thank you for your comments, we are actually looking into ways to revamp our breakfast. We hope that you get an opportunity to come back and see the changes that we are looking forward to making. We agree that the beach is better in the evening time, the heat can be a bit much if you are not used to it. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.


Kindly,

Lori M. Gordon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The property is beautiful and much more of a "Hilton" than a "Hampton". Our gulf view room had everything we needed including a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The place was spotless. We arrived in the late afternoon and the room was pretty warm, but we thought it would take time to cool down with the 90+ degree temps outside. After a pretty miserable night, we visited the front desk. They had maintenance in our room within minutes. It seemed to be cooling down and we were out most of the day, but by late afternoon it was obvious we still had a problem. The same men tried to service the unit again and we had another sleepless night.

Here's what impressed me: when I went down to the desk the next morning, the general manager did not try to make excuses. She admitted there were a few new staff members that weren't as well trained as others, but they were working on it. She sent an experienced technician that recognized the problem immediately and replaced our unit. I know what it's like to train new staff members and appreciate her honesty. I also appreciated the friendly staff that made you feel like they truly liked their jobs and wanted to make sure your stay was as pleasant as possible.

We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Yay! Thank you so much for your kind words when reviewing your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach, AL. We are happy that you chose to stay with us and even more thrilled to hear that you will be visiting us again. I need to thank you for your patience and understanding, we realize how miserable it must have been in your room at night when the AC was not working properly. I am glad that we were able to get that taken care of for you. In the meantime, we hope that you are enjoying your summer and look forward to your return.


See you soon,

Lori M. Gordon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I usually try to stay in a Hampton when I travel anywhere due to the cleanliness of the rooms and lobby. This hotel is located right on the beach and has excellent service. The area right out side of the elevators were extremely hot during my stay there which really wasn't that big of a deal but unusual. There was no safe in the room but they were available in the lobby. I would recommend this to people who are not going to spend alot of time in the room though. The room was small but served the purpose of people who travel to the beach to stay on the beach and shop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach, AL. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for making us aware that the area by the elevators was abnormally warm. We will definitely be looking into this. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of the safe in the back office. We provide this amenity to all of our guests so that they feel safe and secure. We do hope that you get an opportunity to come back and see us again soon.


Until next time,

Lori M. Gordon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a very nice Hampton Inn, but overpriced for what you get in a beachfront room. The pros are: free parking, internet and (limited) breakfast. The beach is very nice. Also very clean and new. There's no fridge, microwave, safe or makeup mirror in the beachfront rooms (at $259 per night on a weeknight). No luggage racks either, you have to use the only two chairs in the room besides the desk chair for your luggage. We will drive the extra hour or so to Destin next time. You get a lot more for your money, and it's more romantic. The staff at the hotel are very nice and we did enjoy our stay, but probably won't go back. I would recommend this spot for families, seemed very safe, nice pool too for kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank bamalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach, AL. We appreciate your comments so much. We agree that during our peak season (Spring Break and Summer months) our hotel may not be the most romantic if that is what you are looking for. Most of our guests are traveling with families. I wish that we would have known while you were here that you were looking for romance because we would have done everything in our power to make your stay more romantic. We do hope that you get an opportunity to come back and see us so that we can deliver the romance that this trip was lacking. Until next time.


Lori M. Gordon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Beach
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#15 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Address: 25518 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-6100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Orange Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach Hotel, we want to show you what Alabama’s Gulf Coast is all about. When you experience the Southern hospitality and scenic beauty of our everyday life, you’ll get to know the real Alabama. So come on in, y’all, the water’s fine. And you can see it the moment you walk into our open, stylish lobby. You’ll feel at home as soon as you get here, where shades of coral, natural driftwood and ocean-themed artwork lead you right onto our beachfront pool deck and beyond to our white sand shores. Everything about this place bubbles over with happiness, and that’s just how we want you to feel throughout your stay. From a friendly smile at our Front Desk to the whimsical paintings and photographs lining our halls, the color and wonder invite you to make memories you’ll never forget. At our Orange Beach hotel, opportunities for fun stretch as far as the horizon. Whether you’re enjoying the view from your beachfront balcony, soaking up the sunshine on our expansive deck overlooking the Gulf of Mexico or making a splash in our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub, there’s no better place to turn moments into memories. If you venture off property, there’s lots to see and do in our little piece of paradise. You’ll find superior shopping, delectable dining, and rave-worthy recreation just minutes from our hotel in Orange Beach. Just ask any member of our hospitable team to let you in on our local secrets. We love pointing people toward what makes them happy. We are centrally located near the best restaurants, nightlife and major attractions including The Wharf at Orange Beach, Tanger Outlets and Waterville USA. You can also visit historic Fort Morgan just a short drive away from our free, covered parking lot. Our commitment to extraordinary hospitality makes us mindful of the little things, because we know the little things add up to one big, wonderful experience. Friendly service and exceptional amenities are the foundation of our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach/Gulf Front Hotel Orange Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Orange Beach/Gulf Front

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing