We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Reviews of this hotel were glowing, when I researched the area...but my experience was both good AND bad.

The facility and the location were perfect - yards from the Gulf, on white, spotless beaches - and the hotel appears to be either very new, or very recently remodeled. Fantastic facility.

The staff was a problem. The hotel has approximately 160 rooms, and I guess I arrived at the peak of the "off season" - there couldn't have been more than 20 guests in the hotel! So it was a surprise when I arrived at the hotel a few hours before check-in time, only to be informed by the front desk staffer that my room wasn't ready. Really? Not very welcoming. It took a supervisor to correct the situation...as she stated that she was SURE a room was prepared. What if that manager had been elsewhere? I likely would have waited four hours for my room.

During breakfast - in the beautiful lobby area - sounds travels quickly, and loudly. On both of the days I ate breakfast there, I couldn't read the paper, or enjoy my breakfast, with the two front desk staffers socializing - complaining about work, actually - for nearly an hour. Seriously - it was as though they were sitting at my table, along with me...complaining about EVERYTHING. It was horrible.

The hotel has a very nice workout facility on the second floor, overlooking the beach, and I visited the gym on the day of my arrival. I was alone, working out, and a hotel employee stopped by...to tell me I was being too loud! My workout included sit-ups, walking lunges and some simple work with the dumb bells in the gym - he claimed that by dropping the dumb bells (from a height of about two inches, onto the matted flooring) that I was disturbing the other guests. He also claimed he could hear the noise in the outdoor parking deck - two floors and several hundred feet away. WHAT?! Impossible. What a downer. Nothing like being told to "be quiet" during a workout, by a staffer half my age. Unacceptable.

Finally...five minutes before my check-out time (11am), a housekeeping staffer pounded on my door - so loudly that it was actually startling...and when I opened the door - not kidding, here - she asked "are you leaving yet?" Wow. Why not just take my luggage and set it out on the curb, for me. And, I must say again - it was not even check-out time yet!!

I loved the facility and the location for this Hampton, but - truth be told - I'll probably look elsewhere on any return visit to the area.

Room Tip: The ocean-view room I occupied (#610) really was incredible. The view, and the sound of the crashing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffandvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

jeffandvince,
I would like to start off by thanking you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach. I need to apologize to you for the lack of customer service that you received in several areas during your stay. This review is definitely going to help us better our staff through training and accountability. I would like to speak with you to find out some further details about your stay so that we may correct this situation to ensure that this does not happen in the future. If you would be willing, I would love for you to contact me through phone or email. I can be reached at lori@innisfree.com or 251-923-4400 ext 7782. Correcting this issue has become a priority of mine and hope to hear from you soon.


Kind Regards,
Lori Gordon
Assistant General Manager
251-923-4400
lori@innisfree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,489 - 1,495 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were here a week before Christmas and it was great.

We stayed here for one night on our way back home from a short trip to New Orleans and Biloxi. I found the room to be beautiful and comfy. I was surprised to find an inviting balconey just for my viewing pleasure.. I hadn't booked inadvance and had read so many reviews on tripadvisor before, I couldn't remember which was which, so we just pulled up to one and asked about rates/availablity. Once I saw this room, I knew this one was perfect.

Breakfast was very good, and again a surprise with how much they had to offer. My family loved the cookies in the evening, and I liked the fact that a Publix and CVS was right across the street. Will be returning sometime in early spring to really enjoy the beautiful beach!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi Ken3193, thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach. We are so happy that you stopped by on your way home. You mentioned our breakfast, it is definitely one of those amenities that keeps our guests coming back. We definitely look forward to seeing you again in the future. The balcony view awaits you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I checked in after Christmas for some relaxation. The check in was smooth as usual. When we arrived in the room we noticed the a/c unit was operating but making a rather loud noise. I called the front desk at 4:40 p.m. and at 4:45 p.m a nice gentleman by the name of Andrew showed up to assess the problem. He called in another gentleman by the name of Rick. They both agreed that the unit fan motor was going out. They told me it would take a couple of hours to fix but didn't want to put us out. They pulled the entire unit and replaces it by 5:10 p.m!!! We were amazed at how professional and efficient they both were at getting this replacement done. We called the front desk and commended those 'two' for such a great job. This is just another example of why we stay at the Hampton in Orange Beach every time we visit. Oh yeah, my wife my pleased that the front desk found her a hair dresser on short notice as well.

Room Tip: always ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retire1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments and for simply taking the time to review the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach. We have passed on your comments to the maintenance department and also posted your kind comments for all the staff to see. We are so thrilled that you come to our property every time you visit Orange Beach and look forward to your next stay. Again, thank you so much for reviewing our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a very nice Hotel with great check in and check out. Parking is excellent. The complimentary breakfast was a great plus for our stay. Unfortunately I was sick for the three days I was there. I was able to rest and recover while my husband took care of appointments he had. The staff was very caring and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi there,
I hate that you were sick while you were here with us, but that is all the more reason for you to come back and see us so that you can make up for the time that you missed. We are happy however that you had an opportunity to enjoy breakfast and rest and relax while you were here. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel over Thanksgiving. Walking in to the hotel we were very impressed. Parking garage is a great amenity. Room was on the 9th floor and gulf front with a spectacular view. Breakfast was good. Pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. Only slight negative was other guests smoking on their balconies when we were trying to enjoy the outdoors. Beach was uncrowded and scenic. We will return as soon as we can. Orange Beach and the Hampton Inn was just what we needed for a short vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brijleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Orange Beach, AL . The view from the 9th floor is absolutely remarkable, although I am sure the smoke was distracting. We are actually a non smoking property and this includes smoking on the balcony. I will look into ways to try and combat this. Thank you for making us aware that this was going on.
We are excited that you will be coming back in the future to see us. The weather here is so unpredictable, but the view of the beach makes up for any bad weather. We look forward to seeing you again.
Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here one night before presenting to a group at the hotel. Very easy to find location off the Foley Beach Express. Check-in was a breeze. Lobby/breakfast area is all one open area with plenty of room to spread out, have a conversation, or just relax. Room is well-appointed, with a nice (if small) balcony. Slight maintenance problem in that the A/C had been worked on and the cover was still off, but not a big deal. Heated pool and hot tub were nice on a cool evening. Breakfast was solid, if run-of-the-mill. However, the star is the beach. It was so nice to walk out and watch the sun rise while standing in the surf with a cup of coffee just steps out the back door. I can imagine that in the summer the pool deck and bar would be a great touch. With a vacant lot on the side, it shouldn't be too crowded, even at peak times. I plan to return at some point during beach season, which is the best compliment I can pay.

Room Tip: If you're in a "partial" beach view room, request a room on the east side. Sunrise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClintDEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and most of all the beach. We agree that it is really nice to walk out the back door and get right to the beach. We look forward to you returning in the Summer, it is a great time. I want to apologize that the AC cover was off, even though you said it was not a problem we strive to make sure that your room is perfect. I have brought this to the attention of our maintenance team and they assured me that they will be triple checking these rooms to make sure that it does not happen in the future. Meanwhile, we wish you a Happy Holiday season and look forward to your future visit.


Lori M. Gordon
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel. The first one was very good which is why we came back. I can say that this will be our last stay here. A few of the positives are location, location, location. Now the rest...the hotel was very rowdy and loud, ALL NIGHT. I felt like i was at a party hotel. People were drinking even at the pool with large coolers, not very family friendly. There were also loud parties going on all over the hotel with people yelling at all hours of the night, running up and down the hallways and screaming off the balconies. We called the front desk several times but it didnt get any better. One night the language was so bad i had to have my daughter put on headphones at 1:00 am. The staff didn't seem to care and never followed up. Not very good for children and i was embarassed my daughter had to experience this as opposed to a relaxing beach vacation. On a side note, the beach was littered with beer bottles which the hotel never picked up. Seeing that they definitely came from guests at their hotel, i think they should have made the effort. Like i said, we won't be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhconants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonOB, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. You are right when you said that we are supposed to be a family friendly vacation spot and that is why I would love it if you would take the time to contact me so that I can get more details from you. I apologize that you had a negative experience with us and we are saddened that you said this would be your last stay with us. This is something that will be addressed with our staff, I just need a few details from you. Again, thank you so much for commenting and I hope to hear from you soon.


Kindest Regards,

Lori Gordon
Front Office Manager
251-923-4400
lori@innisfree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach

Address: 25518 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-6100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Orange Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: $93 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach Hotel, we want to show you what Alabama’s Gulf Coast is all about. When you experience the Southern hospitality and scenic beauty of our everyday life, you’ll get to know the real Alabama. So come on in, y’all, the water’s fine. And you can see it the moment you walk into our open, stylish lobby. You’ll feel at home as soon as you get here, where shades of coral, natural driftwood and ocean-themed artwork lead you right onto our beachfront pool deck and beyond to our white sand shores. Everything about this place bubbles over with happiness, and that’s just how we want you to feel throughout your stay. From a friendly smile at our Front Desk to the whimsical paintings and photographs lining our halls, the color and wonder invite you to make memories you’ll never forget. At our Orange Beach hotel, opportunities for fun stretch as far as the horizon. Whether you’re enjoying the view from your beachfront balcony, soaking up the sunshine on our expansive deck overlooking the Gulf of Mexico or making a splash in our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub, there’s no better place to turn moments into memories. If you venture off property, there’s lots to see and do in our little piece of paradise. You’ll find superior shopping, delectable dining, and rave-worthy recreation just minutes from our hotel in Orange Beach. Just ask any member of our hospitable team to let you in on our local secrets. We love pointing people toward what makes them happy. We are centrally located near the best restaurants, nightlife and major attractions including The Wharf at Orange Beach, Tanger Outlets and Waterville USA. You can also visit historic Fort Morgan just a short drive away from our free, covered parking lot. Our commitment to extraordinary hospitality makes us mindful of the little things, because we know the little things add up to one big, wonderful experience. Friendly service and exceptional amenities are the foundation of our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach/Gulf Front Hotel Orange Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Orange Beach/Gulf Front

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing