We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bad housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel lobby and breakfast area is very nice. We had a double room with an ocean view and balcony overlooking the pool. The pool area itself is nice, however the pool temperature is too warm. After a long day on the hot beach I was looking forward to a cool dip in the pool. I was very disappointed that the pool was very warm, even in the shade. Also disappointing was the black mold/mildew caked around the hot tub. I didn't even want to lean back in the hot tub because it was so gross. The room was fine, the beds comfortable, the bathroom nice with a great shower. The housekeeping is subpar. Upon returning to our room the first evening we found our breakfast leftovers, plates & cups still on the bedside table! Ridiculous!!! The second night a used Kleenex fell out of a pillow case when I moved the pillow to get more comfortable. Nasty!!! On the third day we noticed how the bed was barely made, the sheets not even tucked under the mattress, used towels left on the floor. The free breakfast consisted of breakfast breads, cut fruit, waffles, eggs, omelets, sausage, hash browns, cereals, coffee and juices. I would like to say I'd stay here again, but the terrible housekeeping gives me pause. We were in room 420, 6/28/12-7/1/12.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank erika3trailblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry for your experience. We take this type of feedback seriously and would love the opportunity to speak with you regarding your last visit. Your satisfaction is our livelihood. We can certainly take a look at the pool temperature and address the coping on the hot tub. We appreciate your feedback, and will act on the service aspect as well. When you have a moment, please call me or email me at the office at 251-923-4400; cell 850-393-0066; or gabe@innisfree.com. Have a great day, and I look forward to speaking with you.
Sincerely,

Gabe DiCianni, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,600 - 1,606 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Expensive but nice place. Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights. Our teens loved the breakfast and the beach location. A bit remote from the action but the beach location is amazing. For supper, we needed to drive for the better restos. Also, take reservations if its the weekend or prime supper time.

Not your typical Hampton.

Room Tip: Ocean side is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you had a good time with us in Orange Beach. I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. We are honored that you chose to stay with us as we know that you have many choices when it comes to lodging. Have a wonderful 4th of July, and we look forward to seeing you back at hotel soon.
Sincerely,

Gabe DiCianni, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites
p 251-923-4400
f 251-923-4401
e gabe@innisfree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel the third week in June - we drove over from our New Orleans vacation on a whim and it was worth it!

Room: Stayed in an end unit without the adjoining door to the next room, so there was no noise from neighbors. We didn't have an oceanfront room, but we could see/hear the ocean from our balcony. Room was brand-new quality, granite, nice wood furniture. Two double beds easily slept 4 people. Housekeeping was very accomodating of the "in and out all day" lifestyle of a beach vacation. We're very picky and I was impressed with cleanliness. AC was a little noisy but not bothersome.

Beach: When they say beachfront, they mean walk right out onto the beach! Beautiful powder sand. Red flags were up (tropical storm coming in, it was sunny but that's what we heard?), but we did fine with wading and splashing. Water was warm, lots of great shells. Great service where you can rent 2 beach chairs, umbrella & table for $25 charged to your room, totally worth it to not get up at 6:00 AM to stake out a spot. Other families chose to bring own chairs, etc, but beach is very spacious and lots of room for everyone.

Food: good breakfast, good variety, loved the waffle maker and guava juice. We ate out at Calypso Joe's (twice - my kids loved the crab races) and both times were excellent.

Hotel/service: Friendly, helpful, held doors open. Southerners just seem to be more friendly in this aspect on the whole! Also, they were constantly cleaning up the sand and water all day, so lobby, restrooms, & eating area were spotless. Very modern and clean. Nice little store that sold convenience items and snacks.

Pool: Only went to the pool once for 10 minutes after the ocean. We're beach people. Pool had a lot of kids in it (including mine) but wasn't too rowdy.

PROS: cleanliness, couldn't hear neighbors, right on a great beach, nice staff, great weather, close to good restaurants

CONS: The smoking! I'd estimate over 50% of the adults on the beach were smoking. Both groups on either side of us in the rental chairs as well, so we had to walk down to the water to get to the fresh ocean air. Luckily it was windy. I know it's a public beach, but the butts and smoke were obnoxious. Kind of made the hotel seem low-class. I didn't fault the hotel for this, thus the 5 stars, since technically it's not hotel property. But it's a real turnoff. Perhaps designated smoking areas are a solution? Also, the pool/hotel were "non-smoking" but I did see people smoking at the pool and on the balconies. I was a little shocked, as we have been to many beach resorts (US & Caribbean) and have never seen so much smoking, most people are discreet about it and step off to the side.

Room Tip: Get an end room without an adjoining door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michigangirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Wow, we are flattered by your kind words. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. Your satisfaction is our livelihood, so I am so glad to hear you had a good time while you were with us in Orange Beach. I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. We are honored that you chose to stay with us as we know that you have many choices when it comes to lodging. We can certainly address the smoking/cigarette butt issue on the beach. Have a wonderful 4th of July, and we look forward to seeing you back at hotel soon.
Sincerely,

Gabe DiCianni, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites
p 251-923-4400
f 251-923-4401
e gabe@innisfree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Wanted a quick overnight getaway on the beach in the Gulf Shores/Orange Beach area with a room big enough for 5. I was definitely pleased. We stayed in a double queen suite facing the beach. Although the room looks exactly like it does in their photographs, it is alot bigger than it seems in the picture. It is one of the biggest I've stayed in. With the couch folding out into a bed, this room sleeps 6 comfortably. The hotel is pretty new, so everything is in great shape from top to bottom. The beds slept well, the bathroom was nice (all 5 of us showered back-to-back and never ran out of hot water), the view from the balcony/windows was great, the free breakfast was nice (they even offer pre-made to-go breakfast bags if you're in a hurry), and the pool was nice (part of the pool goes under the building so you can swim in the shade). The hotel is right on the beach, so just a short walk and you're in the water. The service was friendly and attentive. If I had to "look" for something to complain about, it would be the "private" balcony. The balcony is side-by-side with other balconies, so other guest can see you. Also, the a/c unit is on the wall in the balcony area, so the noise of the unit will drown out most of the sounds of the beach while the unit is running. Other than the balcony, this was a very nice hotel, and I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

We appreciate your choosing to stay with us as we know you have many choices when it comes to lodging. Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor as well. I am so glad that you had a good time with us in Orange Beach. I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. We are honored that you chose to stay with us , and hope that have a wonderful 4th of July. We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel soon.
Sincerely,

Gabe DiCianni, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites
p 251-923-4400
f 251-923-4401
e gabe@innisfree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nice rooms; great breakfast area; close to restaurants and attractions. Neat pool area - was a little rowdy when we stayed. We went to the indoor pool with our 3 kids (age 5, 11, and 13) after dinner and thought we had walked into a filming of CMT's My Big Redneck Vacation. Apparently there was a multi-family group staying and partying together at the hotel with an affinity for cheap beer & cigarettes. Pool area was much tamer during the day. Good breakfast; fresh, hot coffee available all day in the lobby. Great beach area and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you had a good time while you were with us in Orange Beach. I am so sorry that you encountered a roudy group at the pool area. As we are a non-smoking hotel, we are typically right on that sort of thing. We will make sure we keep a closer eye on this. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, so if there is anything else that you would like to discuss with me, please let me know. When you are ready to come back to the beach give us a call and we will make sure that your next experience is perfect.

Gabe DiCianni, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites
p 251-923-4400
f 251-923-4401
gabe@innisfree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the "beachy" decor.
Rooms were as expected,(nice) but bathrooms more than expected from previous hotels. Our beachfront (2) double bed room (816) had a balcony for 2 people, but ablsolutely no privacy. Other rooms on the end might have privacy? View was wonderful....ocean sounds were great...until AC kicked on and the deafening venting system exhaust blew HOT air on us.
Breakfast was offered, but we only took advantage of the coffee, which was great.
Nice pool area. Very friendly and efficient staff. LOVE the beach vibe at this place!!! Makes you feel you are on vacation. Josh at check in was very professional and friendly. Convenient to MANY restaurants, groceries , etc.

Room Tip: get an ocean front on the corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaymondAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are honored that you chose to stay with us, and it is very good to hear that you had a good time while with us. Please let us know when you are ready to come back to the beach, and we will roll out the red carpet. Have a great day!

Gabe DiCianni, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites
p 251-923-4400
f 251-923-4401
gabe@innisfree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Well our trip was planned six months ahead of time we were so excited to go to the Hamptom Inn on the Gulf Coast at Orange Beach since seeing the commercials advertising the beautiful Gulf Coast since the Oil Spill clean-up. We actually flew from Washington D.C. which actually had better weather temps at 90 degrees and sunshine than the Gulf Coast. The Hampton Inn is beautiful and modern and extremely clean and I think it's the newest property on the beach just over a year old. We had a suite oceanfront room with patio. Excellent room Flat screen TV, Mini Fridge and Microwave and granite countertops. Thank God because it rained from the time we landed until checkout Monday with all of two hours of sunshine:(. Our room was fantastic for a backup plan to just rest and relax. The free breakfast was good especially the awesome machines set-up to make your own belgian waffles, no chef needed ,not to mention the great taste of the waffles. I never saw this anywhere in a hotel we have stayed in. They had two waffle makers that took only two minutes to make waffles. Food was continually refilled and cleaniness was above standard with the continous monitoring of servers. The Gym was nice with a beautiful oceanfront view but the equipment was not extremly sturdy like top of the line commercial equipment but sufficed for a good workout. The outside area was nice on the patio with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Also the white sands are pristine in back of the hotel on the beach. The pool and whirpool were nice too but we could not partake becaue of the rainy weekend it was always crowded. I wish we could have been offered discount vouchers for a return trip but I realize we were not the only first time Gulf Coast Visitors. I recommend the Hotel highly, another perk there is a grocery store Publix directly across the streeet from the hotel along with other etablishments DQ,Pizza place etc. One thing I would say is that maybe the A/C units can be looked at because of the loud noise they make while using them:)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy2day28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you had a good time while you were, and that the only downfall was the rainy weather on the Gulf Coast. That was some crazy weather huh? It has not been that bad in a very long time and are so very sorry you were not able to enjoy our beautiful beaches and get your toes in that sugar white sand. Please let us know when you are ready to come back to the beach. We would be honored to to have you back with us soon.

Gabe DiCianni, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites
p 251-923-4400
f 251-923-4401
gabe@innisfree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
1.2 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach

Address: 25518 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-6100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: $92 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach Hotel, we want to show you what Alabama’s Gulf Coast is all about. When you experience the Southern hospitality and scenic beauty of our everyday life, you’ll get to know the real Alabama. So come on in, y’all, the water’s fine. And you can see it the moment you walk into our open, stylish lobby. You’ll feel at home as soon as you get here, where shades of coral, natural driftwood and ocean-themed artwork lead you right onto our beachfront pool deck and beyond to our white sand shores. Everything about this place bubbles over with happiness, and that’s just how we want you to feel throughout your stay. From a friendly smile at our Front Desk to the whimsical paintings and photographs lining our halls, the color and wonder invite you to make memories you’ll never forget. At our Orange Beach hotel, opportunities for fun stretch as far as the horizon. Whether you’re enjoying the view from your beachfront balcony, soaking up the sunshine on our expansive deck overlooking the Gulf of Mexico or making a splash in our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub, there’s no better place to turn moments into memories. If you venture off property, there’s lots to see and do in our little piece of paradise. You’ll find superior shopping, delectable dining, and rave-worthy recreation just minutes from our hotel in Orange Beach. Just ask any member of our hospitable team to let you in on our local secrets. We love pointing people toward what makes them happy. We are centrally located near the best restaurants, nightlife and major attractions including The Wharf at Orange Beach, Tanger Outlets and Waterville USA. You can also visit historic Fort Morgan just a short drive away from our free, covered parking lot. Our commitment to extraordinary hospitality makes us mindful of the little things, because we know the little things add up to one big, wonderful experience. Friendly service and exceptional amenities are the foundation of our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach/Gulf Front Hotel Orange Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Orange Beach/Gulf Front

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing