We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Year After Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phoenix West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phoenix West
Certificate of Excellence
TN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Place Year After Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is our second year staying at this property, both times has been the 3 bedroom condo. Service is always great at this condo and very clean at all times. They have outdoor and indoor pools as well as a lazy river,kiddie pool, waterside, and hot tubs. Workout is clean and what you would come to expect at a condo/ higher end hotel. They also have tennis courts with free tennis rackets and balls from the front desk.

If your looking for a condo in the area don't spend hours looking go ahead and book this property and you won't regret it. They are building a new condo that is almost the same as this one but a few upgrades just down the street so keep and eye out for that down the road as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snobird1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    82
    35
    17
    3
See reviews for
284
16
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Phoenix West Condo. We rented through Brett/Robinson Vacations. The unit was very spacious with 3 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. The furnishings were excellent. It was equipped with everything we needed for a great vacation. We loved the slide, pool, lazy river, and the beautiful gulf front view. We would definitely stay her again and have recommended it to many friends and family.

Room Tip: If you go to Brett-Robinson website, you can browse the available condo that are available when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our three bedroom condo was very spacious and the property overall very nice. Not realizing, we booked through Meyers Realty which is not the one site property. We had to pick up keys at a different location and return them to the same. They were nice people, but not on property. They failed to give us a bracelet, which turned out was not a big deal, but ......
The room was nice, but didn't meet my expectations for the price that was paid.
Cheap thin bathtowels, stained furniture, Just I'm just picky......
I would not want to be back on the 18th floor. View was too far from beach. Pool was great for small children.
The elevators weren't that slow for us, and it was very crowded. I would have enjoyed it more being on a lower floor but none were available.
I was surprised that the beach chairs were not included. They took up alot of space and were far away from the water. Almost too big and crowded for me.

Room Tip: Request low level room... Price around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We took a family vacation to Orange Beach, Alabama near the end of June 2012. We stayed at Phoenix West. We used VRBO.com to book our trip. When checking in at Resort Quest (where you stop to pick your keys up before going to the hotel) they gave us little to no info about Phoenix West eg parking or amenities. After being at the condo for a day and a half we were told that we needed wrist bands. But no worries, it turns out that they hand them out like candy and you didn’t need to even show your key card to get them.

The condo we stayed in was very nice and well kept. Although we did have to wash all the dishes before using them due to the fact that they were put away dirty by the previous renters. The furnishings and decorations were new and the condo was very spacious. There are only 6 elevators and they are super slow and always packed. Luckily we were only on the 4th floor and was able to take the stairs.

The lazy river was great!! They even let you float around with your drink. They had tubes that you could use for free, but we went down to the dollar store and bought floaties that were more comfortable and had drink holders. It was also nice to have the indoor pool and jacuzzi available if you wanted a break from the sun. Most people got up early in the morning to reserve their lounge chairs by putting their towels on them but there were normally a few that were free, so we all just shared a couple. We were mainly in the water most of the time anyways.

The beach was beautiful but VERY crowded. You are only aloud to be on the beach that is directly behind Phoenix West. To my surprise we were informed that Orange Beach is a private (not public) beach. To be completely honest there would have been plenty of room on the area behind the Phoenix West, however they placed loading skids that were made into double lounge chairs – that you must PAY ($50/day) for! Most of these lounge chairs went unrented and just took up the space on the beach. In turn, this made everyone else crowd next to each other up by the water. What a disappointment! We paid quite a bit of money to stay here and now they want to price gouge you to go to the beach??? The whole point of vacationing near the beach…is to go to the beach. After all of that being said, the sand was nice and clean and the water was so clear that even when I went about chest deep out in the ocean I could still see my feet. At night everyone goes crab hunting – so we joined in and it was a blast!!

All in all it was a great family vacation and I’m glad we went. However, that will more than likely be our only vacation to Orange Beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ginjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at the Phoenix West for 3 nights in July. We had a group of ladies that shared a 3 bedroom / 4 bath condo. We chose the Phoenix West because of the lure of the lazy river, which proved to be too crowded & didn't have enough floats for half of the people trying to use it. There were people standing along the edges blocking the flow of others trying to enjoy the lazy river. There was also a nice zero entry pool (I don't know why the people who just wanted to stand weren't in the pool), an indoor pool , a veery fun water slide, & a jacuzzi. The condo was very nice. We stayed in 1906. It was all up to date & nicely decorated. It easily accommodates 10 people (8 in beds & 2 on a sleeper sofa). The biggest problem with this building is there are. It enough elevators. It was a common complaint from everyone we encountered who stayed there. we definitely enjoyed our stay, but would probably choose to stay at another, cheaper Phoenix property next time. The crowded lazy river & slow elevators were not worth the extra money.

Room Tip: I would choose to stay on a lower floor so that you could use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent a week here for a family vacation with my husband, in-laws and young nephews. Phoenix West was completely booked while we were there, due to a baseball tournament in town, and being right before the July 4th holiday.

Condo Unit - We had a 3 bedroom/4 bath unit on the 23rd floor, and it was plenty of space for the 6 adults and 2 kids without us feeling like we were right on top of each other. The unit was nice, spacious and clean. The kitchen was well equipped, the balcony was a nice size.

Pool - The pool deck was nice and clean, there were plenty of loungers (although you do have "those" people...you know, the ones who go out at the crack of dawn to claim a chair with their towel, and the chair sits there unused all day). The lazy river was nice, though it did get very crowded at times. The zero entry pool was great for the little ones. It was never crowded while we were there, I never saw more than 5 or 6 people in it - I think everyone was using the lazy river! The slide....both the kids and adults all agreed it was tons of fun.

Parking - never had a problem finding a space, there was plenty of parking to go around.

The Bad - the elevators.....I am not exaggerating when I state my husband and I had to wait over half an hour when we arrived to catch an elevator to our condo. The complex needs a couple more elevators, it was ridiculous.

While the place is very nice, with great pools, I would not stay here again simply because of how bad the elevator situation was.

Room Tip: Choose the lowest floor you can get so you can take the stairs instead of waiting for an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PugLoverinBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently stayed in unit 2702 and it was great. The condo had 3 bedrooms and 4 baths. The view was spectacular. The condo was very clean. It was decorated very nicely and felt like home. The kids loved having so much space. I loved having a washer/dryer in the condo. The kids also loved the swimming pools, lazy river, slide and being right on the beach. Brett-Robinson was very helpful. We needed hot pads and the microwave was missing a tray. Within a few minutes, both were delivered to our door. I could not believe the service. The hotel is located near restaurants, grocery stores, and shopping. We went on a dolphin cruise which was only 15 minutes away. What a wonderful time we had at Phoenix West. We cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayton0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Beach
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
Turquoise Place
Turquoise Place
#1 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix West

Property: Phoenix West
Address: 23972 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-8318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Orange Beach
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the white-sand beaches of Alabama's Gulf Coast, Phoenix West rentals by Brett/Robinson Vacations offers relaxation and respite from the daily grind with a full-time, on-site staff. In addition to miles of beach at the tips of your toes, the Orange Beach property features large, fully furnished units -- 3 to 4 bedrooms with at least four baths, free Wi-Fi, a beachfront lazy river, a corkscrew waterslide, an indoor pool, a zero-entry outdoor pool, lighted tennis courts, hot tubs, saunas and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix West Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing