We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment for the whole family”
Review of The Wharf

The Wharf
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
conway, ar
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Entertainment for the whole family”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

There are many unique shops, restaurants, night clubs and a cinema and game room, as well as a ferris wheel and carnival-type rides. The unique shops were fun to visit, albeit somewhat pricey and there was a variety of restaurants. I ate at the hamburger restaurant down by the ferris wheel and while I can't remember the name, I wouldn't recommend it anyway. (Maybe that is why I can't remember the name). When you first open the door to the restaurant you realized that the entire restaurant was smoke-filled from their grill. We chose to eat outside on a small patio overlooking the ferris wheel. The food took forever and was pretty much disgusting and the ferris wheel operators closed the ferris wheel at 7:00 p.m.; quite early, as people were still waiting in line when they closed it! On a positive side, the ARENA was quite a hit for the kids (they loved the laser tag) and the movie theater seemed to be also. Good place to go on a rainy day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ucatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    350
    187
    42
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great family evening.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

While on vacation, I took the family to The Wharf for an evening out. We saw a movie, ate dinner, shopped and watched the light show and street entertainment. The entire area seems almost new, is very clean, well-lit and inviting. There were restaurants/bars for every taste, quite a bit of shopping, a marina, an arcade, a teen club and even a cigar bar (that I was not able to visit). As with most tourist areas, the prices are a bit high, but not wildly so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very fun!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to visit. We went to play laser tag at the ARENA. They were great, very friendly. Also caught the light show at 8:30. It was really cool, set to music. Great stores for shopping. Will return!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice area”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We came here on a rainy day and so did everyone else. They have a movie theater and it was sold out until there night movies. That was fine tho. The shops are neat but pricey. The place is fun to walk around tho and they have live music it seemed a lot of the time. Lots of really good restaurants but we had ate before we went. They all smelled great and looked busy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Okay visit to the Wharf”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went to the wharf with 4 teenage girls for souvenir shopping. The souvenir shops are too small and too expensive and many were closed. (We went on a Sunday) We found better souvenirs along Perdido Beach Blvd at Alvins and the Surf Shop etc... They are all there on the main drag. But for a fun stroll, and some shopping and stopping for ice cream and having dinner on site, this is a nice place. There is plenty of parking, all free. One of the teens got a tattoo that she was very proud of, It wasn't real. cost 13 dollars. We were going to eat at one of the restaurants there, but ended up eating at JW Finz. instead. We wanted to have water views. There is also a ferris wheel and some rides, and a movie theater for a pleasant evening. But personally, I really liked the Boardwalk at Myrtle Beach much better than the Wharf. Really other that the wharf, we didn't see any similar attractions in orange beach. But all in all it was nice

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank merrytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf also viewed

 

Been to The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing