We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Glass Bottom Dolphin Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Alabama Dolphin Tour is brought to you by Dolphins Down Under in Orange Beach, Alabama. These new custom vessels are of the most stable of boats, and our knowledgeable Captains and crew will guide you and your family on an exciting, informative and educational quest in the smooth pristine waters of the back bays to watch dolphin frolic and play in their natural environment. Minutes away from Gulf Shores, Alabama! Each vessel is equipped with four large glass panels(2.5' x 6.5' each - 65 square ft total) so that you have a chance to view the dolphins if they play and swim beneath the keels of the boats. You will also have the chance to see Osprey Fish Eagles, the Great Blue Heron, and many other wetland creatures and birds in our bay area. The tours last about 1½ hours, and there are marine restroom facilities available, as well as a snack bar and fitted life vests for children and infants. We guarantee that we'll see dolphins on our trips, and when we get the rare chance to see them under the boat, its a real treat!
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the biggest rip off I've ever seen. My mom and I paid $92 and wasted every penny. The boat was described to be a glass bottom catamaran, but it was just a regular boat. They also said that we would see all kinds of tropical fish and the featured animal was supposed to be dolphins. They took us 5 minutes from the marina to a bunch of dirty old rocks where we swam around for an hour and a half in 4 ft of murky water. There were no dolphins, no tropical fish, not even hermit crabs could be found! We saw more at the public beach for a small $5 parking fee! Don't waste your money on this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank advicefrommonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    30
    15
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a blast”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The captain and tour guide were great. They were very knowledgeable and halirous. They kept you laughing. We saw lots of dophins. We even got to see three babies. My kids loved it and so did us adults! The tour lasted about and hour and half and the boat ride itself was fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great activity for the whole family!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Our family (4 adults & 3 kids under 3 years old) took a trip with Captain Jeff & Deckhand Jessie, and we had a great time. Both were very friendly and knowledgable about the area & the wildlife/marine life. We saw 5-6 dolphins, some came within 10 feet of the boat, and the kids loved it. Reasonably-priced drinks (soda, water, beer, wine) & snacks on board, too. The boat has an awning for cover from the hot sun. The "glass bottom" feature was not at all useful or impressive, but no matter. We had a really great trip, and we will go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wmw132s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Saw lots of dolphins!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family chose this tour due to the reasonable prices and the glass-bottom boat. However, we saw so many dolphins from the sides of the boat we never even looked through the glass bottom! The captain and deckhand were a lot of fun. Both had interesting stories, advice, and lots of knowledge about marine life. We were able to see quite a few dolphins and other sea animals like jellyfish and birds. It was an excellent experience overall, and we really feel we got our money's worth.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4PackerLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Fun & Informative”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was my favorite attraction in Gulf Shores! These guys are so fun & nice & super knowledgeable! It was so interesting! We had two kiddos & Grandma with us & we all enjoyed it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glass Bottom Dolphin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing