We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific..5 stars...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glass Bottom Dolphin Tours

Glass Bottom Dolphin Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Alabama Dolphin Tour is brought to you by Dolphins Down Under in Orange Beach, Alabama. These new custom vessels are of the most stable of boats, and our knowledgeable Captains and crew will guide you and your family on an exciting, informative and educational quest in the smooth pristine waters of the back bays to watch dolphin frolic and play in their natural environment. Minutes away from Gulf Shores, Alabama! Each vessel is equipped with four large glass panels(2.5' x 6.5' each - 65 square ft total) so that you have a chance to view the dolphins if they play and swim beneath the keels of the boats. You will also have the chance to see Osprey Fish Eagles, the Great Blue Heron, and many other wetland creatures and birds in our bay area. The tours last about 1½ hours, and there are marine restroom facilities available, as well as a snack bar and fitted life vests for children and infants. We guarantee that we'll see dolphins on our trips, and when we get the rare chance to see them under the boat, its a real treat!
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific..5 stars...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful outing. ..we saw so many dolphins. The crew was so knowledgeable and worked so hard to find the best spot to find the dolphins and turtles and manatees. Thanks so much for such a great afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank revajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    14
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Plastic scratched up panels boat ride”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

For my birthday I wanted to take my family on the "glass bottom" boat tour. What a big disappointment it was!! First of all there is NOT glass under the boat. The plastic panels were scratched so bad that you could not see anything through them. The bay water was very cloudy and we saw a glimpse of a dolphin. I was not impressed. Save your money. This is nothing but a hoax.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrangeBeach2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not as Advertised”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

They have a few glass panels that have 4 foot walls around them. You can't see anything. But the staff does not even use them during the Dolphin Tour, despite their ads. The boat barely leaves the dock area...they must save a ton on fuel....and you sit in the bay looking for dolphins that barely surface. They also say it is a 90 minute tour. We were back in just under 75 minutes...THANK HEAVENS! Don't waste your time or money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank HonestOpinion19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkmont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dolphin Glass Bottom Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We took this while visiting in Orange Beach. The bottom is not glass so a little misleading but outstanding. We had Capt. Barry and we did find a lot of dolphins (if you spot a lot, you get a free beer). They have snack, drinks, alcoholic drinks to sell. I enjoyed just the boat ride but also enjoyed seeing dolphins, would recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“IT IS A HOAX! NO REAL GLASS BOTTOM VIEWING!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have been on glass bottom boats before...this does not compare. Save your money boys and do something else. The only dolphins we saw were baited over by a small aluminum boat. We thought the 'fisherman' looked fake too. If you see the passengers sitting around looking OUT and not down through the 'glass'...YOU AIN'T SEEING WHAT YOU PAID FOR! The 'glass' is four small inserts that provide NO WILDLIFE VIEWING. Not even a small fish! Don't turn against ALL glass bottom boat tours - BUT AVOID THIS ONE!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Bottom Dolphin Tours also viewed

 

Been to Glass Bottom Dolphin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing