We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place for A Magnificent Sunset”

Cobalt The Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 143 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Come experience contemporary coastal cuisine at its best. Cobalt, The Restaurant, located in Orange Beach, features authentic dishes crafted by renowned chefs in three distinct kitchens. Nestled under the Perdido Bay Bridge, next to Caribe Resort, guests can enjoy a spectacular view of the bay from every table. For those who wish to approach by water, there are numerous boat slips available for small boats as well as medium-sized yachts. However you choose to arrive, Cobalt offers a casual and relaxing atmosphere with waterfront dining, live music and superior service. Open for daily for lunch and dinner.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Best Place for A Magnificent Sunset”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have been to Cobalt many times and continue to return due to the magnificent sunset! The restaurant is a mixture of trendy and beachy with an hint of upscale. It has a great dining room that overlooks the large outdoor seating area and the bay at the Pass. Boats come and go and they can even come and dock to have dinner. They have a nice indoor bar, but the it is the outdoor bar that attracts us. The outdoor area has plenty of seating for the beach lover who wants that experience of dining with a breeze going through your hair (if it's not too hot!). The bar outside has tvs and is located in a tiki hut style arrangement. They have had bands their that enhance the overall experience -- usually really good bands! The food is pretty good -- we usually get appetizers and cocktails while at the bar. The wine selection is very good. It has always been very good food, but they could amp up the appetizer menu just a bit. But when it comes that time of night when you start watching the sun slowly decide to fade over the horizon, this is the place you want to be.....it is beautiful! I wish I could say more about the food, but it has been a while since we have eaten off the main menu. But, I have never had a bad experience with the food here, for sure. I would recommend this restaurant as part of an Orange Beach experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    514
    191
    69
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita falls
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok at best”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

So the restaurant it's self was beautiful; great decor but very loud even in the outdoor setting the music was so load you had to almost yell across the table. Unless you want pizza or subs plan on paying at least $20 for each plate. The waitress was neither pleasant or rude just had a job to do. However one of the servers actually brought us someone else's appetizers and when we told him, he said "whatever, wrong table" and walked off. Then the food was bland and OK at best.

Helpful?
Thank Tosha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must. Add this venue to your list of restaurants in Gulf Shore area!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I received a recommendation to visit Cobalt from 3 local teens. They said we would not be disappointed and they were correct. Great food and Great atmosphere outside watching the sun set. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCHH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Spot in Orange Beach”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Wow, was this place delicious! My husband, who has spent his fair share of time in seafood restaurants, said his fried fish platter (amberjack) was the best he could remember. My yellowfin tuna was really delicious. And we found a small pearl in our oyster appetizer, which I consider to be great luck! The only negative thing I can say is my pineapple mojito wasn't that great. The pineapple in the bottom was clearly canned chunk pineapple, and by the time it arrived at our table, the ice had melted a bit and watered it down. But you can't beat the entrees and the spectacular view from the back patio. Reservations are accepted till 5:30. This is a great idea, as the place filled up with a line out the door very fast on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view with exceptional service!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We recently took a group here for business and we were highly impressed. We arrived and they were extremely busy. We had called several days in advance to make reservations but the lady says they do not accept reservations. So when we arrive they tell us a two hour wait. Luckily, we only had to wait for about an hour! And there is plenty to do while you wait. An outdoor bar, a beautiful view of the water, a gift shop area, a fish pond. I ordered the burger and it was very good. For dessert I ordered a chocolate pie to go and it took up the entire styrofoam plate! The bathroom had an excellent sugar scrub to wash your hands with and I loved it!
Experience was good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acenjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobalt The Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cobalt The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing